We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, rooms need a little renovation”
Review of Hotel Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santiago
Ranked #44 of 200 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel, rooms need a little renovation”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel is still pretty good, specially for kids. The only complain is that the rooms are exactly the same they were 30 yrs ago... They do look run down and everything in the room is old. Space is the room great though (think that every room has a small living room with views of the mountains or the city). Staff was helpful and nice. The bar close to the lobby was great for drinks before going out for dinner. Breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STIM_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hotel Santiago, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your honest feedback on your family trip to Santiago in July. We very much appreciate it.
It's great to read that you liked the friendliness of our associates and our large, split level rooms with mountain views.
Our 21 year old hotel had it's last major room renovation in 2004/5 and I am pleased to let you know that we are approaching a major renovation of all rooms and public areas in 2014.
It will be a pleasure to have you and your family back with us soon.
with kind regards
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    529
    184
    65
    55
See reviews for
390
742
96
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family just spent 3 miserable nights at this hotel. The hotel was dirty, the staff was rude and management lacked any follow through.

The hotel was very dirty. The lobby smelled of grease at all times. We had a late dinner in the room the first night The staff failed to remove the dirty dishes from that meal until midnight the next evening - following three complaints to the front desk and one complaint to the manager.

The bathroom in the suite had no door, so showering was in plain sight to all in the room - not good when traveling with children.

I generally stay at the Ritz Carlton when in Santiago, but thought I would give the Grand Hyatt a try. Terrible hotel. Terrible staff. Horrible experience. A mistake that will not be repeated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CTMMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hotel Santiago, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your review about your stay in July. I am sorry that we were not able to measure up to your expectations during your stay as we tried to address your concerns as much as possible before you left.
I wish we could get another opportunity to show you that the Grand Hyatt Santiago team is more than capable to provide excellent guest service and deserves the many good reviews we are getting from our guests.

I know that you did not feel that way and can only ask again for giving us another opportunity. Should you decide to do so please feel free to contact me directly.

With kind regards
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here twice towards the end of 2012. The hotel is in a great location - very close to two malls and many places to eat and drink. The service is very good, public spaces are beautiful, and the rooms are bright and spacious with lots of room to stretch out. Overall a very nice property. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLD2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hotel Santiago, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your feedback and excellent review of your December stay with us.
We very much appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience and it is an enormous motivator for our team to know that you had a great stay and very much enjoyed our facilities.
It will be a honor to welcome you back at your next stay in Santiago and thank you for all your support and loyalty.
With kind regards
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The lobby and views were spectacular! And the pool was a plus for us since we were on our honeymoon and spent a lot of time relaxing by the pool. Our room was amazing, with views of the Andes and an elevated bed so you could wake up to the view. We loved our room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hotel Santiago, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest
First and foremost, Thank You for choosing us as a hotel during your honeymoon. What an honor!
We are thrilled to read that you loved your room and our ´´Urban Oasis´´ the gardens and pool which we are very proud of.
I can only hope that you will visit us again soon and hopefully by the latest at your 1st year anniversary.
With kind regards
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel building is excellent, location is good also. Service is very good and attentive, breakfast is very good. Beautiful pool area, and good restaurants.The rooms are very nice, split level, with a magnificent view to the Andes. What surprised me was that I found the overall decoration and setting of the hotel in general very outdated, and particularly the rooms need an overall renovation, bathrooms are not state of the art. In general it´s good, but I expected much more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hotel Santiago, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us, we much appreciate it.
I would also like to thank you for your honesty and candid observations.
I am thrilled about your comments about our services and the product overall, it means a lot to the team.
In regards to the decor, I am happy share with you that we are embarking on a major renovation in the very near future and your concerns should definitely be addressed.
I sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
With kind regards
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

3 night stay for business. Check- in was very efficient and room was very good. Comfortable bed, mini-living room area with sofa, arm chair and coffee table. Bathroom well appointed. Generally I was very pleased with the room, comfort levels and view. Weather did not permit use of pool and garden but looks like it would be fabulous in the summer. Gym facilities also very good.
Now for the bad.... breakfast was a disaster. Not for the food on offer... the range was good, with the standar egg-station, missed the pancakes/french toast, but perhaps just didn't see them. The problem however is the restaurante is tiny for the the size of the hotel and it seemed to be seriously understaffed. At weekends a 15 minute wait for a table and the queue going out the door. In the week I had breakfast very early so I don't know if this is also happening on weekdays, but I imagine so.

Some tables were empty but just not enough staff to clear them fast enough. I just do not expect to have to be told to wait in the lobby to be called to be able to have breakfast. And when finally seated, it took another 10 minutes to get waiters attention to request tea/coffee/juice. All drinks must be requested, there is no self-service for beverages, so I was sat waiting with food getting cold trying to ask for a drink. I honestly do not think it is due to the waiting staff themselves, it seemed like the restaurant was terribly understaffed and far too small for the number of rooms the hotel has.

In spite of this, I would go back for the comfortable room and good gym and hopefully by the time I return next year they will have got the breakfast situation a bit more together.
Would have been four or even five points but the breakfast thing was just a let-down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan79Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hotel Santiago, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your very candid and honest feedback which we really appreciate.
Thank you so much for highlighting all the positive points about our product, which we are very proud of.
Your comments about the breakfast service have been well noted and received and I can assure you that we have been looking at the points you raised in a very detailed manner very closely. It is the only way for us to really follow up on our guests experiences and I sincerely thank you for bringing it to our attention.
I hope that on your next stay you will notice a difference and if there is anything of concern please feel free to contact me any time.
With kind regards and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Santiago is a dust bowl, and the Grand Hyatt has its own luxurious garden and swimming pool.
It is just such a relief to see green spaces and cool off.
Because its an older style hotel, the room are spacious.
We stayed three times in January, in different room categories each time.
All were good, the suites were spacious, and the club rooms well designed with seperate living and sitting spaces and a pleasant outlook towards the Andes.
The club itself was good with a variety of selections for breakfast and canapés.
The hotel car service was excellent allowing smooth transitions to and from the airport at odd times of nights. International flights leave late of night and into the early hours of morning, so this is helpful.
The one problem was that they could not manage international posting requests. This could be improved.
Good Japanese and Italian restaurants in house, and a spa that is responsive to last minute requests.
Service was fairly good overall.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PFoggSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hotel Santiago, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your recent review about your stay back in January and thank you particularly for staying with us three time, we really appreciate it.
it is wonderful and reassuring to read about all the details your have noticed and give us all energy and motivation to continue on working hard to exceed guest expectations every day.
We are also very proud of our product and in particular the outdoor spaces, our own ´´Urban Oasis´´, and spacious rooms and your confirmation of the same is truely appreciated.
Hoping that we will soon get another opportunity to welcome you back.
With kind regards
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Las Condes
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
#17 of 200 in Santiago
1,359 reviews
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
#8 of 200 in Santiago
920 reviews
Santiago Marriott Hotel
#27 of 200 in Santiago
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Las Condes
W Santiago
W Santiago
#41 of 200 in Santiago
1,683 reviews
Vitacura
Noi Vitacura
Noi Vitacura
#30 of 200 in Santiago
779 reviews
Las Condes
Courtyard Santiago Las Condes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santiago

Property: Hotel Santiago
Address: Avenida Presidente Kennedy 4601, Santiago, Chile (Formerly Grand Hyatt Santiago)
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#6 Business Hotel in Santiago
#6 Family Hotel in Santiago
#12 Spa Hotel in Santiago
#22 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Santiago 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Mandarin Oriental, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Santiago Hotel Santiago
Hyatt Santiago
Santiago Grand Hyatt
Santiago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing