We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!”
Review of Hotel Bonaparte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bonaparte
Ranked #59 of 200 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Nice simple hotel, very clean & an amazing staff, very central.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    222
    65
    10
    9
See reviews for
53
197
22
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

The area surrounding the hotel is picturesque and memorable - unfortunately my 4 nights there were a different kind of memorable. The place appears to literally be falling apart; my wing lost power a few times over 3 days, 2 nights in a row they managed to lose all water pressure to the rooms, and electronic keys kept failing.

The rooms a way too small for a single business traveler - I cannot imagine how a holidaying couple would be able to get comfortable. You hear everything in the hallways, adjoining rooms and from other floors - unless you turn on the air conditioner to block out the noise, but they are very old and loud. Also, there was no way to lock the external window in my room, meaning anyone could have walked along the (wide) outside ledge from other room on my floor and taken whatever they want.

There is no guarantee that the the gym is open at 7am or 8pm and the advertised sauna is a fiction. The staff were nice enough, but quickly forgot English when there is any problems.

My associate and I have both made strong recommendations to our local office that they never put people in this hotel again.

As an excellent alternative, I would recommend the Hotel Santiago Park Plaza, which is in the same area.

Room Tip: My advise? Go elsewhere. Both wings on the 4th floor were just as bad - I cannot speak for other fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Bonaparte in August and had a very enjoyable visit. The hotel is located in a beautiful area of the city, in Providencia, which is convenient to get to the downtown area. The rooms are comfortable and clean with heating and cooling and extra bedding in the closet. We also had Wi-fi internet access in our room. The staff is friendly and helpful and there is an excellent restaurant on sight. I highly recommend the soup! We also had a breakfast buffet included and it was fantastic with fresh breads, fruits, cereals, pastries, juices, etc. The breakfast also included some warm foods such as eggs and meats. The biggest bonus about this hotel is the connecting parking garage, which is a huge plus in Santiago. To go shopping or touring throughout Santiago you will have to pay to park in parking garages practically everywhere you go, and then have to walk some distance to get to where you are going. We stayed at another hotel in Santiago and had to walk a half mile to get to our car, luggage in tow. Not so with Hotel Bonaparte! The garage connects to the hotel and you can take an elevator from the garage directly to your floor. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Hotel Bonaparte in Mar de Plata is a small hotel located in a residential area surrounded by hundred year old trees.
The staff is friendly and helpful. I will stay here next time I am in Santiago.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenaMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Bonaparte for 2 nights at the end of a 16 day trip to Chile which included Patagonia and Atacama. The hotel room was small to average sized but clean and comfortable. A 15- 20 minute walk to the closest subway. The breakfast was average and the neighborhood residential. However, the hotel staff was exceptional. I lost my camera at the main postal office in Plaza de Armas and while retracing my steps was somehow able to gauge (through my broken Spanish) that some good samaritan had found it and had left his information with the postal office employees. I called the hotel from the post office as I did not completely understand what was going on and the gentleman at the front desk at Hotel Bonaparte (Rodrigo) not only spoke to the security guard at the post office for me and helped translate but also offered to go and get my camera for me which by this time was at a completely different location in Santiago. He did so successfully and when I got back to the hotel that day from my touring of Santiago I had a meagre USD$8 receipt for the cost of the cab which he took to get my camera (which I had already authorized him to do). I was flying back to the US that evening and the photos from my entire trip were on that camera so needless to say I was thrilled. Unfortunately I was not able to thank Rodrigo face to face as he had left for the day but this service like this makes places like the Hotel Bonaparte exceptional!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trina521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

We had a nice stay at Hotel Bonaparte! It is in a great location in Providencia- about a 15 minute walk to the subway. The staff was always ready to help us with whatever we needed, but they were a little too determined to ensure we had received the wake-up calls we requested. Also, there was one day we only had a couple of towels and the hair dryer would die after a couple of minutes. Don't plan on swimming laps in the pool- it is really more of a fountain. The computers with Internet access were very helpful. Overall, this hotel is a good value in a great location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson,
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed here at the Bonaparte several times over the course of two years without incident. This review would have been one of my most positive experiences in Chilean hotels, THAT IS until $600.00usd was taken from my room. The group of interchange students I am in charge of never lost more than a few small items, Maybe lost or misplaced since college students may be proned to pack in a hurry, its likely those items were never on the plane from the USA. The staff at the Bonaparte were usually a profesional , attentive staff, superb in many ways which made it more difficult to accept that the money was taken in the first place. The Carabineros (police) arrived quickly to take my statement and were professional, even though they stated that I would never get it back unless someone admitted to stealing it..
The hotel manager on the other hand was not so courteous nor was he remotely helpful, as he tried to convince me that I never had six hundred dollars, and that if I did have $600.00 why was it not hidden or placed in the safe box! He then became more agitated after I insisted someone on his staff took the money, OBVIOUSLY I didnt have the money any longer and its no longer in my room, he again tried placing the blame and responsibility on me. This childish blame the victim tactic is common in Chile and possibly elsewhere in South America. He never brought the two room cleaners to talk to the carabineros nor would he consider they might steal, instead he maintained his diversion and denial. If you feel like gambling and you want a well located, clean hotel with an enormous international breakfast buffet this is for you, just be prepared to pay more than you expected! Needless to say our group will not return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Presidente Suites Santiago
#37 of 200 in Santiago
408 reviews
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#68 of 200 in Santiago
3,980 reviews
Providencia
NH Ciudad de Santiago
NH Ciudad de Santiago
#56 of 200 in Santiago
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Park Plaza
Park Plaza
#69 of 200 in Santiago
995 reviews
Presidente Hotel Santiago
#96 of 200 in Santiago
354 reviews
Providencia
Heidelberg Haus Apart Hotel
Heidelberg Haus Apart Hotel
#77 of 200 in Santiago
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte

Property: Hotel Bonaparte
Address: Mar Del Plata 2171, Santiago 7510574, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#37 Business Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bonaparte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For all frequent corporate travelers seeking a comfortable, quiet and safe accommodation, Bonaparte Hotel is a boutique hotel in the heart of Providencia neighborhood that offers authentic hospitality. We're passionate about nurturing our relationships with our passengers and we are committed to earning your loyalty. The hotel was built from an old house in the neighborhood, respecting its facade and classic design. Nowadays it has 63 rooms, restaurant, outdoors swimming pool and and a cafe. We are located in the beautiful and quiet residential neighborhood of Providencia, which invites you to explore its leafy tree-lined streets and enjoy a walk outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonaparte Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing