We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value if you need to be close to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Diego de Almagro Aeropuerto
Ranked #89 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The hotel is a 5 min drive from the airport. The airport transfer was included in our rate, but I never actually clarified the "process" with the hotel before I arrived. What you do is go to the TransVIP desk, mention the hotel. They give you two receipts (one for you, one for the driver), and tell you which exit door to exit out of. When you get outside, you'll see a number of minivans. Mention your hotel to the drivers hanging about, and the one designated for the hotel will come to you. Transfer was free but we tipped the driver. Note you may have to wait a while, as they like to fill up the van (with other guests, or for other hotels). On the return, the hotel has a shuttle bus. It runs every 30 min, on the half hour. No reservations required. Again it's free, but we tipped the driver.

Hotel is bland, but it's functional. We stayed on two separate nights this week. Beds were comfortable (firm) with decent firm pillows. Bathroom was clean. The bathtub/shower is quite high, you need to step up into it so it may be difficult for the elderly. They provide an anti-slip mat, as the bathtub floor could be slippery. Hair dryer provided. The only annoying thing was we couldn't turn the bathroom fan off. The only solution was to close the bathroom door during the night, so it wouldn't keep us up.

We didn't hear too many planes, so the noise didn't disturb us.

There is a safe and mini fridge with some pop/water (additional charge).

A stray Sharpee dog hangs outside of the hotel - I think he's a stray, I don't recall a collar. But he/she seemed friendly (and hungry).

Breakfast is included. It's a small buffet but absolutely did the trick: included a small selection of juices, cereal, breads, meat/cheese, fruit, yogurt. Coffee, tea. You could pay extra and order eggs (I think).

There are two computers off of the reception area to check your email (but you have to pay if you want to actually reply or send data). Otherwise, free wifi is available.

There is a swimming pool, tennis court, small gym and sauna. There is nothing else to do in the area, but you can take the Turbus into town for 1,450 Chilean pesos (ends at the Universidad de Santiago station). The stop to take the bus is only a couple of min from the hotel.

Overall, the rate was good and the hotel served our purposes as we just needed a place to stay to catch flights the next day.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank fabavg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 607 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel is located about 10 minutes from Santiago´s International airport and offers a complimentary shuttle service.

Check-in was quick; the room clean and practical:
A small working desk; complimentary and stable internet connection;
a large and clean bathroom with a nice shower.
Unfortunately, the room had no window to open and the floor was carpeted (hygiene!).

On the -1 level, you´ll find a small gym - I wish the area would have been a big larger with some more exercise machines (not only treadmills and bikes).

A sauna is also available - but I had no time to check it out.

The corridors are clean and lighted.

Dinner:
The service in the restaurant was good: the staff was attentive.

Breakfast:
Very basic - a larger selection of fruits/bread/cooked breakfast would have been nice to have.

The place is OK to stay whenever you have a flight connection leaving very early or very late.
It´s about 30-40 minutes away from downtown Santiago - you either have your own car or take a cab - I´ve not seen any public transport from here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Another stock standard average hotel. Clean, efficient and delivers a reliable place to stay, can't go wrong. Free Internet which was quite quick! Adequate gym which would be enhanced by having towels, paper wipes, and a water dispenser. Breakfast is served from 4 AM which is useful for the early departures but the chef doesn't arrive until 7, whats with that? most bussiness people have left for work by then and i don't think there is too much tourist traffic through this place! This hotel is in the airport industrial area and offers no outside attractions. It's a pity, this is a successful chain in Chile and South America but is just very average, it does not offer anything to differentiate itself from any of the other competing hotel chains.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as recently as mid may 2013. I only stayed one night but if and when I go back to Santiago, I will definitely use it as a my base. It is in a convenient location, close to the airport but also close enough to the city. The facilities are great - thou food is a tad expensive. Nevertheless there are plenty of other places to eat in Santiago.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Transfer to and from the airport runs like a swiss watch.
All in all a good experience.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mokaonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here the night before a flight back to Canada after 30 days in-country. The hotel was great. Restaurant was convenient and really nice. After so many nights on the road staying in one quirky place after another it was a relief to end up in a place like this. Bit pricey maybe but not so bad for an airport hotel. Room was big, very quiet (well away from main roads). Seems silly but the bathroom was a real treat. Nothing special but at least there was hot water and the toilet flushed, not always the case elsewhere. Staff were great (spoke English). Parking was secure and right in front of the door. Just what one would expect from a mid-range North American Hotel. Only regret is that it took so long to find the Diego del Amagro hotel chain. They have properties in several places we stayed in Chile. If I had known about them we would have stayed there rather than all the funny little joints we ended up in.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor in the back overlooking the pool and small yard. Very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenoradave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We found this hotel vis the web tripAdvisor. It was excellent for our early 7:30 flight to Lima. The price is quite reasonable for shuttle service (on the hour / 1/2 hour -- 24 hours) to airport plus their overall facilities. For the info of travellers from Valpariso, we took a Pullman bus and the Driver let us off at the correct location where taxi's to airport or hotels are waiting. Saved $$ for taxi from city centre and AlamadamBus Terminal. Recommend this Hotel to others.

Room Tip: Had one overlooking poo.and while this Hotel is near Airport we did not hear any planes during our s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jnanayog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manquehue Aeropuerto
Hotel Manquehue Aeropuerto
#101 of 202 in Santiago
296 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Santiago Airport
0.1 mi away
City Express Santiago Aeropuerto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Santiago Airport
7.4 mi away
Hotel Panamericano
Hotel Panamericano
#55 of 202 in Santiago
1,179 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ibis Santiago Estacion Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diego de Almagro Aeropuerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diego de Almagro Aeropuerto

Address: Americo Vespucio Oriente 1299, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: $89 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diego de Almagro Aeropuerto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Diego de Almagro Aeropuerto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diego De Almagro Aeropuerto (Pudahuel) Hotel Pudahuel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing