We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms but the restaurant could use some work”
Review of Hotel Galerias

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Galerias
Ranked #69 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice rooms but the restaurant could use some work”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel is in down town Santiago in a very central location. My only complaint is with the restaurant. The service was not up to what one would expect in a higher end hotel. I did not myself have a problem with the service, but as I was eating I saw one gentleman waiting 10 minutes to receive service. The menu is limited and the selections less than adequate. After 3 dinners there, I opted for the McDonalds about 3 blocks away. I did like their red wine by the glass very much and I did drink my share. Very good wine. Their breakfast buffet was adequate although not spectacular. They have an excellent business center with fast internet service and also wi-fi. Another plus is that ATM machines are just a block away on Moneda Street but they can be somewhat of a challenge to find because banks are lined up one after the other there and not all provide ATM service. Sort of odd. I just kept trying one after the other until I hit the jackpot. The ATMs are all inside the banks and there will be a guard there to help you sort through how to use the machines. They all seem to work differently.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muncie_birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galerias, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for the information, we will talk to the restaurant manager, to improve the service and menus. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    446
    157
    31
    20
See reviews for
207
315
60
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
598 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good value for money as a 3 star hotel.
Rooms are clean. Staff are efficient.
Hotel is well situated and well organised.
Has a gym and nice pool / restaurant area.
Outside street is a bit scruffy, but there are many nice little restaurants and parks in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dajoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Manager at Hotel Galerias, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Galerias Hotel is to provide better service and their opinions help us meet our shortcomings.

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Really nice hotel located right in the middle of Santiago's centre, within walking distance of 5-10 minutes of all the good attractions. Also around the corner from 2 metro stations. Rooms are comfortable and spacious and breakfast is really good (fruit juices especially). Also, small outdoor pool on Level 6 is great in the afternoon heat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaffiTenenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Manager at Hotel Galerias, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Galerias Hotel is to provide better service and their opinions help us meet our shortcomings.

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here at the Hotel Galerias Santiago for two nights on route to Antarctica from Australia. It was recommended by our travel agent and we were happy with our stay. Our room was air conditioned, which was needed in the 33C temp, and was clean and neat. The view from the window was unappealing but that was OK. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast which was included. There was an array of fresh fruit, meats, cheeses and hot food. We also had dinner in the restaurant where we enjoyed great food, good wine and very reasonable prices (compared to Perth, Western Australia anyway). Would recommend this hotel for value conscious travellers who like to feel they have done well!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maaz06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Manager at Hotel Galerias, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Galerias Hotel is to provide better service and their opinions help us meet our shortcomings.

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I'd actually score the hotel a 3.5 if it was possible. A pretty good hotel with a good degree of positive going for it. No deal breakers, but some areas they need to address in order to be a 4 star.

Room: somewhat dated with a little musty smell. Shower is a small tub with low shower heads. The beds are very soft. They charge you to make coffee and tea in the room. Really? Now, the TV is great, the sheets and pillows are great, the internet is very good and the water pressure and temp is good.

Hotel: Again, dated but nice and organized. The front lobby is minimalist and help there is "meh". They don't change money either.

Amenities: Restaurants are ok but they overcharge for the quality, except for breakfast which is good and included. The pool is small but decent. The gym is small and less than decent with a few aerobic machines and nothing else.

So for me the beds, cleanliness, internet, TV score it a 3.5 and I round up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Accelerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Manager at Hotel Galerias, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear guess,

Thaks for your review, with these comments we can improve our service.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed two nights here and had the good fortune to be upgraded to a suite. Wonderful! Huge bathroom, comfortable sitting room, firm king-sized bed. Breakfast (included) had good variety and even raspberry juice. Interesting decor in common areas, with native themes. Some downtown sites were walkable. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Athena222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Manager at Hotel Galerias, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Galerias Hotel is to provide better service and their opinions help us meet our shortcomings.

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Varas, Chile
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The traditional Hotel Galerias is situated in the center of Santiago only a stone’s throw away from cultural sights and shopping streets. The hotel has been completely renovated in 2002 and designed in an ethnic way reflecting the historical and cultural side of Santiago. Its interior has been furnished with a modern touch and Chilean antiquities. The hotel provides 162 comfortable and spacious rooms where you will feel like home from the very first moment. Furthermore it owns 2 restaurants and a Bar decorated in Rapa Nui style called Make – Make with a wide selection of wines. The Vichuquén restaurant is well known for its international and Chilean cuisine. In the El Tambo restaurant you can enjoy a delicious breakfast. Enjoy the high and personalized service of the Hotel Galerias while exploring the marvelous city of Santiago.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Protours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaCruz2, Manager at Hotel Galerias, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Galerias Hotel is to provide better service and their opinions help us meet our shortcomings.

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Mercure Santiago Centro
#66 of 196 in Santiago
1,026 reviews
Centro Histórico
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
#21 of 196 in Santiago
1,423 reviews
Hotel Panamericano
#58 of 196 in Santiago
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Fundador
#81 of 196 in Santiago
437 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santiago
#43 of 196 in Santiago
1,170 reviews
RQ Santiago
#46 of 196 in Santiago
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galerias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galerias

Property: Hotel Galerias
Address: San Antonio 65, Santiago 8320263, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#36 Family Hotel in Santiago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#45 Business Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galerias 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galerias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galerias Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing