We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks to the young staff for a good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Mosaico Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Mosaico Hostel
Ranked #17 of 469 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Odense, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks to the young staff for a good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place is quite good, but it could get even better! The breakfast is good (bread, ham, cheese, cereals and fruits) and the (young) staff is even better. They are friendly, helpful, open, professional and willing to do almost everything in order for you to have a nice stay at Casa Mosaico. And if I could write personal recommendations, they would definitely go to Helder and Armando!

Well, there's a reason why this place can get even better. The manager is nor that friendly or helpful. She seems bothered about some of the guests. We did our laundry at the hostel (for 10 US$ per bag!) and didn't get it back until 3,5 days later and it didn't seem to bother her at all!

All in all, I'd say "stay at Casa Mosaico" - the location is good, the rooms, showers and common areas are fine as well, but the staff is just about the best!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sine_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    120
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
12
49
109
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great place to stay, nice common area, with comfy couches, a pool table, good internet connection, plus a bar and restaurant on site. Staff is very friendly and helpful, plus the location is real good, a short walk to most of the best parts of Santiago. Will come back and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReillyCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I switched to Casa Mosaico after staying in Casa Rosada for 2 nights. I met someone who was staying here and raved about it, and with good reason. It's a smaller, clean hostel, with a great kitchen. The staff was pretty helpful, and helped out with any questions I had. The breakfast was OK, but then again it is a hostel. The location is great, right near all types of bars an restaurants. Completely recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMartinez04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nice hostel with very clean small and large dormitory rooms in a pretty old house.

Good international and welcoming vibe as well.

Easy to find in the Bellavista neighborhood with friendly staff. Nice common areas, including a kitchen. Connected to the hostel is a bar as well, but I still found the hostel to be quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aqb5014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We chose this hostel as the previous one had run out of room. The communal areas were lovely, really open, colourful, with TV, Pool and an attached bar. Good wifi. Really was a lovely area. The breakfast wasn´t bad either with cheese, ham, fruits, jam, bread and cereals. We´d booked a twin room with private bathroom as they didn´t have a double. It wasn´t cheap at $60US but during peak season we didn´t have a lot of choice. The hostel is a huge rambling old character building and quite impressive but our room was pretty poor. It was a twin with a bathroom down the hallway which we accessed via a key. Not convenient at all. Also the twin had previously been a dorm room, hence the bunk beds! It even had four metal lockers, which they´d not bothered to remove and replace with something more suitable. Apart from a small basic table there wasn´t anything else in the room. The double rooms, which were tastefully decorated with lovely furniture, en-suite bathrooms and cable TV´s were actually cheaper and much better value. So we really were not impressed with the set up. Definitely not value for money. TIP- if you can pay in US dollars it works out cheaper than the peso equivalent. I´m not sure how the hostel worked the prices out but its definitely a lot cheaper to pay in dollars. Such a shame the room wasn´t better value, Í´d say it needs to be around the $40 dollar mark especially as the bathroom is down the hallway. The rest of the hostel is great with seating inside and out and the staff are really helpful too. Situated in the bella visa area which is very central. The hostel we´d stayed at previously was cheaper and had an attached bathroom in the same area so we definitely were comparing the two fairly.

Room Tip: Do not book a twin, get a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yuking1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you're looking for a calm, clean, beautifully decorated place that is close to several tourist attractions, good restaurants, public transportation and that is not pricey, then this is the place to stay. I was impressed by the wonderful hospitality of the people who work at Casa Mosaico as well as the nice international vibe that I felt there. The people who work at this hostel also know a lot about Santiago and are willing to tell you what you need to know about Chilean culture. I absolutely recommend this hostel.

Room Tip: Ask about their apartments close to the hostel, which have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natu9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Casa Mosaico is a very good place to stay! Everything is new and very clean! To get an idea of how clean it was I sat on the floor of our room and didn’t find not even a trace of dust. We were 7 friends staying there, so we booked one room for 6 and the other one had to stay on a different room. I would definitely stay there again!!! Here are my detailed impressions:
• The shower room was also very clean (there was soap and toilet paper), but needs some drainage improvements. Oh, and we had two shower rooms inside our room.
• About the shower being cold… it’s just a matter of learning how to work it. It took us a little bit to understand it, but when we did the shower was perfect! Strong pressure and hot. Here’re some instructions:
*Leave it open for one approximately 1-2 minutes all the way hot to get it hot.
*When it’s hot, place it almost in the middle, but a bit more to the hot side (red).
*To control the temperature, you’ll have to turn to one way or the other very gently so that it won’t move a lot. The thing is, every little inch can change a lot of the temperature.
• The housekeeping was very efficient and consistent (Every day we would come back and find everything organized).
• The room was big, nice and comfortable beds, big lockers (but you need to have a lock. They sell it for 2500 pesos)
• The hostel infrastructure is very good and everything’s new, but the wood floors make some noise (nothing that really bothered me, but some can find it annoying).
• Their wi-fi was AWESOME! Very strong signal and it worked everywhere in there.
• Breakfast was good (bread, ham, cheese, fruits, cereal, butter, “dulce de leche”, jams, coffee, milk and tea), but we would always have to ask for them to bring more, because things would run out fast.
• They have a bar, but I think it only opens during weekends, put it’s very nice! Complimentary pisco sour drinks were a nice touch.
• They have lots of maps and are very willing to help out and they give very good tips.
• Storage room was very safe. We had to leave our stuff there twice and didn’t have any problem.
• They have to begin selling water there. I told that to the owner (he was a very nice guy). Sometimes they had, sometimes they didn’t. They always have to have bottled water to sell it there.
• Check-in: It was a little bit hard. We arrived before our other 5 friends and we were told we could only check-in when everyone had arrived. So we left our bags in their storage room. First of all, Patricia, the lady that was there, didn’t take our down payment with Hostelworld into consideration and was asking the full daily rate from each. The other girl, Ju, saw us there and then told Patricia that she had made our reservations and that everything was ok. It was a bit confusing, but at the end she deducted the down payment and asked us to gather each one.
• Location and surroundings: The location is very good! The hostel is a 5 minute walk to Bella Vista subway. In Loreto street, the hostel street, there are some low cost options to eat. We had a local hot dog for about 1000 pesos. It’s close to Pio Nono Street, Constitución, Cerro San Cristobal, Cerro Santa Lucia, Museo de Bellas Artes and many other touristic places. There’s a little market on Dardignac Street, very close to the hostel, that you can get water and other food stuff if you need. Beside this little market, on the corner, there’s a liquor store where you can buy wine and pisco sour for very good prices.
There’s a guy selling “Churros” in the intersection of Dardignac Street and Pio Nono Street and it was the best “churros” I had in my life!
• Just to add about the surroundings… Some Chileans we met said Pio Nono is not tourist friendly and I think is true. We had to pass through there to go to Cerro San Cristobal and we got some very bad attitude from the people. It felt unsafe. But I think there’s no problem to go and see for yourself. There was a lot of bars and it seemed nice. We instead went to Constitucion Street which is tourist friendly and it was also very nice.
• And if you travelling by yourself, avoid walking in that region (I guess you can say that about almost everywhere in Santiago and the world) late at night or dawn.. It’s not safe. We had a guest staying at Casa Mosaico that got mugged and got a real bad punch in the face, and he was close to Calle Pio Nono, coming back to the hostel. If you have more people with you, no problem, but if you’re by yourself, avoid it at all costs!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Priscilla_M_Anjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Hotel Loreto
#20 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Hostal Providencia
#5 of 469 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 469 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#7 of 469 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#6 of 469 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mosaico Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mosaico Hostel

Property: Casa Mosaico Hostel
Address: Loreto 109 | Barrio Bellavista, Santiago 8420480, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 469 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Mosaico Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Mosaico is situated in the bohemian quarter of Santiago, Barrio Bellavista. This lovely barrio is in very high demand due to its reputation of combining art, gastronomy and entertainment. Services include bilingual staff, lockers, private bathrooms, free wifi, cable TV, storage room, welcome drink, Pool table, breakfast, room cleaning, touristic information, terrace, hot water 24hrs. Guests will also be able to book tours, e.g. Ski, vineyards, City tours, and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Casa Mosaico Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing