We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foresta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Foresta
Ranked #117 of 197 Hotels in Santiago
PORT ALBERNI
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Well worth a stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I discovered this hotel on Tripadvisor and stayed a week. It was great. I arrived unannounced and my bag was carried in to the small reception area, checking in was very efficient. The gentleman doing it was very pleasant and answered all my questions thoroughly. My room was, well, different, but not unpleasantly so. I had a small anti room, a bedroom overlooking the park and a clean well lit bathroom. The maid service was first class. The breakfast was, say, tolerable. This is an area they can improve on. I enjoyed the European feel of Santiago. People very friendly and helpful, shops and restaurants all around were reasonably priced and the food and service were very good. I think many students are in that area so it was lively but not noisy. Even my room overlooking the park and road below was not too noisy except in the morning commute, Chilenos like to use their horns. In summary, I would heartily recommend this hotel, very reasonable cost, and expertly run.

Room Tip: My room was vower the bar but I did not realise it until I was there 3 days. In any case you can alw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSC248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    75
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
48
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Talca, Chile
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I´ve stayed at the Foresta Hotel for most of my Santiago trips in the last couple of years. 1.- The rates are very reasonable, a room for two goes for around USD 65. 2.- Great location for Lastarria area, parks, restaurants, the new GAM art center and several other amenities. 3.- Four blocks away from two metro stations (line 1 and 2). 4.- Although is limited and located around the corner, they offer parking for your car for free, which is extremely rare in that area where the parking spots are really scarce. 4.- The staff is very accomodating: I've been there twice recovering for surgeries (5 blocks away from the Universidad Catolica Teaching Hospital) and they have tried their best to fulfill my needs, serving special foods with no fuss or crazy surcharges. 5.- I go there with my lesbian partner and they are equally nice to anybody (they have gotten to know us by name, so they care if any of us seem ill or distressed). 6.- Their check-in and check-out times are comfortable and reasonably flexible: I have checked-in in a room at 11am coming out of a hospital, and they had no problem. Why I didn't give it 5 points: 1.- The included breakfast could be limited for some people (cup of instant coffee, tea or milk, two toasts, butter and jam, 1 strip of laminated cheese and ham, small glass of artificial juice, and a slice of chiffon cake) 2.- Although they offer free wifi, some rooms get very poor or no signal 3.- Depending on the room, you can smell fumes from the kitchen on the 7th floor, or noise from the streets. 4.- At least for Chilean customers, you can not pay with a debit card, they only take credit or cash. 5.- They do not have A/C. Overall, a really nice option, clean, safe with some antique feeling to it.

Room Tip: Fourth and fifth floors seem to have better view and less disturbances
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tcanaleso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
396 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is not your average hotel; no big foyer, basic breakfast, no website, no tour desk, but a quirky hotel where every room is decorated in a different style that looks like it's straight from a flea market. Located close to two railway stations as well as the Mercado Central and main plaza. A beautiful park is opposite. Ask for a room facing the park and main street. I paid only $52US per night.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RonRSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Right on the edge of the centre city, by the Santa Lucia Park, close to shops, attractions and supermarket. I felt safe as a single traveler, staff were friendly and spoke enough English to help me out. Breakfast was a little lacking (as was the somewhat harassed waitress serving it!) (white toast with one slice cheese, ham and some jam), but it was good to have something to eat first thing before heading out. It was VERY noisy at night, but not sure if that can be helped in central Santiago - and they had just won a major soccer game!

Not flash, but reasonably priced for central Santiago.

I would happily stay here again, despite the somewhat interesting decor!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGirl69x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
129 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

The Foresta Hotel is on the edge of downtown Santiago, and many snobs feel downtown is not the place to be. Nonetheless, I grew up there from 1948 to 1966 and is what I consider home. The residential and business outskirts are great; but at the Foresta you are within minutes of transportation to ANYWHERE and within walking distance to all the downtown attractions. The hotel is definitely not five stars, so if you are into five stars, look elsewhere. But if you want clean, comfortable rooms, excellent service and a fabulous rate, this is the place to be. They have a roof-top restaurant with excellent, reasonably priced food and drinks. I had a party for about 10 people and they even allowed me to bring in a cake from a bakery I loved, served it up, and did NOT charge me extra, even though they do have desserts as well. The front rooms can be a bit noisy at night, so I suggest you ask for a back room. My room was a bedroom, a sitting room and a bathroom, with a small fridge and the rate in January 2009 was circa $40 a night for TWO people. The neighborhood is called Barrio Bellas Artes (Fine Arts Neighborhood) within a few blocks of the Museum Of Fine Arts, located in Forestal Park. Saint Lucia Hill is accross the street. Buses and subways cost under a dollar and taxis are readily available. (Use Radio Taxi, called by the concierge, for safety.) I am going next year July and plan to stay there for a month! It will be my third time there!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Veriuska_vee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

I have to say that all the reviews already written say pretty much about everything about this hotel. It would be hard to find a better hotel at this rate in Santiago. It looks like it has stopped in time, since the decoration is old and the rooms are very big. Their inability to answer e-mails confirms this antiqueness also (Do call them if you want to make a reservation). However, you do have WiFi spots in the ground floor and in the restaurant also (my room in the 5th floor could get the signal from the restaurant which is in the 7th) for free. Breakfast is really simple, no frills, no fruits included. I had one incovenient with them because two glasses of wine which I got in Cousiño-Macul winery disappeared after room service; they were always friendly and tried to help me to find the glasses for sevreal days but they did not come up. They were embarassed and even offered me other glasses instead, but I did not take them, because I was not interested in the value itself. Just a negative point among many other positive ones, specially the very helpful and warm staff as the incident described above illustrates. Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

Good cost-benefit
This hotel is well located in the city center, near the “Cerro de Santa Lucia”. There are two subway stations nearby.
The staff are helpful and always willing to help.
There is one computer available for guests in the hall, but the connection is slow and expensive.
There is a nearby restaurant, Squadritto, where you can eat beautifully!
Large rooms, comfortable bed, bathroom ok.
The breakfast is poor.
I recommend, highly cost-effective.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#18 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Hotel Paris Londres
#145 of 197 in Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#111 of 197 in Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Chilhotel
Chilhotel
#113 of 197 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Hotel Vegas
#89 of 197 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#91 of 197 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foresta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresta

Property: Foresta
Address: Victoria Subercaseaux 353, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Foresta 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Foresta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foresta Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing