We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peumayen Ancestral Food

Peumayen Ancestral Food
Ranked #1 of 4,083 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Chilean, South American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: "Dreamed place" in Mapuche language or Mapudungun's. The result of a thorough investigation of Chile culinary roots, reflected in a menu that combines products, techniques and original preparations of the main pre-Hispanic cultures in Chile with a contemporary touch.
Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This will not be a long review because not much is needed to say. Food: Excellent. The complimentary 'bread' plate is amazing. The rabbit was perfect. Don't be afraid to try something new here. Service was great, especially for Santiago. Not too overwhelming but always there if you need them. Price was very good for the quality and the amount of food. Don't miss out on this great establishment. Great way to travel Chile in one night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank avalosrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    928
    234
    71
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An experience worth having”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I visited the restaurant on a busy Friday night and truly enjoyed the experience. The deco is purposefully rustic modern, the type of food was surprising (we were welcomed by the waiter with a horse cevishe!) and the overall presentation of the food was great. If you go, please try the mixed starter (a degustation of all the options available) which is really interesting and very well served. The only let down was the main course selection as I didnt think our horse or veal were as well flavored as we hoped it would, however still very very tasty. Overall: well worth the visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karolex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The restaurant is in a wonderful place in a estilous house in Bela Vista. Provides a unique exquisite experience. And definitelly serves a delicious and trully original food

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Ribeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
248 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Worthy of the high rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I took a group of 9 people to Peumayen on our first night in Santiago. I booked the reservation via email (using Google translate, as my Spanish is terrible!!) When we got there, the table was wating for us. The waiter did a great job of explaining all of the foods and how they relate to Chilean traditions. Everyone at our table was blown away by the unique experience. Don't forget to taste on of their Pisco Sours while you're there!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
“Perfect balance between creativity, rescuing chilean tradition, unknow flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

we were invited to discover a new concept. It was indeed a success. From service to explanation, very good. it is a fantastic way to enhanced such a strong tradition that chile has and that somehow does not highlight. not like many other new concept restaurant where they serve you almost nothing and few efforts for a big bill. This is a rescue of a cuisine and flavors. It is ode to Chile from north to south. It is so nice to feel all the efforts that are made to make you discover tastes and culture. Same conclusion for wine: not usual big wine companies. A set of small vineyard

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peumayen Ancestral Food also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Peumayen Ancestral Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing