We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”
Review of La Casona Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casona Hostel
Ranked #10 of 494 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Melissa and vin made this an excellent hostel. They were happy to help any time if day or night, were v knowledgeable and spoke perfect english. The hostel is perfect location and is really beautiful and clean and comfortable. Breakfast is great.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for La Casona Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 269 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

I really enjoyed my nights at La Casona. First, the staff (in general, aside from one girl) are incredibly helpful, and monitor the front gate 24/7. It is very safe. The rooms are huge for a hostel since it is an old house, each with bathroom inside the room. There are lockers for each person (possibly not the largest, but should be big enough for valuables). There is good and consistent wifi. VERY clean, and the most comfortable bed I slept on during my entire 6 week trip. Breakfast is mediocre (sliced bread instead of the fresh buns they make in Chile, and no that is not nutella, it is manjar), and the hours are really short (strictly 8-10). The only other odd thing is that my traveling partner and I were put on separate bunks in the same room, which was weird - would much prefer to be on the same bunk. Other than that, no complaints, really loved my time spent here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrod2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile


convenient and Comfortable.
Clean, and the city center
Very close to the subway.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank jeehyek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Nice place with central location. Big place. Welcoming staff. Good sized rooms, not a party hostel, positive for us. Plenty of showers/toilets to use. Have to pay for use of towels which didn't really go well with experience of rest of place, not cheapest hostel, expensive enough without having to pay extra for towels so just used my travel one. Good sized breakfast, tasty and good variety. Clean throughout. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Danny6182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I travelled for nearly 5 months starting and finishing at this hostel. Great place only 1 min from Bellas artes metro, staff speak English, breakfast great, dorm rooms have private bathrooms, individual lockers and safety boxes.

The place is extremely clean, safe and central in Santiago. The staff cannot do enough for you.. Highly recommend..

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at La Casona during our short stay in Santiago. It was easily the nicest hostel we've stayed at during our travels! There is a friendly Bernese mountain dog resident-so cute! It was clean, fresh and the common bathrooms were impeccable. Breakfast was pretty darn good too. The common kitchen was huge and very clean. The location was great! We would definitely recommend this place. The only thing was the price. But if you can get over that it's worth it!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Quinoacurrybowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here . The staff were friendly I would fully recommend this to anyone. My family thoroughly enjoyed themselves , the weather was a bit rough .thought it would be warmer . I will be coming back here. Chile it's self was gorgeous and some of the Art work was cracking

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Derbyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#115 of 202 in Santiago
611 reviews
Happy House Hostel
#5 of 494 in Santiago
737 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#4 of 494 in Santiago
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 494 in Santiago
1,020 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 494 in Santiago
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona Hostel

Address: Almirante Montt 465 | Barrio Bellas Artes, Santiago 8320105, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 494 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $16 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casona Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In La Casona Hostel you will find the tranquility, security and a good rest in the best location in town. We have spacious common areas and a quality service that will make you feel at home, all in a very cool atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Casona Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing