We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Santiago
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,097)
Filter reviews
1,097 results
Traveler rating
858
182
43
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
858
182
43
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red castle wine hour no elevator bellavista neighborhood pablo neruda house patio bellavista bohemian area restaurants and bars lounge area the hotel staff night life hotel is beautiful old mansion perfect location first floor we loved our stay san cristobal hill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,097 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is nested in one of the most pleasant parts of Santiago, with plenty of restaurants and bars around. The staff is charming and welcoming. The rooms are rather small and somewhat dark, with a old fashioned touch. The bed is very comfortable. The breakfast is good (but average), with a very small buffet and some choice a la carte. Pleasant overall, but not really a 5 stars.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank H8288FCbenjamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCastilloRojo, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Boutique Castillo Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

On behalf of our staff and my own we want to thank you for your review. Through your comments, we can evaluate the details to improve our service. You can be sure that we will review your recommendations so that they do not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had an overnight at Castillo Rojo for my first night in Chile. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and they responded quickly to my last-minute emails about transfer service, and were able to provide a very good and reasonably priced pickup from the airport.
Despite arriving early in the day, they were very accommodating in getting me to a room (although they also had luggage storage if the room hadn't been ready yet), which was very welcome after the long flight.
The room was nicely appointed, with the caveat that it is a retrofit from a residential home, so there are some work-arounds that have to be allowed for. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.
They had a very nice early evening wine gathering on the second floor which allowed guests to mingle if interested.
The location of the hotel is PERFECT for visiting local sites. It is close to Pablo Neruda's house, the Funicular, and many other Bellavista sites--all easy walks. The neighborhood IS noisy as noted by many others, but that is the trade-off for staying in the middle of the action. Unfortunately, the sound-proofing is a little lacking at the hotel and that is really the only downside of the hotel that I experienced. It was expected going in though due to other reviews, so it wasn't such a big deal for me.
The hotel itself is interesting due to its history and architecture, and there is a nice plaza right out in front. I'd stay there again on a return trip, especially for the great location in Bellavista.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joemK5560UV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCastilloRojo, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Boutique Castillo Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

On behalf of the whole team here in Castillo Rojo, I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are truly thrilled that you loved your stay in our hotel and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking forward to our stay but it was a bad choice. Impossible to sleep at night due to the incredibly loud noise from outside which I can hear through my earplugs. Not a surprise when the windows are not sealed.

Also, it’s not really my style of decor.

Very basic breakfast.

Staff are friendly though!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank ringingup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCastilloRojo, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Boutique Castillo Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and to chose us, we have taken note about everything you said, no doubts, your observations are very important to us and helps to improve for future.

Friendly regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

The service at the front desk is welcoming and extremely helpful when planning activities. We went in January 2020 and there are still protests going on with some frequency. The hotel is close to the main square where protests occur, however, you would not know that with this hotel. A block to one of Pablo Neruda's houses.

Our room was enormous and well- appointed. Very quiet and one of the largest bathrooms I have ever seen. There is also gated parking, which is really helpful given the unrest.

Room tip: We stayed in room 10, which was wonderful
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCastilloRojo, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Boutique Castillo Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your recommendations. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to have you again with us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

Our family recently stayed a total of 3 nights at the Hotel Boutique Castillo Rojo. The helpfulness and attentiveness of the hotel staff team exceeded our expectations. We had some special requests, and the team was resourceful in helping make our stay comfortable and memorable. Our room and the hotel's common areas were attractive and we appreciated the convenient location in Bellavista, within walking distance to many good restaurants and interesting sites to visit. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank NJCNJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCastilloRojo, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Boutique Castillo Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

On behalf of the whole team here in Castillo Rojo, I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are truly thrilled that you loved your stay in our hotel and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews