We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrived New Years Eve - Just Spectacular With a big Christmas Tree and Parties”
Review of Hotel Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santiago
Ranked #44 of 200 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Arrived New Years Eve - Just Spectacular With a big Christmas Tree and Parties”
Reviewed January 15, 2011

The Hyatt in Santiago is a gorgeous hotel. The lobby is stunning and the views on the high floors were incredible. The hotel is mostly glass and had panaramic views everywhere. We stayed on the club floor in a Junior Suite and we had no complaints at all with our room except the shower stall weird and leaked.

The concierge were very helpful and set us up with a great wine tour and helped us get acquainted with Santiago. I agree with others that the breakfast was surprisingly unimpressive with no hot foods and really very little. The cocktail hour was good though with sushi, and some nice desserts. They did have free WIFI but it was difficult to connect and they would shut it down at 10:00 which became inconvenient. The gym was very nice with good equipment and very clean and was included in the room price. We ate at the Japanese restaurant and while it has a beautiful atmosphere, the food was mediocre. We also ordered room service twice. We had New Years Eve in the room and that was very nice. Beware of the hotel taxis as they cost $20 or $30 more than just hailing a meter taxi from the street which is very easy to do. Lastly, the hotel had an amazing shop on the ground floor for Jewelry and gifts with very reasonable prices and beautiful items. The pool area was very nice although we did not have a chance to relax there.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    529
    184
    65
    55
See reviews for
390
742
96
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We were upgraded to the executive floor. If you can do this, it is incredible. There were absolutely gourmet hors d'oeuvres from 5 pm to 8pm, with lots of wine. Well-presented and really good. The included breakfast buffet on the executive floor was wonderful. Everything about both the cocktail hour and breakfast was great.

I can't figure out why there were negative reviews of this hotel. It is much nicer than I expected from a Hyatt. It has a beautiful pool area....you feel totally isolated from the city. Our room was excellent with a spectacular view of Santiago. I have no complaints at all, except maybe the price of a beer by the pool. However, when you consider where you are when you are ordering it, it does seem worth it (almost!).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helene123Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We were very tired when we arrived from Montreal. A very long uncomfortable flight on American Airlines. Although we arrived way before check in they were extremely gracious, and were were fortunate that they found us a room so that we could spend some time unwinding. The check in was fast and pleasant and within minutes our bags were in our room. We opened our blinds to a spectacular view of the Andes behind us. We could not figure out why they had a couch facing the window steps below the bed area. As the day and evening proceeded it became clear. The light kept changing and the skyline went from a light golden to a warm rose. We couldn't seem to leave the room as the scene was spectacular. What a way to start our holiday. I would recommend trying to get a room with this view if possible. The pool area is lovely and the food was quite good. Chilean wine is wonderful!! We loved the location as well. Staff couldn't have been nicer. Would highly recommend this hotel and we can't wait to get back to see more of Chile. By the way they recommended a restaurant not too far away ..Puerto Fuy. It was delicious and well worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0yful58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela24c
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

This hotel was comfortable, but it was not what we expected for a 5 star hotel. Upon our arrival, our room was not ready so the receptionist treated us to lunch in the Atrium - unfortunately, during checkout, we had to speed 10 minutes convincing another staff member the lunch was not supposed to be billed to us. The room itself was very nice. The bed was comfortable, the view was amazing. The bathroom however was a different story. The toilet would not stop running, the scale did not work, the tub would not drain properly and the amount of mold in the shower was disturbing. Our mini-fridge also did not work, so on our way out we asked the front desk to have the issues fixed. That night we received a bottle of wine and found the toilet and the mini-fridge fixed. The tub still did not drain properly, so we ended up fixing it ourselves. And when the house cleaners came the next day, they did not attend to the mold problem.
We ate in the hotel several times - twice with room service and twice in the Italian restaurant downstairs. The room service was great. We recommend the Spicy Beef Thai Salad, yum! The Italian restaurant for dinner was fabulous, we recommend the Manchego Cheese ravioli. The breakfast in the Italian restaurant however was VERY disappointing. No eggs, no water (unless you pay for it), the fruit was sour, etc....
We also went to the spa on our day of arrival. I have been to many 5 star hotels and accompanying spas, and I must say this is the worst. First, we scheduled two massages and were told to come early to enjoy the relaxing atmosphere. Unfortunately, the spa and the health club are in the same bldg, so the music from the aerobics class could be heard in the lounge room - we felt like we were in a techno night club! Also, there was really nothing else to enjoy in the spa. They have a sauna, but no other accompaniments. The dressing/locker rooms are not at all nice, they don't provide robes etc. Our massage was wonderful. The room was quite, warm, and comfortable. and the masseuse was very attentive to specific needs. Afterward, we were given wonderful team. This tea was so good, we wanted to purchase some however they don't sell it - again disappointing!
All in all, I would say this was an OK hotel but a lot of improvements are needed if they want to live up to the 5 star rating.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela24c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We were very disappointed with our experience at this hotel. Staff at check-in were, frankly, cold and unhelpful (unlike in most other hotels I've stayed in in Chile). On reaching our room there was a problem with the heating system and the room was stifling, The porter immediately went to get it sorted but the senior staff member who came to check it out couldn't have been less helpful. We were told it would take an hour to resolve (it was early evening) and as we couldn't wait in the room we were sent to the lobby without an offer of even a coffee to pass the hour while we waited. Staff at checkout were again cold - although the waiter who served us in the restaurant was very helpful and friendly and the dining experience was the only positive thing about our stay.
Unfortunately this hotel is not worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bairbre74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This is my 4th stay at the Grand Hyatt. I've been to the Ritz Carlton and Kennedy hotel and I always go back to the Hyatt due to its location and the quality of the rooms. This time I found the staff to be very polite, especially the doormen and the concierge. If there is still one thing which I don't like (and the Ritz Carlton and the Kennedy are far better than the Hyatt in this aspect) is the breakfast buffet. I still don't understand why there can't be toasters for us to toast our bread as well as juice jugs for self service. On two different days I asked for toasts and scrambled eggs and the eggs came like 10 minutes later and the toasts came much later (when the eggs were already cold) and both times they were burnt! This time I asked for a rate without breakfast and went elsewhere as I couldn't eat there. However, the hotel is still the best located hotel in Santiago and the rooms are the best. If I decide to return there and not to the Ritz Carlton, I would definetly ask for a rate without breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Most Hyatt's try but this one tries harder. From the doorman's smile "Hi Guys!" to the concierge and reception, restaurant staff and room service. the people are what stand out in this hotel. I mean, the building is lovely. The grounds gorgeous. The food excellent. But having the attention to detail by the staff made our stay just perfect. They booked a tour at 8 oclock at night for 8 the next day, no problem. The complimentary bottle of wine in the room was such a nice touch. The room its self was well appointed and I especially like the sunken sitting area and the separated bath/sink/toilet design. We stolled 3 blocks over to the mall several times for great meals and shopping too. If you are going to Santiago, and I recommend you do, stay at the Hyatt.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthCuritiba_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Las Condes
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
#17 of 200 in Santiago
1,359 reviews
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
#8 of 200 in Santiago
920 reviews
Santiago Marriott Hotel
#27 of 200 in Santiago
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Las Condes
W Santiago
W Santiago
#41 of 200 in Santiago
1,683 reviews
Vitacura
Noi Vitacura
Noi Vitacura
#30 of 200 in Santiago
779 reviews
Las Condes
Courtyard Santiago Las Condes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santiago

Property: Hotel Santiago
Address: Avenida Presidente Kennedy 4601, Santiago, Chile (Formerly Grand Hyatt Santiago)
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santiago
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#6 Family Hotel in Santiago
#12 Spa Hotel in Santiago
#22 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Santiago 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Mandarin Oriental, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Santiago Hotel Santiago
Hyatt Santiago
Santiago Grand Hyatt
Santiago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing