We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, old rooms, rude staff”
Review of Diego de Velazquez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Diego de Velazquez
Ranked #57 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2009

This hotel does have a good location as you walk only 2 minutes to get the subway, 5 minutes to visit the 2 large department stores nearby or 1 to 10 minutes to eat at good restaurants.
The room has a queen-size bed but it does look old. It also has a small tub from the last century.
I liked the view from the restaurant where we had breakfast but the staff did not strive to understand what my husband was saying, as he doesn't speak Spanish but Portuguese and English.
If I travel to Santiago again, I'd probably look for another hotel

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gi-Ro-Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
There are newer reviews for Diego de Velazquez
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 729 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2009

Diego de Velazquez is located in one of the best parts to stay when in Santiago, the Providencia.
Right in front of the hotel you'll find a small shopping mall, and you'll also be very close to a subway station, a few bars and restaurants and the Restaurante Giratorio, a nice spot where you can have a great dinner with a 360 degree view from the city.
The hotel itself could be a lot better. The rooms have an old and dirty aspect, the bed is below-average and the shower struggles to get some water out of it while tries to keep its temperature. The breakfast is just ok.
In the end, it's not a terrible experience, but two nights there is the maximum I'd recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Boccato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

Small rooms, old furniture, noisy air conditioner, leaky and slimy bathroom, doesn't look clean, tiny elevators, no independent emergency exit, poor breakfast service, rude waiters, inattentive front desk service, but good location. You will find better hotels in the same area for the same price. I wouldn't go back there.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boyosp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

Diego de Velazquez is located on the very same street as the Eurotel. Being slightly more expensive, we thought we would get a better hotel, with the same great location. No way!
The lobby/elevator access/restaurant layout is weird. You get inside the hotel through the ground level, then have to climb a flight of stairs in order to get to the restaurant, and to the back of the restaurant you get to the elevators that actually take you to the rooms. In fact, there are even rooms on the same level as the restaurant. There´s a small glass elevator to take luggage and disabled people to the first floor.
We stayed there two nights before we headed for Atacama, and one night afterwards, before flying back home. In each time we were assigned a different room. Both rooms had layout problems, as if they had been tucked into their corners after the rest of the hotel had been built... For instance, in one of them, the bathroom door was located behind the TV set, so we had to go around it to get into the bathroom. In the other room, the bathroom window was blocked with a kind of plastic board, to block the view from the street. Both rooms were outdated, with old furniture and untasteful decor, and cleanliness wasn´t also the strength of this hotel.
Regarding staff, the only thing they (sometimes) did for us was open the door for us to get in/out of the hotel. And yes, they always implied they wanted to be tipped.
All in all, a disappointing stay. The only upside is location (it´s in the heart of Providencia neighborhood, with restaurants, a small shopping mall, and subway station nearby). But if it´s only for location, next time we´ll choose Eurotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JKSouthAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

Diego de Velazquez is located on a quiet block only one block from Avenida Providencia. Very safe location with a lot of shopping and very close to the metro. The rooms are nice and there is one apartment available for families who need more than one bedroom. Great views of Santiago. The lobby is very nice, open and spacious restaurant space on the mezzanine. The staff was fine, though not overly helpful, and be aware that it may be difficult for travelers who do not speak Spanish.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlouder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2005

Excellent hotel, great Providencia location and reasonably priced. Had a beautiful room on the 5th floor, the only problem being it was so huge we frequently got lost in it. Staff excellent, will call you a cab before you've even asked them to!

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank This-Space-To-Rent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Celi208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Eurotel Providencia
Eurotel Providencia
#77 of 202 in Santiago
433 reviews
Providencia
Hotel Torremayor Providencia
Hotel Torremayor Providencia
#66 of 202 in Santiago
378 reviews
Providencia
Park Plaza
Park Plaza
#68 of 202 in Santiago
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Solace Hotel Santiago
Solace Hotel Santiago
#7 of 202 in Santiago
427 reviews
Providencia
Hotel Neruda
Hotel Neruda
#82 of 202 in Santiago
561 reviews
RQ Providencia
#63 of 202 in Santiago
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diego de Velazquez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diego de Velazquez

Address: Guardia Vieja 150, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Santiago
#40 Family Hotel in Santiago
#46 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: $97 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diego de Velazquez 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Because you must choose us ? The best location, near to 2 Stations of Metro Subway Stations, LOS LEONES and P. DE VALDIVIA, only 100 meters of each one, just and immediate behind Shopping Panoramico, and near to the most important shopping in South America COSTANERA CENTER. With 60 Standard rooms and Junior suites, frigobar, box security, air conditioned, TV, telephone, internet, room services, Gymnasium, Swimming pool, Parking, additional laundry, money exchange, Business Center, Restaurant PEZTORO, snack bar, Coffee and terrace. ABOUT OUR STAFF We possess an extremely qualified team, we speak of friends, not clients. In Diego de Velazquez, we construct the friendship in a natural way. Due to this, we hope you will come to visit us often. You have to get to know us Our mission is to create surroundings with each of our guest, solving requirements and especially orienting them in their arrival to make of the trip a beautiful recollection of their visit to Santiago of Chile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Diego de Velazquez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Diego De Velazquez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing