We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An essential”

Cerro San Cristobal
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Private Santiago City Experience: Walking Tour, Market Visit, Lunch and Coffee
Ranked #2 of 502 things to do in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This 860 meter hill in the center of Santiago features a zoo and wine museum at the midway point and a gondola ride to the top, where a virgin mary statue overlooks the city.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An essential”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

You go their for the view of course. It is the best place to appreciate Alpes Mountains and have a great view on Santiago. Their is a small market top of the mountain. It is an essential while you visit Santiago.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaume141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,178
    4,083
    710
    60
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
290 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“We drove up and down, but it was harrowing”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Loved the view but got freaked out by all the bicyclists and pedestrians a couple inches from the van as we drove up the hill. The funicular was still broken in March 2013 and we did NOT wish to walk. Be aware that the bathrooms at the top cost money--40 pesos I think. This was on a Sunday. We were told that during the week there is much less congestion on the road.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank activenretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Chile
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the Hike Up”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

After enjoying a Free Tour of 4 hours with Jonny, we decided to climb San Cristobal Hill rather than wait for the free bus. We made it up in 45 minutes with a few breaks along the way. We enjoyed the path which you can take part way up the hill (near the bottom) rather than the roadway. There was shade along the way and the dirt path was easier on our knees than the roadway.

We were delighted to find a fountain at the top of the path and filled our water bottle. When we reached the parking lot area, we met the people who had been waiting for the free bus and they were surprised that we had arrived at the same time.

Naturally, the vistas were amazing and the breezes were refreshing. The nice surprise for us was the small church on site. The scenes of Christ's life in the Capilla Chapel are simple but elegant with fieldstone accents and wooden ceiling supports. We just loved how different it was from the many churches which are very ornate.

There are several places to purchase drinks, ice cream and the likes as well as a pay washroom.

San Cristobal Hill is definitely worth the effort.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LJV4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
235 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Must do”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The views from there are great, even if you don't climb the many, many steps up to the top viewing area. The old home is stunning!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kdp43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
472 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A view of Santiago”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We arrived before the funicular was open and opted for the bus ride up after being told it was a two hour hike! No regrets! the view of Santiago from the top is beautiful although a bit hidden by smog on our day. It still impresses and gives a perspective on the city and mix of buildings. The statue is absolutely beautiful and calming. Worth the time and fee especially if you can take the funicular!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bstdflsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerro San Cristobal also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Cerro San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing