We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in Santiago”
Review of Hotel Vegas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vegas
Ranked #101 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Sesto San Giovanni, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in Santiago”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed in this hotel one night in my route from Easter Island to Brasil.
They gave me a little room at ground floor that was clean but also a little uncomfortable for the noise coming from the reception.
By the way the hotel is in a good position as it is located in a nice neighborhood near to Universidad de Chile metro station.
They offer free wifi and a breakfast that for my taste is a bit below average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devilsoul72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    163
    38
    14
    9
See reviews for
66
90
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at Vegas Hotel twice during May 2013. First time we got room facing inner patio (rather dark, but quiet), second time room - facing street with street cafe / restaurant (noisy until late night during weekends). Both rooms clean - everything you need. Breakfast - very good but limited food to choose. Friendly staff, did everything to help us arrange trip details (phone calls / museum reservations) around Chile. A bit of problem to communicate in English.
The most important - great location - just walking distance to anyplace (must to see) in Santiago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarekMarysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Vegas. It was centrally located, and the side street it was located on, was quiet and quaint. Our room was large, as it had small seating area within a tower, with windows that could be opened at night, to allow in the breeze. Breakfast is minimal. There is a wonderful italian restaurant around the corner from the hotel. The staff are friendly! Note there is no elevator, so luggage is taken upstairs by two very strong women!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetoTravel9308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent a holiday in Santiago and stayed at Hotel Vegas. Simple, but nice. Old strcture gives a charm to the hotel.
From our window we saw a movie being shot: advantages of being downtown. Close to restaurants and famous spots in Santiago.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Definitely worth spending a little extra in Santiago. Vegas is well situated for exploring the town and the afternoon receptionist is very friendly. We had a fantastic room on the top floor with the circular side because of the tower. It was great, though if you are a poor sleeper you may want one near the back, on a Tuesday night someone whistled and sang all night on the street below and like most places in Santiago the windows are not very sound proof. This room was wonderful, clean and well kept.

The only negatives for me were the morning reception, she just seemed grumpy all the time and the breakfast was quite average. Only white bread, hard plastic like egg only omelets and extremely oily bacon. Of course they had some fruit and the cheese and ham so you could make a sandwich. Would love to see some wholemeal bread, a cereal that is not straight oats or chocolate – maybe we have been spoiled in the rest of Chile!

All in all, would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan, BC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We hadn’t intended to make it back to Santiago the night we stayed at the Hotel Vegas, so...we arrived in rush hour traffic, and found Hotel Vegas through a recommendation of another nearby hotel. Lucky for us!! Sure, the hotel is not a brand new Marriott, but that is probably the reason we enjoyed it so much! It has a lot of character, is clean and tidy, and is in a great location (cobblestone brick sidestreet). We were exhausted, stressed with the traffic, and had two young children with us who were hungry and tired, and the staff at the Vegas totally took care of us! We felt welcomed, cared for, and that they seemed genuinely happy to have us stay with them. The rooms are big, clean, beds were very comfortable, the showers were hot and strong, wi-fi is good, and they had a great continental breakfast!

In addition, the hotel is located in a GREAT location right in the middle of historic Centro Santiago. The streets surrounding the hotel are great to stroll around, and the main boulevard of Centro is a very short walk away. The hotel is near the metro and most of the city landmarks, and there are many food options nearby, from cuisine to fast food. After our kids were asleep, I ventured out to get some food and just loved listening to the buskers out on the main boulevard. I see from others’ comments that there is some noise around the hotel, but it didn’t seem like a big issue to us, either around or inside the hotel. I would agree that a room that overlooks the street would enhance your experience, but our room in the center of the hotel was huge, and comfortable. Perhaps ask to see a couple of different rooms; our interior room was nice and quiet.

Breakfast was fantastic! If you’re on a budget at all, you hope to have breakfast included with your accommodations, and the Vegas had a very nice breakfast, from cereal to eggs to bacon/sausages, toast, fruit, coffee, juice, yoghurt, etc. Maybe we were exhausted from travelling for weeks, but...we were actually quite delighted with the breakfast here!

I would hate to call Hotel Vegas ‘budget’, as it seems to convey the wrong connotation and we didn’t think it was a ‘cheap’ rate ($95US), but we really, REALLY enjoyed our stay here, from the great (friendly, cheerful and helpful!) staff, to the excellent location, the very nice breakfast and very comfortable room. A definite recommend if you’re looking for a great value stop!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank matrix_of_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent 5 nights here total, while its not 5 star it has all you need, clean shower, comfortable bed and friendly helpful staff! The surrounding area can be a little noisy in the evenings but if your out and about it won't be a problem! It's central to most of the landmarks in the city center, including the metro subway system which is very handy and efficient. There are plenty of food options nearby for all tastes and also supermarkets for your essentials. You also get breakfast daily included which is simple but covers all your needs. Obviously if your looking for 5 star quality your in the wrong place but if your after a central, comfortable budget option Vegas comes highly reccomended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Hotel Fundador
#80 of 196 in Santiago
443 reviews
Hotel Paris Londres
#135 of 196 in Santiago
199 reviews
RQ Santiago
#47 of 196 in Santiago
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nippon Hotel
#109 of 196 in Santiago
162 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hotel Sommelier Express
Hotel Sommelier Express
#85 of 196 in Santiago
141 reviews
Hotel Galerias
#70 of 196 in Santiago
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vegas

Property: Hotel Vegas
Address: Londres 49 | Santiago Centro, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vegas 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vegas Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing