We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location and friendly - we'll be back”
Review of Foresta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foresta
Ranked #125 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We live in Chile, close to, but not in Santiago, and we like to escape to the city from time to time. We've been looking for a good hotel in a good location that won't break the budget, and looks like we've found it. The Hotel Foresta staff was uniformly courteous, attentive and helpful. We had a charming, wall-papered room with a sitting area and mini-fridge and a beautiful view of the Santa Lucia park. The building is old, as are some of the furnishings, which gives it a certain charm, like the marble-floored, seven-story stairway that winds up to the dining area like a spiral staircase (there is also a small elevator). The area around this hotel has many small, boutique-ish stores, and it is close to many historical sites. It's also close to the metro system that is a wonderful way to explore Santiago.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breathedeeply18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 135 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2010

If you don't mind hideous wallpaper and a very basic breakfast, this is an excellent option for
the price. Strongly built (survived many earthquakes!), we found the antiquated interior decorations hilarious. But nice old-fashioned service, large comfortable room and sound bathroom with good shower. Very well located in Bellas Artes area, within walking distance
from Plaza de Armas, and hundreds of cafes and restaurants, from Lastarria and Mosquete St pastillerias, to the vibrant fun mural-pasted Bellavista area with its great restaurants ( Como Agua para Chocolate recommended), and Pablo Neruda's city house/museum La Chascona. (Tipping hotel staff is the norm - and gets you truly royal
service - like loo paper with a pleated topknot like a napkin - and my washing hung
properly on hangars in the bathroom!) Not impressed by the restaurant food however. Traffic noise in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Stayed here with my partner in March 2009 for 4 nights - a great base for exploring Santiago, we explored much of the city on foot as most districts are within easy walking distance. Had a room at the front of the hotel, road noise out front is on and off for most of the night, however if you dont mind the dull noise of traffic, no worries at all. Room was spacious and clean. Front desk is helpful but those we dealt with spoke only basic English, which was fine. There is a great little market and some fantastic restaurants in a lane a block behind the hotel - definately worth a look! Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lr_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed here the first night in Chile, and enjoyed it so much we returned for our last night before returning home. While this place may be older, it was a great bargain for our stay. The location was key as just around the corner you will find numerous restuarants, bars, parks, etc. The staff was extremely helpful, epecially Sebastain, who worked the front desk. His ability to speak English, and his suggestions & assitance were much appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dctraveler602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

My husband and I stayed in Foresta for 7 nights and we are very satisfied! The hotel is old (30 years) but is very nice, clean and the employes very kind. There are no air condicioning in the bedroom but a fan solved our need of... there are also 4 blankets, 6 pillows and the bedroom (matrimonial suite) is big. However we are brasilians speaking portuguese, we saw guests talking in english at front desk. The restaurant is simple but has a good food for very good prices - Pacific fishes and chilean wines, very nice. Near for 2 metro stations and many museuns, restaurants and places to see. If we come back, we will stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SiVaiteka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Perfect location in the best part of Santiago, within easy walking distance of everything, and right next to Cerro Santa Lucia, which is one of the strangest and most beautiful parks I have seen. The staff is very kind and helpful, you feel like a special guest. Sebastion speaks perfect English, and is most helpful in any matter. The restaurant on the 7th floor is a really good deal, and the area around the hotel is full of restaurants and night life. It is easy walking to all of the major museums in Santiago. The Chilean people are beautiful, the young people are friendly, and they all look like my American granddaughters. Everyone has an Ipod or Iphone, and you can just walk and anywhere and feel good. This has been our best adventure yet!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrianSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The Hotel Foresta is located at the bottom of Santa Lucia hill in central downtown Santiago. It is a few 100 metres from the Bella Artes metro station and has great restaurants and bars nearby as well as the city centre, main square and Parque Forestal. While the building is old and the decor quaint, you can't beat the location, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and a great price. We had a twin room overlooking the park, room 203, which cost US$45 a night including breakfast. It is not the Sheraton but is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodview103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#18 of 202 in Santiago
344 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#112 of 202 in Santiago
305 reviews
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#116 of 202 in Santiago
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Hotel Windsor Suite
Hotel Windsor Suite
#149 of 202 in Santiago
176 reviews
Nippon Hotel
#111 of 202 in Santiago
173 reviews
Hotel Paris Londres
#144 of 202 in Santiago
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foresta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresta

Address: Victoria Subercaseaux 353, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: $57 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Foresta 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Foresta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foresta Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing