We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winner”
Review of Bocanariz

Bocanariz
Ranked #7 of 4,706 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Wine Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Winner”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A big selection of wines, a taster menu, a variety of food from proper meals to amuse-bouches (the local 'hams'- deer, lamb and beef- were great) and the most professional but lovely staff make this place great. Then stick it in the middle of such a lovely district and you have got a winner. Worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,040
    1,343
    315
    88
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Fabulous wines, great service.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A great restaurant with an amazing wine list. Try themed tasting flights or numerous wines by the glass in oenomatic machines. I had a flight of carmeneres and a glass of sparkling wine from the local grape pais which were all great selections. The rest of the party had a delicious pisco sour, a trendy craft beer and fresh local fruit juice. The bar staff made it twice because they weren't happy that the first version was up to scratch even though we were happy with it. Overall the service was faultless and prices reasonable. Decor was cool and not over the top. We didn't try the food since we had already eaten but dishes coming out to other tables looked mouthwatering - modern small plates for sharing.

We had a great night - bocanariz is highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katypi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One flaw knocks out an Excellent rating”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

had a very very nice time here. Before even sitting down, we got a brief tour of the wine cave under the restaurant, which wsa very nice, The waiter was knowledgeable of the wines. I would not order the flight of Carmenere's again, but progressively the wines were excellent - a Malbec by the glass (Agustinos Gran Reserva) and a great cabernet (Errazuriz). The tuna tataki was very good, as were the smoked meats and empanadas. The duet of lamb is where the last point falls off - the chop was great but the sliced lamb on top was overdone. And the vegetable terrine underneath a bit salty. Regardless, would definitely go back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank almost406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Superb food and wine lover heaven”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

6 of us walked in on our first night in Santiago and were lucky enough to get the last space in the room with low tables. After ordering some wine flights we perused the menu (English version available), a mix of small tapas and some larger dishes. It has obviously been put together by someone who loves their food, I could have ordered pretty much everything there, in fact I would if we had longer in Santiago! Sorry to gush but it really was that good.

Recommended dishes would include the Roast Beef, Salmon Tatiki and the Chef's special stew. The chocolate fondant was so good we had to have a second to share. We had thought the wines would be the star but the food was worth the visit by itself.

We tried 15 wines in all, perhaps saving a vineyard visit. Good to try new wines like the Carrigan which was new to us but a rising star. Shame with 3 kids we didn't get more time with one of the sommeliers to find out more.

Service was great, with several staff having good English. Plenty of bread kept appearing. Only downside was the price, our 2nd most expensive meal in South America after Astrid and Gaston in LIma but so worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmallBizOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Its OK”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Wine flights give you an insight into Chilean wine and quite an extensive wine list is available to try. Service was attentive. I found the food to be average at best. One of our party had the t-bone steak and it was quite tough. The other items were good, but I was not blown away. The restaurant was very hot and really no ventilation. Other restaurants in the area were much busier. Stop in and try a glass of wine, but there are better places to eat. I can't imagine how this became the #2 restaurant on tripadvisor. I don't think I would return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jp3Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocanariz also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Bocanariz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing