We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent hotel”
Review of Hotel Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Montecarlo
Ranked #108 of 204 Hotels in Santiago
Reviewed May 18, 2008

Nice big rooms, fairly clean, good prices.

Steps from 2 subway stops and major downtown streets, minutes from shops and restaurants.

Safe neighbourhood.

Front desk staff was fairly helpful, knowing a bit of Spanish is essential.

Free internet terminal was a great bonus.

Hotel hallways and rooms were a bit dark, with unopenable blinds; some rooms a bit dingy.

A decent hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dorothy_zbornak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 309 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2007

E-mailed the hotel two days prior to arrival, and asked for a double and a single room, or a triple room. This was confirmed in a very polite reply the day after. I replied asking for an upgrade to double superior.

The second reply was also very nice and polite, informing me that they only had matrimonial ("married") superior, "no doubles".

I replied once again, that this was no problem at all, and asked them once again to confirm one single and one "married" room. This was the day before arrival.

We arrived at the hotel, and was greeted by a very friendly and smiling bellboy, who helped us with our bags.

We entered, and I waited for the man behind the reception counter to look at me. We greeted, and I said in my medium Spanish "I believe we have a reservation for one single and one double room", and I told him my name.

He spent about one second looking at a list, and said there was no reservation.

He still had not looked at me. He only looked up to quickly remove a key from the counter in front of my mother, and looked at her as if she was about to steal the key.

I told him I´d received an e-mail from the hotel, confirming the reservation, and asked him if they had any rooms available. He looked at his list again, and said the hotel was full.

Still no eye contact, and not another word from him.

No apology, no attempt at researching whatever happened, no offer to call a taxi (we had quite a lot of luggage), no suggestion of another hotel or offer to call one. Not one more word. I was speachless. As you all can see from on my profile, I´ve visited quite a few hotels in several parts of the world the last years, and never have I been treated like this by any person in the tourism business.

We found another hotel, and I checked my e-mail to see if there was any new e-mails from the hotel (I hadn´t checked it since the same morning). There was actually an e-mail from them (at noon on same day of arrival at hotel...), asking for credit card details.

This is what happened, and now you know. Make up your own mind...

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Thank kaldal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2007

We stayed here a couple nights and the stay was just OK. The hotel needed some serious paint work and cleaning. The building had seen much better days. The rooms was tired looking and had seriously worn furniture. The bed was OK to bad. The bathroom was OK. The room needed a thorough cleaning. The breakfast was OK.

The staff was just OK, but not particularly helpful. Check in was easy and efficient as was check out.

The location is very good, but the street outside could get very loud since it was a thoroughfare of sorts and was uphill for traffic. There is a lovely park across the street. Some really nice restaurants are within just a few minutes' walk.

The Foresta up the street looked like a much better bet.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrippinTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2006

The place is kinda run down. My toilet kept breaking, but everything else in the room seemed fine. The free internet is slow to the point that it was useless. The location was pretty good, being right next to Cerro Santa Lucia. The staff was pretty friendly and courteous, but not so for the adjoining restaurant staff. Overall, a decent deal if you're not picky and are just looking for the basics.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monde6219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2006

Hotel is past its prime, with chipped tiles in bathroom and some peeling plaster. It is located on a busy street, and the design of its windows seems to facilitate transferring the noise inside.

What it has going for it is a convenient location (near Cerro Santa Lucia) and one block from a mini Zona Rosa with some good restaurants and bars. Unlike most hotels downtown, you can safely walk to these restaurants in the evening. It is also convenient to two metro stops (Universidad Catlolica and Santa Lucia).

The desk staff is very helpful.

The price is reasonable for what you get - just bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank suenosdeMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Tatiely_e_Felipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank gustavo-orellana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#17 of 204 in Santiago
367 reviews
Santa Lucia
Su Merced
Su Merced
#11 of 204 in Santiago
368 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hotel Principado Express
Hotel Principado Express
#64 of 204 in Santiago
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Hotel Windsor Suite
Hotel Windsor Suite
#147 of 204 in Santiago
186 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hotel Ismael
Hotel Ismael
#14 of 204 in Santiago
776 reviews
Hotel Santa Lucia
#181 of 204 in Santiago
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo

Address: Victoria Subercaseaux 209, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 204 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: $72 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecarlo Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing