We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple accommodation at a good rate with very helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Mosaico Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Mosaico Hostel
Ranked #17 of 469 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Simple accommodation at a good rate with very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

It´s located in an old house but is very clean. They have various types of room from single to dorm. Continental breakfast is included. I liked the friendliness of th people running the hostel. They were always polite and veryhelpful. The free wifi was a well- used plus. If you are backpacking or travelling on a budget , Mosaico fits the bill.
It is also within walking distanc of many major sites and the Metro (subway).

Room Tip: Make sure you select whether you want separate accommodations or are okay with a dorm. The dorms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    120
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
12
49
109
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We loved our stay here, the staff are very helpful, the building itself has a old style charm...yes the floorboards are creaky etc but this didn't put us off. There is a good chill out area downstairs too. Only thing that could be improved was the breakfast...it was a little repetitive ! Great place though !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moppy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after the hostel we were supposed to stay in had burnt down prior to our arrival and not told us. With Casa mosaico though we landed on our feet. Have to agree with previous review the portugese receptionist was really helpful, friendly and informative. We stayed in an appt 100m round the corner which is also owned by the hostel $65 a night not bad for an appt and we splashed out as me and my girlfriend hadnt seen eachother for 4months the appt was clean, nice and had a pool on the top floor with great views around the city.

Helpful?
Thank Guy C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

The best thing about this hostel is their staff. Especially the receptionist from Portugal (forgot his name) was so customer-oriented and helpful all the time. Common areas are very cosy and everything is clean. Location is good beside Bellavista area and easy access to metro and downtown. This is not your quietest hostel; wooden floors are noisy but I think it's homely. There's a bar dowstairs open on weekends, so bring earplugs if you're not joining the party. All in all this place has good young vibes and I liked it a lot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiralmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hostel is perfecty situated near the nightlife in Bellavista. It's clean and comfortable, with a lovely airy patio and sundeck on the roof. The staff was so kind and accomodating. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Nice little hostel in a great location in Bellavista, within walking distance to and all the bohemian cafes and bar on offer in Patio Bellavista. Found the staff extremely helpful and friendly, and they helped me out no end, with advice on where to go in order to see the best Santiago had to offer, and even trying to help me learn Spanish! Free wi-fi and free pool table were both definite plus points. Only made it up in time for breakfast once but it was a good spread. All in all, for the price, I would definitely recommend staying here :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie_Swain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place is quite good, but it could get even better! The breakfast is good (bread, ham, cheese, cereals and fruits) and the (young) staff is even better. They are friendly, helpful, open, professional and willing to do almost everything in order for you to have a nice stay at Casa Mosaico. And if I could write personal recommendations, they would definitely go to Helder and Armando!

Well, there's a reason why this place can get even better. The manager is nor that friendly or helpful. She seems bothered about some of the guests. We did our laundry at the hostel (for 10 US$ per bag!) and didn't get it back until 3,5 days later and it didn't seem to bother her at all!

All in all, I'd say "stay at Casa Mosaico" - the location is good, the rooms, showers and common areas are fine as well, but the staff is just about the best!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sine_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Hotel Loreto
#20 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Hostal Providencia
#5 of 469 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 469 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#7 of 469 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#6 of 469 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mosaico Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mosaico Hostel

Property: Casa Mosaico Hostel
Address: Loreto 109 | Barrio Bellavista, Santiago 8420480, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 469 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Mosaico Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Mosaico is situated in the bohemian quarter of Santiago, Barrio Bellavista. This lovely barrio is in very high demand due to its reputation of combining art, gastronomy and entertainment. Services include bilingual staff, lockers, private bathrooms, free wifi, cable TV, storage room, welcome drink, Pool table, breakfast, room cleaning, touristic information, terrace, hot water 24hrs. Guests will also be able to book tours, e.g. Ski, vineyards, City tours, and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Casa Mosaico Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing