We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for dinning and walks”
Review of Barrio Italia

Barrio Italia
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Santiago Center Cultural Bike Tour
More Info
$36.99*
and up
Santiago Parks Bike Tour
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Santiago Bike Tour with Sky Costanera Panoramic Visit
Ranked #32 of 508 things to do in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Barrio Italia is trademark concept born in a traditional neighborhood in Santiago, Chile. In this area lives nearby residents, creative industry and commerce with an innovative cuisine, design, art, culture and entertainment. You may find shops, cafes, restaurants, inns and hostels, in a neighborhood atmosphere.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good option for dinning and walks”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Lots of cafes, restaurants and nice stores, good for shopping and walking and eating! Antique stores and design shops all around!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank marialaura215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    420
    105
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit....!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I went for a walk in search of a more interesting shopping experience in Santiago so we decided to find Barrio Italia. It's located on Av.Italia, south of Sta. Isabel for two or three blocks. It's actually an awesome place to visit a multitude of artisan shops, have a coffee on a patio or grab a bite of lunch. The shops are wonderful (and this coming from a guy that doesn't like to shop). For those from Toronto, it's like Queen Street West, for those from NYC, it's like Soho boti both instance, much more affordable. I purchased two pairs of handmade shoes while my wife purchase a couple of handmade knitted tops, some jewelry and a pair of shoes. What was even more amazing was that we were the only tourists we saw over a 3 hour period. In preparing for this part of our trip, there was little mention of this area but I'm sure glad I read a few posts on Tripadvisor. It was a great way to experience life in Santiago and visit some wonderful shops.

I'd strongly recommend visiting Barrio Italia.....

....happy exploring

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Stinkyrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting and very "European"”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I went to Barrio Italia as it was recommended to me by my friend as a great place to find high quality furniture/house decorations here in Santiago (those that have been trying to buy some furniture in shops here may probably agree that in general the price doest match the quality at all). So I went there with a friend of mine and can tell you that: was certainly not disappointed! There is many shops selling really great designs (ok, a bit pricey but fab!) one after the other. However, in between those are little cafes and great restaurants, where one can sit and contemplate. I like it, really - made me feel like I was at home (London) where you can find exactly the same arty vibe as there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unique attraction in Santiago”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have been living in Santiago for a year and I just found out about this barrio recently. It should be on top of your list of places to visit when in Santiago. I still don't know why it isn't included in the classic city tours and recommended more by hotels. Anyway it's good so it doesn't become too crowded and we can enjoy it better.

Barrio Italia has a special vibe, a calm aura with colourful old houses. If you walk down Avenida Italia, you'll have plenty of galeries/patios where to enjoy a coffee while reading your favourite book. For the shopping lovers, you'll find there many designers shops (clothes, antiques, art), gourmet boutiques and other surprises...

Since I discovered it I keep going back as the barrio is vivid and consistently adding to its attraction. If you're looking for something authentic and different in Santiago for 1 day, go there and try the lasagna at Da Noi, then walk up avenida Italia and enjoy the vibe and all the boutiques. You can access it by metro, from Santa Isabel station (then it's a 10 min walk to avenida Italia)

If you want to know more, this website is pretty good: http://barrioitalia.tv/

See you there!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Barrio Italia neighborhood in Santiago is similar to Palermo in Buenos Aires”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Low old houses in different colours getting renovated, full of trees, cobbled streets, restaurants, cafés, pr firms, interior decoration firms, art galleries, small shopping gallerias, local designers, fashion boutiques, trendy hair dressers and last but not least and since a long time artisans restoring and selling antique furniture. This is Barrio Italia - a district in transformation from an asleep artisan area to a trendy and laid-back area. It is an up and coming neighborhood similar to what Palermo is in Buenos Aires. Maybe that is the reason why some Argentinian fashion brands like Felixba and Garcon Garcia established themselves here and not somewhere else in Santiago. It is maybe neither for those who prefer standard shopping malls nor for those who prefer haughty Avenida Alonso de Cordoba shopping street. It is really pleasant to stroll around here for a few hours. Check the internet site to see what is available. I particularly liked the Mapuche handicraft incubator shop and the Trece art gallery.

You can get here by car, by bike (e.g. on the bicycle track along Avenida Pocuro from Tobalaba) or by walking from the Parque Bustamante or Santa Isabel metro stations or from a bus stop at Avenida Irarrázaval.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank global_connaisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrio Italia also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Barrio Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing