We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Santiago”
Review of Hotel Galerias

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Galerias
Ranked #72 of 204 Hotels in Santiago
Reviewed December 30, 2013

- The hotel is well located: if you want to stay in the center of Santiago and close to many of the city attractions. You can go on feet to most turistical places. But if you want a quiet neighborhood it's not a good pick, cause the downtown city is really crowded all the time.
- Nice breakfast: not over the top, but a good one, with reasonable variety.
- Very good accommodations: we stayed in room 906 which had double beds and plenty of space, really comfortable beds, nice bathroom, in room safe and a LED tv.
- Staff: was ok, most of them speak portuguese or at least a "portunhol" ("portuspanish") that is understandable for those who dont speak their language. Most of them were not too cozy or too willing to help (except for the cleaning lady, who was very helpful and nice when we had a problem with our room key), but I have no complaints because all of them were very polite.
- All in all I recommend it and would stay there again, unless I didnt want to stay in downtown city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank luli8nha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Manager at Hotel Galerias, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios en tripadvidor,
Saludos Hotel Galerias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 944 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

stayed for 1 night after a 2 weeks cruise, room is okay and spacious, check-in was quick and receptionist was very helpful in pointing out places to go to. taxi to airport was convenient and driver was courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: arrange for the hotel taxi to pick up or bring to airport as it is clean and reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onillig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Manager at Hotel Galerias, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, esperamos que cuente con nosotros para una próxima visita a Chile
Saludos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

After travelling 25 hrs to get there we asked if there was somewhere that we could freshen up, use the toilet and have something to eat. They allowed us to use the bathroom downstairs which was great, but nobody bothered to tell us that there was a large foyer, 2 restaurants, bar, pool and toilets on another level of the hotel where we could have relaxed. So we had to stay downstairs go and find our own restaurant on the streets, change money and come back in an hour or so when our room was ready. This was extremely disappointing.

Yes, the red headed women at reception looked bored to death and didn't look she wanted to be working there, everything was a burden to her, didn't smile or say a word. Give the job to someone who wants to be there. The men at the desk were very very helpful and so was the concierge. They made up for her easily.

The food and service at the restaurant was excellent, but do book as we noticed people just seem to come off the street and go there to have dinner. We also had to leave really early in the morning and they prepared us a light breakfast which was much appreciated.

It's a great location, but yes very noisy as traffic is heavy. We also found that security was lacking at the front door and anybody could walk into the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Manager at Hotel Galerias, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por dejar sus opiniones en nuestro Hotel, veremos lo que sucedió para que no vuelva a suceder.
Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had A bad start with a recptionist Who acted bored, but all other staff were very helpful. The style is not the latest but the room, small poolarea/bar and restaurang was ok. The location is good for sightseeing but not so good for cosy restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icca5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Manager at Hotel Galerias, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado, veremos lo que sucedió con la atención del recepcionista, nuestro Hotelse caracteriza por el buen servicio de su personal , agradecemos su tiempo en escribirnos y dejar su opinion
Saludos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

After we left our Hotel in Santiago Chile (Hotel Galerias) and were on the plane we realized that we had left souvenirs and jewelry in the safe in our room so as soon as we had phone reception we called the hotel to make arrangements to have the items shipped to us and they said there was nothing in the safe so I called my representative from south American travel and she could do nothing even though this was the hotel they had recommended and booked for us. The items were worth over $10,000.00 and we never received anything for the replacement of them. Never trust leaving things in a safe in the Hotel (Hotel Galerias) in Santiago Chile. The employees are not honest or trustworthy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank clz39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galerias, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear CLZ39,

Can you please send us you name and dates you were staying in our hotel, we would like to know more about this information you sent. mail vzavala@almacruz.cl

Best Regards,

Hotel Galerias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Probably not a bad hotel in the seventies, but with no updating since, it is pretty expensive for an average property. Expensive restaurant with average food. They double charged my credit card for a meal, which I will now have to fight to get credited. Biggest problem is the hotel is located on a major thoroughfare and HUGE city buses roar by every 5 minutes and they run the routes until around 1 AM and start over at precisely 6:30 AM. These buses are monster diesels and are so loud I could not sleep when they were roaring by, even on the 9th floor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ERVINR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galerias, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Erwin,

We update and renew our hotel every year, and definitly doenst have the style of the seventies, since our hotel is decor with museum pieces of the chilean culture, but we will send this information to our decor expert to do more improvements. The hotel windows have double panel glass that diminish the exterior sounds but the hotel still located in dowtown Santiago.

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review of our hotel we will passs the information to the different departments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

A very pleasant hotel within easy walking distance to Plaza de Armas and Centro Indigena. The staff were friendly and cooperative and we were able to secure an extra late check out as we had a midnight flight out of Santiago. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable and quiet. Due to the atrium style there is a feeling of open space throughout the hotel. An ample breakfast is available daily and the restaurant meals and service are also of a high standard. We'd have no hesitation in staying there again on our next visit to Santiago.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galerias, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

kevin, we would like to thank you, for taking the time to write this review.
we will show it to our staff, so they will be recognized by their good job

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Mercure Santiago Centro
#64 of 204 in Santiago
1,120 reviews
Hotel Panamericano
#56 of 204 in Santiago
1,221 reviews
Centro Histórico
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
#18 of 204 in Santiago
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
RQ Santiago
#52 of 204 in Santiago
586 reviews
Hotel Fundador
#92 of 204 in Santiago
492 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#20 of 204 in Santiago
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galerias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galerias

Address: San Antonio 65, Santiago 8320263, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Santiago
#34 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#43 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#44 Business Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: $84 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galerias 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galerias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galerias Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing