We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good cost-benefit”
Review of Foresta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foresta
Ranked #115 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good cost-benefit”
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Good cost-benefit
This hotel is well located in the city center, near the “Cerro de Santa Lucia”. There are two subway stations nearby.
The staff are helpful and always willing to help.
There is one computer available for guests in the hall, but the connection is slow and expensive.
There is a nearby restaurant, Squadritto, where you can eat beautifully!
Large rooms, comfortable bed, bathroom ok.
The breakfast is poor.
I recommend, highly cost-effective.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    77
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
49
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2010

This is the place to stay on a Sunday or Monday night. The other nights cigarette smoke from the bar and staff quarters make this the smokiest hotel I have ever stayed in any where in the world. Any room ending in 5 gets smoke pumped into it from the bathroom vent.
The staff is very helpful and Luis speaks good English.
It is in a very attractive position opposite the delightful Cerro St.Lucia and is near a great supermarket/food outlet and good restaurants, and is only minutes walking from the CBD.
Traffic noise is a bit daunting if you like to sleep with your window open.
I would recommend this hotel to a friend but withe above reservations.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnConolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2010

I spent three nights in the hotel. The location is good and the room is clean. The only thing i didn´t like was the breakfast, very poor and the same every day: one cup of coffe and three toasts with butter. Watch out the bathtub, it´s slippery
( i sliped and hurt my head in the sink). There´s no free internet, you have to pay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlineFM30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We spent 5 nights at the hotel Foresta. It is really a place with its own personality because of the decoration -as well said on the reviews. The room we got, a suite on the 3 floor, was cozy and spacious at the same time. The bathroom was big and clean. The Cerro Santa Lucia, right in front of the hotel is a nice park to see, and the Lastarria street, right behind the hotel, has many nice restaurants and cafes with terraces. It is also walking distance from the centro (downtown) and some other nice places, such as Bellavista. Not a luxury hotel, but definitely a very good choice for the value. You get a little discount (tax, I guess) if paying in dollars instead of Chilean pesos. Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ximian_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

The staff was so friendly and helpful, the room (although a bit worn) was clean and very comfortable, fantastic location at the tip of Serra Santa Lucia park and walking distance to many of the points of interest, and restaurants all around including a few streets behind it down a quaint avenue (can't remember the name) with loads of restaurants and shops. The price was great for the Bella Artes neighborhood.
I left very early so did not sample the breakfast and, because of the early departure, did not walk around in the evening. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unbeatenpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Region V
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We live in Chile, close to, but not in Santiago, and we like to escape to the city from time to time. We've been looking for a good hotel in a good location that won't break the budget, and looks like we've found it. The Hotel Foresta staff was uniformly courteous, attentive and helpful. We had a charming, wall-papered room with a sitting area and mini-fridge and a beautiful view of the Santa Lucia park. The building is old, as are some of the furnishings, which gives it a certain charm, like the marble-floored, seven-story stairway that winds up to the dining area like a spiral staircase (there is also a small elevator). The area around this hotel has many small, boutique-ish stores, and it is close to many historical sites. It's also close to the metro system that is a wonderful way to explore Santiago.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breathedeeply18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

If you don't mind hideous wallpaper and a very basic breakfast, this is an excellent option for
the price. Strongly built (survived many earthquakes!), we found the antiquated interior decorations hilarious. But nice old-fashioned service, large comfortable room and sound bathroom with good shower. Very well located in Bellas Artes area, within walking distance
from Plaza de Armas, and hundreds of cafes and restaurants, from Lastarria and Mosquete St pastillerias, to the vibrant fun mural-pasted Bellavista area with its great restaurants ( Como Agua para Chocolate recommended), and Pablo Neruda's city house/museum La Chascona. (Tipping hotel staff is the norm - and gets you truly royal
service - like loo paper with a pleated topknot like a napkin - and my washing hung
properly on hangars in the bathroom!) Not impressed by the restaurant food however. Traffic noise in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Chilhotel
Chilhotel
#114 of 196 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#14 of 196 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Hotel Paris Londres
#132 of 196 in Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#99 of 196 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#111 of 196 in Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Hotel Vegas
#90 of 196 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foresta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresta

Property: Foresta
Address: Victoria Subercaseaux 353, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Foresta 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Foresta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foresta Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing