We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marilu's Bed and Breakfast Hostel
Ranked #20 of 155 Santiago B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

*Stayed for a week
*Marilu helped us plan all our activities and gave us her card in case we got lost, as we spoke minimal spanish - so wonderful to have someone looking out for you.
*Excellent location, comfortable, clean, safe.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris7404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    25
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
27
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tahiti
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

I booked for two nights at Marilu´s (from internet) and was glad to find a friendly atmosphere and helpful advises. The place is clean and quiet, rooms are a little old but comfortable, breakfast is convivial. Metro is at 3 minutes walk and you can find bars and restaurants easily around.
I had a trek up north in Chile and Marilu kept my luggage for 3 nights. I stayed again 2 nights more and had been invited to a barbecue !
It´s a good address, don´t hesitate.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThibTahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2008

Marilu's B&B
March 14 - March 16, 2008
We booked that place a month before the trip. The Tripadvisor review were very good, the owner sounded professional -- so we decided that 2 days of stay there was OK to try. But as soon as we opened the door the owner, Marilu, informed us that the agreed price per day will not work because the dollar exchange etc. and charged us $20.00 over and above what we agreed on via E-mails. We didn't want to waste hours by looking for another place to stay, plus we had a luggage with us ( we were taking cruse on March 16th). So we stayed. Place is NOT clean, very let down. After spending there 2 nights, in all sincerity, I can not recommend that place to anybody. It is not cheap enough for the quality and not good enough for the money.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank Odessa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
177 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2008

Marilu B&B is a real find in the hustle of Santiago. In a reasonably safe neighborhood with a down-to-earth hostess, Marilu, rest assured she will guide to wonderful places. Her driver, John, is a blessing. Knowledgeable and intuitive, he offers timely tidbits regarding walks, restaurants, and sights. He is available for hire at reasonable rates.

The B&B attracts a wide range of clients: college profs, writers, and students. The beds are comfortable, showers adequate; breakfasts reflect the idiosyncrasies of the hostess: juice, yogurt, toast. Simplicity.

The space potentially includes climbs to 3 floors -- on the ground floor is the office; second floor is a private apartment; and the 3rd floor has about 5 rooms, some with private bath.

It's a comfortable space for budget travel.

  • Liked — Knowledgeable staff
  • Disliked — Decor is dated
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VelhoSorriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2007

Great place. Great Price. We just got back from 4 days in Santiago and wanted to add a review. The room was basic, but just fine. Marilu & Miguel were very friendly and helped us run around Santiago. The B&B is a great location. It's close to the subway, and it's on a nice quiet street. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Staff, location, price.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank eandc_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#64 of 198 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,871 reviews
Providencia
NH Ciudad de Santiago
NH Ciudad de Santiago
#57 of 198 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Providencia
Tulip Inn Presidente Hotel Santiago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#95 of 198 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Providencia
De Blasis Bed & Breakfast
De Blasis Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 155 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Hotel Mery
#8 of 155 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marilu's Bed and Breakfast Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marilu's Bed and Breakfast Hostel

Property: Marilu's Bed and Breakfast Hostel
Address: Rafael Canas 246, Santiago 7500659, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marilu's Bed and Breakfast Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Providencia Avenue and Salvador Metro Station, Marilu's Bed & Breakfast offers you privacy and convenience in a chilean home-like atmosphere. There is no problem if you don't speak spanish, We can explain you and help you how to visit the city, and all about your concerns. We offer quiet simplicity, quality service and friendship, charming and comfortable guestrooms. French and English spoken We enjoy having people at our home and are looking forward to being your hosts, on your next visit to Santiago. Marilu's Bed and Breakfast was awarded the "Q" Tourist Quality Mark Certification granted by Sernatur - Servicio Nacional de Turismo (Chilean National Tourism Service) Check-in time: from 12:00 to 14:00 ( if your check-in time will be later or earlier you need to inform us). Check-out time: noon. Two blocks from the subway, Half block from an ATM Machine and from a minimarket open 24 hours. You will get the airport in 20 minutes by car. The Providencia area is the perfect destination for your stay in Santiago, safe and quiet. Guests will enjoy browsing through the nearby shops. A few minutes away you will find SERNATUR (Chilean Tourist Information Board), the Bellavista neighborhood, Chilean craft shops and Parque Metropolitano (San Cristobal hill). Nearby restaurants, Downtown and Providencia a Street, famous for its Pubs and night entertainment. We are very close to "Las Torres de Tajamar", where you can find some offices of bus-lines that go to the North & South of Chile (La Serena to the north, the lake district at Pucon City to the South, etc ) Santiago has a lot of interesting places to visit and also its surroundings ... Our prices includes Heating or Fan, WIFI, free internet access, kitchen availability, Cable TV in the rooms. Luggage storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Marilu's Bed and Breakfast Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing