We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will go again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bocanariz

Bocanariz
Ranked #7 of 4,529 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Will go again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Following a recommendation from a Chilean friend, I went straight to the Bocanariz wine bar for lunch. It is located in the historic neighborhood of Lastarria in the centre of Santiago. I was received by Catalina, a very polite young lady, who spoke very good English. She explained the menu and directed me to a table. The waiter also spoke good English and helped me with the menu and suggested a wine to go with it. In general, the Chileans are very serious about their wines and in this place are true professionals. You have the choice of finger food or main course. I had the main dish which was a beef stew with mashed sweet potatoes accompanied with a glass of red wine. Everything was well above average and the service was always with a smile... I could see that the staff liked what they were doing and they did it with passion. Will definitely visit them again in my next trip to Santiago.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikos146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,821
    1,263
    298
    79
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food, great atmosphere and decent services in this jam packed restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Santiago. The wine tasting menu is perfect for one to try different types of Chilean wines.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidcklai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
194 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“THE perfect "Gastrobar"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

In essence this is a wine bar which also excels in haute cuisine. It is not just about eating or drinking here, it is about experiencing. The bar offers over 300 chilean wines by the bottle and over 30 by the glass as well as wine "floats/flights" (in spanish - "vuelos") which consist of 3 tasting size (50cc) glasses of wines around a particular theme (I tried the sparkling wines and the "coastal whites" flights for example and was recommended red grapes I'd never really had before - carignan and/or petit verdot - to go with our selected main course (venison))
Unlike usual restaurants which offer amazing food, the focus here is on the wine and the food is even displayed and offered to match the wines - rather than the other way round. Likewise, most waiters here could probably challenge any trained sommelier in London. Impressive.

Food offered is best described as chilean "fusion" and consists of tapas and also a few mains. Between the two of us we had 4 tapas and one "main" which was plenty and I think the best way to sample more of the food and wine. Tapas we had included duck magret, coconut breaded prawns with thai sauce, a selection of local cured meats (including llama, beef and lamb), pear and blue cheese salad, and a "main" dish of venison.
I cannot recommend this restaurant enough - truly excellent and possibly the gourmet and wine highlight of our trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Siempredviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must for food/wine lovers visiting Santiago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

This place is a must for anyone interested in what Chile has to offer with cuisine and wine. We had the back page set menu paired with tasting flights, everything was beautifully presented, tasted fresh and interesting and the service was flawless. Great value for world class food and wines.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThistleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

The concept is fantastic of showcasing Chilean wines!
Food great, staff great, location great... everything perfect to let you enjoy amazing wines!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocanariz also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Bocanariz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing