We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Homeless Dogs in this area”
Review of Barrio Bellavista

Barrio Bellavista
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
City Tour and Wine Tour Concha y Toro or Santa Rita
Ranked #15 of 502 things to do in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This cultural city neighborhood is rich with artists, entertainers and some of chile's best ethnic and local cuisine.
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Many Homeless Dogs in this area”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I would not recommend visiting this area. The area is filled with many homeless dogs and it is heartbreaking. Many do not look healthy and they follow you around. Also homeless dogs and traffic do not mix and our driver ran over a homeless dog in the road. It is an area where you can see this kind of thing happen. And it was one of the most awful experiences of my life – the screams of the poor dog. And the driver did not even want to stop to see if it needed attention but told us it meant nothing – just a stray dog. Clearly Santiago needs to find a compassionate solution to this large homeless dog problem that would include spay/neutering and animal shelters so these dogs can have a chance at adoption. Until this happens, I would avoid this area because of what you are likely to see.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,103
    2,458
    513
    68
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This area is a nice surprise in Santiago. At the feet of san Cristobal hill, walk in the colorful streets where bars are everywhere and stop at the patio bellavista for shopping and relaxing

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alya222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pereira, Colombia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice murals”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My favorite thing about this bohemian neighborhood was wandering the streets and seeing colorful buildings and murals. Pio Nono was full of raunchy pubs and cheap eateries (watch yourself at night!), while Constitución had the higher end places.
I lived here for a month and moved out because of the noise from the clubs keeping me up all hours of the night and an idiotic landlord. But it was still a cool place to live.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadicniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
810 reviews
481 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Good mix of restaurants and bars.”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

You can get a cheap drink, expensive meal, posh restaurant or just modest place. It caters for all tastes. I spent every day here mainly late afternoon early evening. The best area in Santiago for me.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
423 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Restaurants and Bars and Live Music - Nightlife Centre of Santiago”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Bellavista is a student district where a couple of universities have campuses and therefore there are loads of young people and lots of bars and cafes. There is one street that is a non-stop row of bars, some serving pizzas, and all offering happy hour specials. We chose one so we could sit and watch the people parade. We shared a tasty four cheese with pepperoni pizza and a litre bottle of the local lager. We continued our walkabout of the area and discovered that the next street over was filled with upmarket restaurants with linen tablecloths and candlelight. Joan inspected the menus as we walked up one side of this street, down the other, and a bit on accompanying side streets as well. She had been saying she was finding it hard to suss out the restaurants in Santiago. We hadn’t walked by any of interest in the historical centre or the area immediately near our apartment. Like other Chilean businesses, the restaurants are all grouped together. There must be over 100 of them here within four or five blocks. Also in Bellevista, and also containing a number of restaurants, is a vast open-air complex that also contains small gift shops called the Patio Bellavista. The centre of the complex has a stage and a band was playing on an upper level overlooking this area and people were dancing and there were stilt-walkers and some acrobats. It was a lively place and full of local people enjoying the balmy Friday night.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrio Bellavista also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Barrio Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing