We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel close to center of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Ranked #19 of 200 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, GA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming hotel close to center of everything”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I found this hotel to be lovely and the staff charming, friendly and helpful...from the manager to the maid!! I had a large room and bathroom..great breakfast included, and champagne upon check in! The location was perfect...near shopping and attractions.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDEATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Marketing, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Plaza San Francisco, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado:
Estamos muy agradecidos por su comentario en el sitio de TripAdvisor, nos alegra que su estadía en nuestro hotel haya sido tan gratificante, ya que nuestro principal objetivo es siempre entregar a nuestros huéspedes el mejor servicio con la más alta calidad.
Esperamos que en su próxima visita vuelva a disfrutar de los encantos de Hotel Plaza San Francisco.
Gracias nuevamente.
Saludos Cordiales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    495
    135
    35
    24
See reviews for
304
590
85
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We chose to stay at the Plaza San Francisco because of its location in the centre of the city and the promise of quite comfortable accommodation. After a very friendly welcome at reception we found our room to be extremely large, well furnished and comfortable. The sculpted ceiling was quite low, and of the two sets of glazing that covered the large window space, only one opened. This probably did not matter though as the street below was extremely busy and noisy and the air conditioning was very efficient, almost too cold. There was a very large well appointed bathroom and loads of storage space.

The bad parts: dining, both dinner and breakfast. Having driven a long way and arrived quite late we, against our better judgement, decided to eat in the dining room. This was a dreadful experience. The service was unbelievably offhand, bordering on rude, there were few other diners which should have been a warning in itself. The menu which, despite the claims on the hotel website that it changes every week, is the same today as it was when I first looked at it last November and when we were there in February - no problem if the dishes are really good, I suppose. My husband chose the wild boar stew which was dull and dry and the accompanying beans were as hard as bullets but my dish of veal fillet was totally inedible - a hard lump of dry beef with dry accompaniments, the wine reduction having gone away to nothing. To crown this the glass of red wine that I ordered and was poured by the waiter at the table was the smallest I was given anywhere in Chile. By the time we could get the waiter's attention regarding my inedible meal, I was no longer hungry and refused his offer of a replacement meal or complementary dessert and retired to the room with some peanuts and a decent glass of wine.

Breakfast was one of the worst we experienced as well. A large buffet which looked as though it might be good turned out to be extremely disappointing. Watered down juices, unripe fruit, overcooked eggs, dull bread and bad coffee. Also, the service continued to be surly and offhand. Not a good experience.

So, for a good night's sleep, this hotel is definitely worth considering, just go elsewhere to eat, even if breakfast is included in the price of the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellers-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Marketing, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Plaza San Francisco, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada:
En primer lugar agradecemos su tiempo para evaluarnos a través de TripAdvisor y lamentamos profundamente que su estadía en nuestro hotel haya sido tan desafortunada.
Le informamos que sus comentarios ya han sido derivados a las áreas correspondientes, con la finalidad de mejorar nuestro servicio, que sin duda deseamos que sea de excelencia para todos nuestros huéspedes.
Reiteramos nuevamente nuestras disculpas y quedamos muy atentos a sus requerimientos.
Saludos cordiales.
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
585 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Nice choice in a choice location. Where many guests only stay one night, either going to, or coming from, a cruise, we stayed for 6 nights. From the hotel it is a 10 minute walk to La Moneda, Plaza de Armas, and Cerro Santa Lucia Hill; 20 minutes to the Mercado Central. Easy access to the metro, via Univ. de Chile or Santa Lucia stations. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially our maid Jeanette, Miguel Ubilla at the consierge/buisness center, and the gentlemen working the reception desk when we arrived on the 16th. Our room on the 3rd floor was nice, large, and had a terrace overlooking Iglesia San Francisco and the main avenue. Being on the 3rd floor on the front of the building, there was street noise, but it didn't bother us. The noise from the band or speakers in the outside tent were more of an annoyance, but it didn't last too long. For the rooms with terraces, it would have been nice to have two chairs and a small table, so the guests could actually use the terrace. While we enjoyed ours, there wasn't much we could do with only one small chair. Some of the carpets and some wall paper were nearing the end of their useful life.

The included breakfast buffet was fine. There was plenty of fresh fruit and local breads, cereals, lunch meats, and cheese. Sometimes it was a little slow getting coffee or tea, but none of the staff was standing around doing nothing. They were always busy trying to keep up.

We arranged for two wine tours through the hotel for an entire day. We arranged for a private driver and guide rather than going through one of the tour companies, even though it was a little more expensive. We assumed the price of the tour included the entrance fees to the wineries, but found out it didn't. It did include lunch, but that ended up being nothing more than a 2 dollar empanada. Ensure you verify what all is included if booking a private driver. Our guide, Chenier, was very friendly and helpful. Although more expensive, we did save time by not having go from hotel to hotel to pick up guests throughout the city. We recommend arranging for the private service.

We noticed the hotel has a training plan in place for training new employees, ensuring they are trained to the hotel's standards. The one young lady accompanying our maid Jeanette was very friendly and courteous, as was another recently hired young lady working breakfast.

The hotel seems to be a popular location for business meetings and weddings. The day we departed, three conference/banquet rooms were set up for events and were being shown to various group of potential clients.

Overall, we had a very nice stay in Santiago and at hotel Plaza San Francisco. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again and will recommend it to anybody we know going to Santiago.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaimeelsabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Marketing, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Plaza San Francisco, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear:

Thank you very much for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor, we are happy to know that your experience was pleasant and could enjoy all the services we have for each of our guests.

Your feedback is very important to us and we will definitely serve to improve day by day in the service provided to our guests.

Again thank you very much.
Best Regards,

Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I loved the 5 star touches that I am not used to: men stationed at the front door to open it when you enter or leave, a concierge, and free sparkling wine at the front desk. My room overlooked their terrace bar, but I didn't hear any noise from it and I enjoyed the view of the snow-capped Andes looming over the city. I succumbed to the temptation of a (admittedly overpriced) pisco sour each evening in the bar where they give you free peanuts. My room was comfortable, clean, and spacious. I can hardly believe I get all this luxury for $200 a night! And I have not even mentioned the great location. I walked everywhere I wanted to go in Santiago. I would have given the hotel a full five stars except that some of the staff were a bit snooty and less the helpful (whereas others were just the opposite).

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Seventyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Marketing, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Plaza San Francisco, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Estimate:

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us, we are glad to know that you will enjoy all the services and amenities designed for each of our guests.
For us it is extremely important to know what you think each of the passengers from the hotel and which areas we need to improve service to deliver a better day.

Again thank you very much for your comments and we hope that your next visit to Chile you can enjoy the full service Hotel Plaza San Francisco.

Best Regards,
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Has to be one of the best placed hotels for exploring Santiago. It's right beside the oldest church so do visit. You can see the library (bibliotheca national) from the bedroom windows and the Cerro Santa Lucia behind it. Both good landmarks for what is about a 15 minute walk to the centre and the plaza del arms. There is a supermarket three minutes away across the street. Ask the doorman who will direct you. Buy water there as the hotel prices are extreme. But the staff especially the bellboys are so pleasant. Welcome glass of sparkling wine is a nice touch. Breakfasts are ok, bit chaotic and very slow to get coffees, we ended up serving ourselves which wasn't commented on. We had one dinner there which was very good indeed. Lovely fish, well cooked and presented. Delicious Chilean wine. We would go back. Weather was great. It's a shame there is no outside seating ares although they do have a nice terrace where we had drinks one evening. I don't think it's open in the daytime. A missed opportunity in my view as sitting in the sun with a glass if vino is one of my favourite pastimes

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side overlooking the church for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Marketing, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Plaza San Francisco, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for leaving your feedback on Tripadvisor, we are happy enough to know his stay with us met their expectations and enjoy our services.
Every criticism and review left for us is fundamental to keep improving every day and so provide a better service to each guest.

I want to thank again your time and we hope your next visit to Chile again enjoy all the services of our Hotel.

Best Regards,
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Free parking in the heart of the city drew us to this hotel. The prime location is near the convent, Pre-Columbian Museum, Plaza de Armas, Moneda Palace, etc. Our service was excellent, and views from our upper floor room provided views of the Andes! Although the lobby looks dark and rather dated and worn, the cleanliness is excellent. Interesting breakfast buffet full of variety. You will be pleased with your stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with a view--the Andes are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathyindenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Marketing, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Plaza San Francisco, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for letting us know your opinion and help us deliver better service to our guests and customers.
We are glad that his stay was to your liking and you could enjoy all our services.

Again thank you for your comment and hope that next trip to Chile ensu re enjoyment of Hotel Plaza San Francisco.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is a beautiful older hotel in the heart of Santiago, downtown area. The suite was super nice and comfortable and the breakfast was great. The staff was very helpful and professional. Not sure of the cost.

Room Tip: The corner suites are larger and face out on the street. i.e. 501-901 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loopeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Marketing, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Plaza San Francisco, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Estimate:

Thank you very much for your comment, it gives us great pleasure to know that his stay with us was to your liking and that the service provided is well received.

In our Hotel we know is very important to know each reviewer of our guests and customers, and to improve day to day based on these reviews is fundamental.

Again thank you for your review and we hope your next visit to Chile again enjoy all the comfort and service of Hotel Plaza San Francisco.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Crowne Plaza Santiago
#45 of 200 in Santiago
1,204 reviews
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
#8 of 200 in Santiago
918 reviews
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#3 of 200 in Santiago
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
NH Ciudad de Santiago
NH Ciudad de Santiago
#56 of 200 in Santiago
1,440 reviews
Mercure Santiago Centro
#67 of 200 in Santiago
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza San Francisco

Property: Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Address: Av. Libertador Bernardo O'Higgins 816, Santiago 8330097, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Centro Histórico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santiago
#5 Spa Hotel in Santiago
#11 Family Hotel in Santiago
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#19 Business Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plaza San Francisco is the only sustainable five star Hotel in downtown Santiago. Known for its excellent and warm service with 27 years of experience, our Hotel is the perfect destination for your pleasure and business trips. With 146 comfortable and spacious rooms that will allow you to have the desired rest you are looking for, so you can enjoy all the tourist and historical attractions of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza San Francisco Santiago
Plaza San Francisco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing