We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real home away from home atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmenere Eco Hotel
Ranked #2 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed here for just a single night before flying back home, but EcoHotel was one of the most memorable places I stayed over my entire time in South America. I arrived at 11.30pm and was given a personal greeting, iced tea and a tour of the facility (including the beautifully stocked wine cellar downstairs). After retiring early, the next morning I was treated to a wonderful breakfast that was made up fresh for me of pancakes and chilli eggs. The rooms and hotel itself are impeccable, but the service really swung it for me. It felt like you were staying in a five star property and, although I'd stayed in other very nice hotels whilst in Santiago, I found myself wishing that I'd spent it all here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for Carmenere Eco Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 274 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have a backlog of hotels that I need to write reviews about, but this one was at the top of the list. It was, hands down, the absolute best hotel service I've ever had. It has a lot to do with the staff and it has a lot to do with the fact that there aren't that many rooms, so full attention is paid to all the guests.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have a backlog of hotels that I need to write reviews about, but this one was at the top of the list. It was, hands down, the absolute best hotel service I've ever had. It has a lot to do with the staff and it has a lot to do with the fact that there aren't that many rooms, so full attention is paid to all the guests.

But that said, there are plenty of bed and breakfasts out there with a couple of rooms, but the service at Carmenere is absolutely phenomenal. We got into Chile after a red-eye flight from the States and hoped that there would be a room ready so that we could at least put our things down. Not only did we arrive to a room that was ready, but we were also offered breakfast. The scrambled eggs and pancakes were outstanding.

Claire, who was at the front desk at the time, greeted us and quickly became the person we relied on for advice on Santiago. But whereas good service is attentive and helpful, phenomenal service like they had at Carmenere is going way beyond expectations - Claire gave us a hotel mobile phone in case of emergencies, the phone is connected to all of the staff through Whatsapp so you can ask questions when you're out and about, Kati helped us reserve a table at a restaurant while we were out, and some combination of Claire and Kati researched and quoted rental cars for us to get for Valparaiso. I know I'm missing other things that they helped us with - it was absolutely invaluable.

Location-wise, it was very central - about a 10-minute walk to Bellavista and Cerro San Cristobal and walkable to Mercado Central, Plaza de Armas, and Providencia. It's also in a quiet spot, but close to the action.

When the worst thing you can say about a hotel stay is that the water pressure could have been slightly better, you know it's incredible. Why Carmenere isn't ranked #1 in Santiago is beyond me. If we are ever back in Santiago, we know exactly where to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwcardinal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Carmenere is a beautiful, tranquil, boutique hotel amidst the hustle bustle of Santiago city. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights stay here. Great location - walking distance from subway stations and many popular sights. Breakfast every morning was hot, fresh and delicious. The pancakes were just out of the world yummy. I only wish they had a few hot items like potatoes or veggies for vegetarians like me but I cannot complain much because they made sure I was stuffed on tasty breads, pancakes, fresh fruit and cakes. The rooms are simple and nice and they have incorporated a lot of environment friendly features to reduce their carbon footprint which is great. The 24/7 coffee and snack bar is a boon since we came in after midnight and a warm cup of tea was just what we needed. However the best feature of this place is its staff. The entire team is excellent, friendly and as one of them rightly mentioned - they love to pamper their guests. Lucas, Caty, Claire, Francesca, Tiara (sorry if I spelt your names incorrectly) are totally awesome! It was interesting to see so many of them from different parts of the world, well adjusted to life in Santiago and speaking fluent Spanish. They helped us plan our sightseeing trips, gave good recommendations on places to eat, booked cabs for us and made sure our stay was comfortable in every way. The hotel also has a nice wine collection downstairs for wine lovers to indulge in. It really felt like our home away from home, well worth staying!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shivani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We have all read many excellent reports about this hotel and they are all true. BUT what really makes this place the "must do hotel in Santiago" is the team of phenomenal people who run it. They are outstanding in their service and desire to make their guests feel great. Right down to preparing a great breakfast at 4.30am before we left for an early flight and then arranging all our transport at short notice to get us where we needed to be. They are genuinely customer focused and in our experience with them, nothing is too much to ask. I could go on for ever about their wonderful culture and desire to make you happy on your stay, but, do yourself a favour and just go and stay their. You will not regret it, nor will you forget the outstanding service. A great team effort and thank you all for making our visit one to remember for all the right reasons. PS. Great coffee and snacks 24/7.

Room Tip: We had 2 different rooms on 2 different occasions and both were great.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this love little boutique hotel in Providencia. The staff were all very friendly and helpful: one American woman, an Aussie and a German who is married to a Chilean. We loved the patio and our room was very comfortable...and the breakfast was excellent.
...a bit pricey at $200 a night but well worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank highlandglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Excellent new boutique hotel. Great location, easy to walk to everywhere. Amazingly nice people that attend to your every need. Nice backyard. Stay here.The management team is very sweet and helpful and attend to your every need.

Room Tip: Take a look at the wine cellar hidden below.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank YouShouldGoHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#3 of 202 in Santiago
971 reviews
CasaSur Charming Hotel
#1 of 202 in Santiago
392 reviews
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#5 of 202 in Santiago
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Solace Hotel Santiago
Solace Hotel Santiago
#7 of 202 in Santiago
427 reviews
Santa Lucia
Luciano K Hotel
Luciano K Hotel
#12 of 202 in Santiago
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmenere Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmenere Eco Hotel

Address: Maria Luisa Santander 0292, Santiago 7500845, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: $124 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmenere Eco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carménère ecoHotel is designed for the traveler who demands excellent service as well as an unforgettable local experience, located in the beautiful and peaceful residential area of Providencia Commune in Santiago de Chile. The property sits at the border with Santiago commune, giving you the best of both worlds; the serenity of our neighborhood, as well as all the major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Carmenere Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing