We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Kennedy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kennedy Hotel
Ranked #46 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed a few nights at the hotel and have absolutely no complaints. We arrived early and were given a complimentary drink while waiting for our room. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were generous in size, clean and comfortable. There were two pools, a restuarant, free computers, business centre and more. The hotel organises cabs to the airport. The breakfast was good, with quite a variety. The only complaint would be while they advertise the exchange rate, they do not do currency exchange. The location was safe, clean and quiet, with a shopping centre only a couple of minutes walk away which had a variety of shops, restuarants, supermarket, currency exchange and the hop on hop off bus stop right there too. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heusm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrearamirez, Gerente at Kennedy Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest
We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us, we take great care in every detail to make our guests feel comfortable. We are pleased to know that you had a great experience at our hotel. We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to share your thoughts and impressions about our service and facilities. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Kennedy.
Best regards.
Andrea Ramírez Vera.

Sub Gerente General / Assistant General Manager.
Gerente Comercial / Commercial Manager.

Teléfono: (56 2) 2290 8131
E-mail: aramirez@hotelkennedychile.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    401
    82
    20
    8
See reviews for
202
410
39
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Hotel Kennedy boasts spacious rooms and comfy beds. The breakfast is great and Arauco Parque Mall is right across the freeway.

Beware, this hotel is a rip off. Booking prices are very competitive but at the same time you will be microcharged for all the amenities that should be part of a 5 star experience. Sauna, not included and 8500CLP for a 30 min session. Hence no one ever uses it and it's cooled down all the time. So if booked allow for another 4 hours to heat it up first. Hotel policies state that you cannot use the pool without a bathing cap which is neither nesecary nor useful but enforced by hotel staff, collecting 3500CLP on the spot for yet another gimmick. Also, avoid ordering food at the bar in the afternoon, you might get a fridge temperature prefried hamburger for an exorbitant price. That said, Kennedy is not per se a bad hotel, but never ever deserves to bear 5 stars. Due to pushy service with micro charging and so called hotel policies you don't feel like a valued guest but like an asset.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Centaury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrearamirez, Gerente at Kennedy Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest;
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment about our hotel. We are pleased that our infrastructure and our location were according to your expectations. We regret that we were not able to meet your needs in the other areas. Regarding to the charges for the use of the SPA and bathing cap, please note that there are rates that include the use of those services for free. The sauna is for private use and it is switch on only by request.

About our Restaurant, we are renowned for offering a high standard cuisine, nevertheless we will review your case with our kitchen team. Thank you again for your review, it helps us to improve our standard.
With kind regards,
Andrea Ramírez Vera.

Sub Gerente General / Assistant General Manager.
Gerente Comercial / Commercial Manager.

Teléfono: (56 2) 2290 8131
E-mail: aramirez@hotelkennedychile.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in two days based on good reviews by TripAdvisor. We were very pleased about this hotel. it is clean, and friendly staff. We walked 10 minutes to a nearby shopping center (a new and big one) to get on the hop-on and hop-off bus to tour the major attractions in the city. Although the hotel is not located in the center part of the city, but it is in a nice residential neighborhood and close to the shopping center. We took the van provided by the hotel to the airport. It probably costed a little more ($46 usd for two people), but it is convenient, safe, and paid with a credit card to the hotel. Keep in mind, most taxi drivers don't speak English, and don' t take American money. The happy hour provided by the hotel is also a good deal. Less the $20, you get two drinks and buffet appetizers and deserts. Try it, and you like it. The hotel is under exterior improvement; thus, you may not get the best impression from outside, but inside, it is pretty good for the money.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor(above 10).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blayfountainvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrearamirez, Gerente at Kennedy Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest
We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to share your thoughts and impressions about our service and facilities of our hotel, we are also pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay.

Thank you very much for your preference and we would be glad to welcoming you back in the future.
With kind regards,

Andrea Ramírez Vera.

Sub Gerente General / Assistant General Manager.
Gerente Comercial / Commercial Manager.

Teléfono: (56 2) 2290 8131
E-mail: aramirez@hotelkennedychile.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
492 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Decided to stay here as a special farewell treat after two months of largely backpacking. While rated as a five star hotel, I had in fact, received much better service, at a fraction of the cost, from almost all of two and three star hotels I had stayed in, while travelling. The outer appearance is glitzy, but the quality of service is poor to average. There was no airport shuttle service, other than a hotel fixed, much overpriced taxi, or even a shuttle service into the city. The concierge appeared unwilling to be of any assistance (perhaps because I was not in formal attire), and when pressed for information, was given incorrect details anyway.
Located well away from the city centre, you have to either catch a taxi, or utilize the turistica bus, both of which can be very expensive options (if arranged by the hotel). If a taxi is desired, you are better to walk up the road to a nearby mall, and hail one from there.
Rooms are spacious and comfortable, with one or two additions (such as an extra bathroom basin), which may not be found in an average hotel room, but otherwise nothing particularly remarkable.
Because of its location, one might also feel “forced” to eat at the hotel restaurant. However, the mall up the road does offer a considerably greater variety of food, at more reasonable prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrearamirez, Gerente at Kennedy Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your feedback, this comments are very valuable for us in order to keep and improve our service and facilities.

Before any further comment, I would like to kindly ask you to accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenient you have had during your stay at our property.


If you are coming back to Santiago and decide to give us another opportunity, please do not hesitate in contact us. It is important for us every guest leaves with a good experience.

Again, please accept our most sincerely apologies,
Sincerely,

Andrea Ramírez Vera.

Sub Gerente General / Assistant General Manager.
Gerente Comercial / Commercial Manager.

Teléfono: (56 2) 2290 8131
E-mail: aramirez@hotelkennedychile.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Really Good Value.
Extremely convenient location for both business and leisure travels.
Comfortable rooms, good shower and all expected amenities from a hotel of this class. High speed Internet working properly on the rooms and a small desk for those “on duty”.
Savvy and courteous staff, and a nice breakfast selection.
Considering overall prices in Santiago, this is a very good option in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vmazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrearamirez, Gerente at Kennedy Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to share your thoughts and impressions about the hotel and enjoyed most of our facilities. We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It would be a great honor for us to welcoming you back to Hotel Kennedy.

With kind regards,
Andrea Ramírez Vera.

Sub Gerente General / Assistant General Manager.
Gerente Comercial / Commercial Manager.

Teléfono: (56 2) 2290 8131
E-mail: aramirez@hotelkennedychile.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Kennedy Hotel was a great find; the room was spacious and clean and the staff friendly and welcoming. A modern mall is in walking distance and offers an array of good dining options. The heart of Santiago is only a short drive away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrearamirez, Gerente at Kennedy Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are very pleased when we receive a feedback such as yours. We are also proud to know you enjoyed your stay as much as our location in our hotel. We work very hard every day to offer a good service to every guest in our hotel. Hopefully we will be able to be welcoming you back to Santiago in the future.
Sincerely,
Andrea Ramírez Vera.

Sub Gerente General / Assistant General Manager.
Gerente Comercial / Commercial Manager.

Teléfono: (56 2) 2290 8131
E-mail: aramirez@hotelkennedychile.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is excellent! I have two things that bothered me. The hotel is not near downtown. It is a $10 taxi ride to town. It is, however, just a short walk to the mall (which is beautiful). The other complaint I have is that the breakfast buffet left something to be desired. The eggs are really under cooked and the sausage seemed more like mystery meat. On the last day I discovered that they will cook eggs to order if you ask one of the servers. The fried eggs still wiggled at bit but were way better than the so called scrambled eggs. Now the good stuff. Great room. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Great staff. Good bar. And most surprisingly was the restaurant for dinner. Not to be missed. It is absolutely fabulous. Even when we had a group of about 16 the food came out perfect. The prices are in line with any other restaurant. If you choose not to eat at the hotel there are lots of choices at the mall (PF Changs, Fridays, etc). You can also catch the Hop On - Hop Off tour bus in the mall parking lot. I have no trouble recommending this hotel and if I didn't prefer being closer to downtown I would definitely stay here again. Santiago is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat.kight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrearamirez, Gerente at Kennedy Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, comments like this helps us to improve our service and facilities. , we are very pleased to know you enjoyed our facilities and location and I would like to apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during breakfast.
Thanks for your comments, sincerely,
Andrea Ramírez Vera.

Sub Gerente General / Assistant General Manager.
Gerente Comercial / Commercial Manager.

Teléfono: (56 2) 2290 8131
E-mail: aramirez@hotelkennedychile.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Las Condes
Courtyard Santiago Las Condes
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
#7 of 196 in Santiago
897 reviews
Vitacura
Novotel Santiago Vitacura
Novotel Santiago Vitacura
#54 of 196 in Santiago
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Director Hotel - Vitacura
#26 of 196 in Santiago
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennedy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennedy Hotel

Property: Kennedy Hotel
Address: Avenida Kennedy 4570 | Vitacura, Santiago 6682132, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Vitacura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#21 Business Hotel in Santiago
#21 Family Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kennedy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location. Kennedy Hotel, located in Vitacura, in the city of Santiago de Chile, has a beautiful view, close to the mountains surrounding the capital, allowing better access to shopping and top-level ski. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kennedy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennedy Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing