We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Colorado”

El Colorado Ski Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.00*
and up
Snow Day Trip to Colorado Ski Center from Santiago
Ranked #28 of 502 things to do in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“El Colorado”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Excellent snow, not, very crowded and polite, helpful staff. Fair amount of easy to difficult hills; great for beginners and very advanced skiers and snowboarders.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    524
    170
    27
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good ski close to Santiago”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Good ski (many advanced and expert slopes), spectacular scenery, we had a wonderfull day. We took MontainTaxi from Santiago. However, the road to get to El Colorado is in bad state, narrow, unmarked, dangerous. And it cost 42$ for 2 hamburgers trio for lunch at the ski cottage. You should prefer the restaurant at the base.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ybou155033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
875 reviews
668 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 842 helpful votes
“Go for the day from Santiago”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Although it is a long day, you can go for the day out of Santiago. We took the red line metro to Escuela Militar and less than a ten minute walk from there is the area where you pick up one of the ski mini vans. (This ski van area is marked on many city maps) These depart at around 8-8.30am, but only leave once they are full so there is a bit of waiting around. Once on your way the journey is no more than an hour & a half and you are in the snow. Shop around with the van companies - we found Austral to be cheapest and they gave us an extra discount because we went to El Colorado regularly. Once you've arrived, keep that shop around principle in mind. There are hire shops three minutes walk from the main lift entrance were cheaper, more helpful and also willing to do a deal because we were regulars. As did Escuela al Colorado who gave a better price because we booked a group of three refresher lessons rather than just one. If you are new to skiing probably better to pay that bit extra for a private lesson - the group session we attended included far too many people and was a waste of time and money. Once in El Colorado there is not that much to do around the skiing. A Juan Valdez cafe and a self serve restaurant have you as a captive market and charge extortionate prices. We took a full picnic with us and saved loads of money. There are free toilet and changing room facilities and you can hire a locker to put your stuff.The snow is always there thanks to some artificial snow production and the lifts seem to be in good working order. The skiing terrain is not that beautiful but there are runs to suit all levels and abilities. The general atmosphere was one of good fun and we commented on how helpful the staff were. One word of warning about the journey back ..... despite the instruction that the mini van would depart at 5pm we seemed to be the only people who adhered to this rule. Our fellow passengers often ambled up some 30-40 minutes late which meant the trip back to Santiago was that much more difficult as it hit all the rush hour traffic. Agree a time departure time with everyone when you arrive - that kinda seemed to work.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful andes!”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Unlike skiing in north america, you will be above the tree line and have large open spaces to ski. It is a wonderful setting. Try all three of the local hills (la Parva, Valle Nevado and El Colorado). I would do one day at each though, as the multi-pass is really not worth the extra price.

Helpful?
1 Thank mgpbwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for family and novice skiers”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Very family oriented and for beginner skiiers. Close to La Parva and Valle Nevado for other choices. Easy go up for the day to ski from Santiago.

Helpful?
Thank satellite_answr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Colorado Ski Center also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to El Colorado Ski Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing