We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, a bit like a Chilean grandmother”
Review of Hotel Bonaparte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bonaparte
Ranked #67 of 204 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Felt very comfortable, spotlessly clean, service friendly and personal. The restaurant was excellent, if a bit expensive. The hotel is in a quiet residential area; only drawbacks are a long hike to the nearest metro station and there are not many restaurants close by. As I had a lot of business to do in Santiago, I must have walked 60 miles (100 kms) in four days. As I live in Chile and speak Spanish, I perhaps found it easier to do things in the hotel although most of the staff, especially at the reception speak good English. One slight problem--I was charged for items from the minibar that I had not taken; I bought them in a mini-market nearby; but upon explanation, I signed the tab and it was okayed. Save receipts from markets! I would definitely recommend for service and comfort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gringachilena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaparte_Hotel, Owner at Hotel Bonaparte, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
It´s great to hear that you liked our hotel and we loved that you described us like a "chilean grandmother", we work hard to make the hotel a cozy place.
We are glad that your your incident with the minibar was resolved to your satisfaction.
Hope to have you back soon.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 491 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Bonaparte for several weeks traveling for business reasons. The Hotel is nice and clean, though not fancy. All the staff are really nice and helpful, specially the clerks. The Restaurant is OK too. It has a small amount of options but they are all tasty. The personnel at the restaurant are generally speaking not as helpful as the people form the front desk.
In terms of location, although the hotel is situated in a very nice area of the city, it is also really quiet. You will not find many restaurant options nearby. Another con is that it is quite far away from the metro (20 min walk).
Other tip: avoid rooms looking to the street (north) as they get really hot due to constant sunlight. Also, try to avoid rooms on the first two floors as the magnetic cards tend to fail more often than not.
Overall, I recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LawrenceDarabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaparte_Hotel, Owner at Hotel Bonaparte, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear guest,
We appreciate your comments. We are constantly trying to improve and passenger’s comments are always helpful. In regards to your comments about the rooms facing north, we would like to let you know that we are soon to renovate de windows. This will help keep the room at an enjoyable temperature.
Regards,

Camila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Overall a comfortable stay, but a bit aged. Staff friendly and helpful and restaurant food reasonable. The breakfast area could consider opening a bit earlier. They were very strict and did not even allow a cup of coffee or sitting down before 07:00. In business environment you need to be more flexible.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank BB88BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaparte_Hotel, Owner at Hotel Bonaparte, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear guest, thanks for your comments.
We agree with you, flexibility is very much appreciated when travelling. In this sense we always try to make an extra effort and to give the best service we can. However, we would like to let you know that we offer an early breakfast at the passenger’s request.
We hope to have you back someday.
Regards,

Camila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights here, one on the front end and one on the back end of our Patagonia adventure. We love the hotel, the staff, the dining experience. Paul at the front desk made our stay so enjoyable. The hotel is in a lovely section of town, making it easy to go out for a walk. Nice breakfast buffet. The hotel is about 20 mintues fromt he airport and 10-15 min from downtown. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a small room first night and a suite the second time, which was just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ButBeuatiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaparte_Hotel, Owner at Hotel Bonaparte, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We sincerely appreciate the high ratings you gave us. We work very hard to make everyones stay pleasent. We hope you have the opportunity to come back to Chile and stay with us again.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5448
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were a group of 7 couples who were spending 2 nights in Santiago before heading to the coast for a cruise. We were delighted they could take us all. We all piled into the lunch room immediately after check in. It had been a long flight from Canada and we were famished. The staff in the restaurant was great and very patient with a bunch of weary travellers. The hotel is not fancy but the staff is pleasant, the rooms adequate. There was Wifi and room safes and fairly comfy beds. The neighborhood was pretty. The price was reasonable. The breakfast buffet was adequate. We really had no complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaparte_Hotel, Owner at Hotel Bonaparte, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments. We are trying to improve our breakfast service and we´ll be soon serving fresh orange juice. If you have any suggestions please write to: operaciones@bonaparte.cl and we´ll be happy to take them into consideration.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Was in Santiago on business and this hotel was very near my client's offices. Located in the beautiful Provedencia neighborhood, it was very quiet and relaxing, and within walking distance of many nice restaurants and shops. The rooms were basic, but clean and comfortable. The restaurant suprised with very creative dishes at lunch and dinner, and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Overall, a very nice experience and I will definitely stay here again when in Santiago for business.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool area are much sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tex-dex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Overall our stay was very pleasant. Nice room overlooking pool. Renovated bathroom. Staff friendly.
Safe neighborhood in area of embassies and nice homes. Within walking distance of Providencia town centre with good restaurants including the wonderful Cocinera.

Word of caution. I had emailed hotel for info on transport from airport. At first they quoted me
$35 US to send a car. Then they emailed back and said it would be $45. When we arrived at the hotel we had to pay $50. I am sure we paid way too much but didn't want to argue as it was our first time to Latin America. Otherwise, the hotel is nice and clean and staff friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ironduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Heidelberg Haus Apart Hotel
Heidelberg Haus Apart Hotel
#68 of 204 in Santiago
243 reviews
Providencia
Park Plaza
Park Plaza
#70 of 204 in Santiago
1,062 reviews
Providencia
Eurotel Providencia
Eurotel Providencia
#82 of 204 in Santiago
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
NH Ciudad de Santiago
NH Ciudad de Santiago
#59 of 204 in Santiago
1,547 reviews
Providencia
Diego de Velazquez
Diego de Velazquez
#63 of 204 in Santiago
748 reviews
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#69 of 204 in Santiago
4,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte

Address: Mar Del Plata 2171, Santiago 7510574, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#37 Business Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: $63 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bonaparte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For all frequent corporate travelers seeking a comfortable, quiet and safe accommodation, Bonaparte Hotel is a boutique hotel in the heart of Providencia neighborhood that offers authentic hospitality. We're passionate about nurturing our relationships with our passengers and we are committed to earning your loyalty. The hotel was built from an old house in the neighborhood, respecting its facade and classic design. Nowadays it has 63 rooms, restaurant, outdoors swimming pool and and a cafe. We are located in the beautiful and quiet residential neighborhood of Providencia, which invites you to explore its leafy tree-lined streets and enjoy a walk outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonaparte Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing