We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing down to the details”

Peumayen Ancestral Food
Ranked #2 of 4,621 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, Chilean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: "Dreamed place" in Mapuche language or Mapudungun's. The result of a thorough investigation of Chile culinary roots, reflected in a menu that combines products, techniques and original preparations of the main pre-Hispanic cultures in Chile with a contemporary touch.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Amazing down to the details”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We ate here twice on our recent trip through Santiago on our way to and from Patagonia. Amazing! The bread plate is the best bread plate you will ever experience with over 6 different types of bread ranging from ancestral recipes traditional in the south of Chile up to the north of Chile. The wine menu is good. My husband and I don't usually eat mammals, which is a dietary trend that isn't too easily followed in South America (such great lamb!). The chef created a new fish meal for us to try that wasn't on the menu and was heavenly... because we had already had all of the fish meals the previous time we ate there, which were also amazing and we would've ate again, but they insisted on us trying something new. (sorry for the run on sentence)

Highly recommend eating here. The food is amazing. The ambiance is really wonderful. Eating in a private courtyard under a lemon tree is really quite the life.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TNTbridetobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,314
    335
    98
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I ate Horse!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to this restaurant after a long day of hiking in the Andes and loved it! The food is certainly different and you have to be a little adventurous to try it, but it was definitely worth it. We split the appetizer sampler - which included lamb tongue and rabbit - my boyfriend had the lamb shank and I had the horse steak. We loved everything. Our bill for two entrees, an appetizer and a bottle of wine came to $95 US, which we thought was very good for the quality and portions of the food. The only thing to watch out for is the waiters trying to up-sell you on the wine. We asked for a bottle (maybe around $20 US), and he told us he was out of it so tried bringing us the most expensive wine on the list. Just make sure you're paying attention for that everywhere in Santiago!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago,Chile
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Love it!! Try the Horse!! (yes! for real!!!)
Special for foreigners or locals who want to learn a little more from our chilean roots.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teclaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Ambiance, Food & Food Presentation in Santiago”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great first impression: the lighting, seating, outside area and open kitchen are beautiful. The service was well above average for Chile. Fantastic food starting with the breads that represent North to South of Chile. We did the sampling of the appetizers - amazing. Had the horse & never thought I'd eat caballo and I loved it. My boyfriend got the lamb and the sauce complimented the lamb well. Did the sampling of the desserts as well and we wanted to lick the plate clean. Without a doubt, I'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkarnowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth a visit but not "the best"”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Initially we were reluctant to visit this restaurant on the basis of reviews that mention horse on the menu. But we decided "when in Rome".....although that philosophy did not extend as far as actually ordering the horse = Cholchol.
We had our Hotel call for a reservation on the day (a Friday) and were offered a 9pm outside table only. Although we arrived early at 8.30pm, there were no issues and we were seated in the lovely rear courtyard which is actually located off the kitchen and affords a better view of the kitchen team at work.
SERVICE: I feel almost sorry to give 4 stars for the sake of the chef and his team, as they put a tremendous amount of precision and effort into each dish, but were definitely let down by the floor staff. We were assigned the one waitress who could speak English, although the menu is also provided in English. It was good to have her explain a dish as it arrived, but like a singer struggling to reach high notes, any (numerous) English words she wasn't sure on just faded into a mumble. Just wasnt very polished. However, whilst rating high in amusement value for us, in terms of a critique it wasn't professional to witness the argument that played out during the night between head chef and our waitress, resulting in her rather lackluster demeanour and some plate throwing through kitchen pass!
FOOD: Good value for money, and a very generous provision of amuse bouche (a pomegranate & mango spoonful of tastiness) and complimentary bread tray per person, and later a refreshing palette cleanser. The starter tasting plate to share seems to be the option preferred by 90% of diners, and a good way to sample assorted flavours. For mains we had a lamb dish (a hearty shank in a tomato based stew scattered with small herb filled dumplings) and an oxtail stew (served cleverly in 'bowls' made of grilled potato). Although we enjoyed both dishes, they were far from our favourite meals in this City. It should be mentioned that we both have salty palettes and often miss the taste of seasoning, at this restaurant however we felt the meals were almost too salty. We had a nice bottle of Starry Night Syrah that matched well to the meals. Also shared the dessert tasting plate which was plentiful and tasted ok, but under the courtyard heater the many scoops of various icecream melted before we could demolish them.
BANOS: Presented clean, but almost impossible to decipher male from female on basis of the wood carved faces on entries.
Overall a nice night out, a lovely restaurant fit out, good value meals just not a 5 star experience when all thigs considered.
COST: $120 (USD or Australian) for all food, wine & tip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peumayen Ancestral Food also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Peumayen Ancestral Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing