We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight at Hotel Galerias, Santiago, Jan. 2012”
Review of Hotel Galerias

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Galerias
Ranked #67 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overnight at Hotel Galerias, Santiago, Jan. 2012”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We spent the night here on our way home from the Princess Cruise of Cape Horn. If you want a high-class hotel like you have in the states, this is not for you. But if you want to stay in a decent area of the city and want to experience local life, this is a good pick. The price was right on line from expedia, half of the $302 price posted in the hotel. Checkin was smooth. We got there right before a bus arrived with 30 people on a tour. We had reserved four rooms and one turned out to have a broken air-conditioner. They moved that couple right away to another room. The rooms are average size and basic. They are clean but you may end up with twin beds, depending on the room. There is free wifi in every room. The free breakfast was okay...nothing great, but full of traditional Chilean foods. Two negatives...the restaurant has poor service and can't handle a large crowd so eat in one of the nearby restaurants. Only other negative, the elevators are small and there are only 2. If you checkout when all the tourists are checking out, it can take 30 minutes to get downstairs since the elevators will always be full of people and their bags also checking out.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the beds to be the configuration you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmsandieg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    444
    158
    29
    20
See reviews for
207
309
60
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were booked in to the Galerias for the last two nights of a cruise holiday. As soon as we arrived in the somewhat austere reception area I was taken back to memories of similar downtown hotels around the world. But, to be fair, it was not that bad, although perhaps pushing it to give it four stars. The rooms were excellent, the pool area on the sixth floor was pleasant and service was OK. The food at breakfast time and in the evenings could be classified as acceptable, but no more. We were fortunate in that we booled a table for an early dinner. Those that arrived at 2000 or so found that the dining room was packed out and several tables had to wait for up to an hour for them to receive their main courses.
It is very central, but we were warned about security in the downtown area. My wife was warned by the hall porter to take off her necklace before venturing out in the morning, we were advised by our courier not to venture abroad after 2100 and one of our group had their pocket picked.
If the prices quoted in the rooms are to be believed it would be outrageously expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerThornhill66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Hotel Galerias is conveniently located in downtown Santiago close to the city center and within walking distance of many attractions. Many good restaurants are located nearby. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The rooms were large and clean. The street noise was not too bad as we were on the 12th floor. The breakfast was very nice with a big selection of items from scrambled eggs to bakery items to cereals and fruits. It was one of the nice breakfast offerings that we have experienced in a hotel - nothing gourmet but tasty and more than adequate. The hotel is a good bargain.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors may be the best due to some street noise - but the air-conditioner drowns out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highplainsprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

The good:
Excellent location
Clean room and bathroom
The bad:
*Corridors under-lit and gloomy
* No hot water - lukewarm only
*Coffeemaker plug too big for socket
*No extra working socket for computer
*After 24hrs problems still not fixed. Bellboy sent to fix had no English and no clue
*Repeatedly waited in busy reception to speak to English-speaking reception manager who twice promised to come and look at problems but never turned up
*Room service and restaurant service extremely slow

Although I had prepaid 4 nights, I vacated after 1 day to another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwynn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

All our needs we're met at this hotel including free Wifi rooms were comfortable

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joycetalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Nice Hotel. Well located. But if I go back will try to choose better.Breakfast included was very good..The little fridge in the room was almost warm. We had friends on our floor who had a room without air conditioning for a whole week.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clavecin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Hotel Galerias was booked for us by a Scottish Travel agent as part of a South American tour and was supposed to be a 4 star hotel. We were planning to stay there for 3 nights in mid-December before moving to the Chilean coast. When we arrived at the hotel we were immediately struck by the seediness of the area and the bland, featurelessness of the hotel. It is in downtown Santiago so is handy for a lot of the historical sights but it does not immediately strike you as a 4 star establishment. The staff were pleasant enough but put us in a very dark , smoke-smelling room on the 7th floor which had a view of a wall. Considering we had paid an extra £250 to upgrade to a suite , we complained. They moved us to a room on the 9th floor which had a side view of the street but was still not a suite. Despite speaking Spanish and trying to convince them there was mistake they insisted that it was the correct room. It was certainly better than the previous one but only because it didnt smell of stale smoke and we could see the street.
The room was ok and the breakfast was average but the hotel was lacking in any atmosphere and the service was manana manana. I do not recommend this hotel unless you are passing through and need a bed for the night. And only then , if you get a very good deal.
We are still waiting for our refund as the hotel has not yet explained to out travel agent why we were not given a suite. One month on....

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowPopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Mercure Santiago Centro
#70 of 196 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Centro Histórico
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
#21 of 196 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santiago
#43 of 196 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Fundador
#81 of 196 in Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Providencia
NH Ciudad de Santiago
NH Ciudad de Santiago
#56 of 196 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Hotel Panamericano
#58 of 196 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galerias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galerias

Property: Hotel Galerias
Address: San Antonio 65, Santiago 8320263, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#36 Family Hotel in Santiago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#45 Business Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galerias 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galerias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galerias Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing