We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean with great staff hotel”
Review of Kennedy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kennedy Hotel
Ranked #43 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel was probably built during the 70's. It was 5 stars for sure at that time. Nowadays it shows some aging, so 4 stars would be more suitable. This said, It's clean, good breakfast, has very courteous staff and in walking distance to Parque Arauco, a big mall with outside restaurants, large food court and lots of shops. I found the location not so great if you don't have a car.

One great thing is that we had a 7 PM flight, and they gave us a 3:30 PM late check out, at not extra cost.

My only complaint is that one day we came back at 4 PM, to find that the room has not been serviced. But a call to front desk promply resolved the issue.

In all I highly recommend this hotel. Just don't expect the luxury of a 5 star.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pablo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea R, General Manager at Kennedy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for taking the time to share your review about our hotel with the TripAdvisor community. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We are constantly renovating our hotel to always meet our clients expectations. We appreciate your feedback and welcome your comments.

Shall your travel plans bring you back to Santiago we certainly hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Andrea Ramírez Vera.

Sub Gerente General / Assistant General Manager.
Gerente Comercial / Commercial Manager.

Teléfono: (56 2) 2290 8131
E-mail: aramirez@hotelkennedychile.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
There are newer reviews for Kennedy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 974 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a perfect hotel in Santiago if you want to avoid the US$400 and up range. It feels 5 star, service is first class, wonderful location, and everything is very clean. Highly recommended for a short business trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazap0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea R, General Manager at Kennedy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for your kind words and for sharing them with the TripAdvisor community. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. It was our pleasure having you as our guest.

Yes, we are indeed a 5 stars hotel with very reasonable rates. Shall your travel plans bring you back to Santiago we certainly hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Andrea Ramírez Vera.

Sub Gerente General / Assistant General Manager.
Gerente Comercial / Commercial Manager.

Teléfono: (56 2) 2290 8131
E-mail: aramirez@hotelkennedychile.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel was located in a great position close to shopping malls and restaurants, and with good transport opportunities. Staff were obliging and courteous despite our language being English. The room was clean and well appointed and serviced daily. Breakfast meals were very good and restaurant service excellent. Enjoyed our stay there..which was four days.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea R, General Manager at Kennedy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community. We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was truly our pleasure having you staying with us.

Shall your travel plans bring you back to Santiago we hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Andrea Ramírez Vera.

Sub Gerente General / Assistant General Manager.
Gerente Comercial / Commercial Manager.

Teléfono: (56 2) 2290 8131
E-mail: aramirez@hotelkennedychile.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is in a really good area, with walking distance to the metro. The area feels much more safer than central santiago. It is really close to one of the best malls in Santiago, which has alot of restaurants outside.

The rooms are quite confortable, the cable tv is really good and even has HBO. You can get in-room wifi, but you have to pay it.

The pool, although a little small, is very nice, it is really clean and has these sculptures in the side, quite an experience.

Everything in this hotel is perfectly clean, and the breakfast room is really big, and beautifully decored.

I would totally come back to this hotel next time I'm on Santiago.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea R, General Manager at Kennedy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for your kind words and for sharing them with the TripAdvisor community. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. Yes, our location is definitely among the best ones in Town, especially with the Parque Arauco Mall within walking distance in just minutes.

Also, since a couple of years ago our WiFi is now free in the rooms as well all the public areas of the hotel.

We hope to see back back in the near future.

Best,

Andrea Ramírez Vera.

Sub Gerente General / Assistant General Manager.
Gerente Comercial / Commercial Manager.

Teléfono: (56 2) 2290 8131
E-mail: aramirez@hotelkennedychile.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Bed: large king that was very comfortable and soft enough. Reading lamps were good and tv excellent. Lots of large pillows!
Room 505: corner room was great as it had 2 windows on 2 different walls. The noise was minimal, windows open to get fresh air and one also had pool view. High class and quiet neighborhood. Lights: these are bright fluorescent but at first they start up very slowly from a dim level.
Bathroom: large with 2 sinks. Tub was usual size but had standard and aging fixtures though not in poor condition. Shower curtain was on a curved tube for extra room inside. Very bright lighting as well.

Restaurant: very good food and better service. Many staff on hand to provide quick and professional 5 star service. Room service was also quick. Bfast is buffet and a good one but they will make an omelette or cappuccino upon request.
Gym: very good and clean. Mid-sized with a small indoor pool.
Area: there are no shops just nearby so a short walk gets you across Av Vespucio to a block full of restaurants on Alonso de Cordoba. Mall is 10 min walk to Parque Arauco with loads of eating choices. Up to the north are small deli's, laundry, bakery, etc.

Overall: 5 star service at front desk; lightning fast response on my call to pick up laundry; and all seemed friendly and efficient. Doormen always there to open and greet. I was impressed with Hotel Kennedy and I enjoy the mid-sized property. Décor is understated and traditional that makes one feel at home. It has a top-level service and an intimate feel to it.

Room Tip: Corner room with pool view is best.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JES006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrearamirez, Gerente at Kennedy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest;

We are very pleased to learn that you had a good experience staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and our rooms. We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to share your thoughts and impressions about our hotel.
We will be very pleased to host you in the near future.
Kind regards
Andrea Ramírez Vera.

Sub Gerente General / Assistant General Manager.
Gerente Comercial / Commercial Manager.

Teléfono: (56 2) 2290 8131
E-mail: aramirez@hotelkennedychile.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed a few nights at the hotel and have absolutely no complaints. We arrived early and were given a complimentary drink while waiting for our room. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were generous in size, clean and comfortable. There were two pools, a restuarant, free computers, business centre and more. The hotel organises cabs to the airport. The breakfast was good, with quite a variety. The only complaint would be while they advertise the exchange rate, they do not do currency exchange. The location was safe, clean and quiet, with a shopping centre only a couple of minutes walk away which had a variety of shops, restuarants, supermarket, currency exchange and the hop on hop off bus stop right there too. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heusm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrearamirez, Gerente at Kennedy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest
We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us, we take great care in every detail to make our guests feel comfortable. We are pleased to know that you had a great experience at our hotel. We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to share your thoughts and impressions about our service and facilities. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Kennedy.
Best regards.
Andrea Ramírez Vera.

Sub Gerente General / Assistant General Manager.
Gerente Comercial / Commercial Manager.

Teléfono: (56 2) 2290 8131
E-mail: aramirez@hotelkennedychile.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Hotel Kennedy boasts spacious rooms and comfy beds. The breakfast is great and Arauco Parque Mall is right across the freeway.

Beware, this hotel is a rip off. Booking prices are very competitive but at the same time you will be microcharged for all the amenities that should be part of a 5 star experience. Sauna, not included and 8500CLP for a 30 min session. Hence no one ever uses it and it's cooled down all the time. So if booked allow for another 4 hours to heat it up first. Hotel policies state that you cannot use the pool without a bathing cap which is neither nesecary nor useful but enforced by hotel staff, collecting 3500CLP on the spot for yet another gimmick. Also, avoid ordering food at the bar in the afternoon, you might get a fridge temperature prefried hamburger for an exorbitant price. That said, Kennedy is not per se a bad hotel, but never ever deserves to bear 5 stars. Due to pushy service with micro charging and so called hotel policies you don't feel like a valued guest but like an asset.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Centaury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrearamirez, Gerente at Kennedy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest;
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment about our hotel. We are pleased that our infrastructure and our location were according to your expectations. We regret that we were not able to meet your needs in the other areas. Regarding to the charges for the use of the SPA and bathing cap, please note that there are rates that include the use of those services for free. The sauna is for private use and it is switch on only by request.

About our Restaurant, we are renowned for offering a high standard cuisine, nevertheless we will review your case with our kitchen team. Thank you again for your review, it helps us to improve our standard.
With kind regards,
Andrea Ramírez Vera.

Sub Gerente General / Assistant General Manager.
Gerente Comercial / Commercial Manager.

Teléfono: (56 2) 2290 8131
E-mail: aramirez@hotelkennedychile.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
#8 of 202 in Santiago
935 reviews
Las Condes
Courtyard Santiago Las Condes
Vitacura
Novotel Santiago Vitacura
Novotel Santiago Vitacura
#53 of 202 in Santiago
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regal Pacific Hotel
#22 of 202 in Santiago
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennedy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennedy Hotel

Address: Avenida Kennedy 4570 | Vitacura, Santiago 6682132, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Vitacura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#21 Business Hotel in Santiago
#21 Family Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: $101 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kennedy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location. Kennedy Hotel, located in Vitacura, in the city of Santiago de Chile, has a beautiful view, close to the mountains surrounding the capital, allowing better access to shopping and top-level ski. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kennedy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennedy Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing