We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Central Location, Great Stay”
Review of Hotel Fundador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fundador
Ranked #81 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Central Location, Great Stay”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Hotel Fundador was very central to what we wanted to see, we walked most places or took the underground train. Taxis are cheap also. They also arranged tours to Valparaíso and hop-on, hop-off bus.
Service was excellent and friendly with a least one English speaking manager on front desk.
Rooms were neat and clean.
Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    213
    113
    23
    12
See reviews for
65
150
36
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Room was clean and comfortable, sized like a European hotel - bathroom very adequate and perfect for us.. Breakfast was hot, plentiful and well served. Location great. Close to main street with restaurants and shops. Staff members at the desk and lobby very helpful. Proximity to everything made the place a go. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: No preference..It's up to you but I always like to look at the City. Any City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-GCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Well located hotel in the center of Santiago closed to Santa Maria, service is ok but our room was very small, located on the 3rd floor and very noisy. Breakfast is ok but on thing exceptionnal. Wifi is not included, no minicar and poor room serivce.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Flavien2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were looking for a location near my daughters apartment for the first nights in Santiago, and the Fundador was recommended. Given the downtown location, the price was reasonable. On a side street it should have been quiet but try to get a room away from the street. The first morning there was a call to prayer over a loudspeaker and the second night they were using the street to stage the floats for the Paris department store Christmas parade. It was a sleepless night. Bathroom small but functional. Bed was comfortable. Good breakfast and they make a decent Pisco Sour.

Room Tip: try to avoid the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I also arrived at another hotel, but my reservation was nowhere to be found. They called this hotel for me (first on my list taken from Fodor's guide) in a downtown location at a great price ($135 US). The room was small but clean, and the breakfast (included) was more than adequate. Friendly,helpful staff and a convenient location helped make this a great last minute find.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demdoc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Arriving without a reservation because of a missed flight. Fundador accommodated me with their last room. Although standard quality everything worked and bed and conditioning and shower etc worked perfectly, all for $130 US. They had no room the next night, my last in Santiago, but the front desk people called 10 hotels for me, all full, then one of them left his desk and took me arround the neighborhood, a student favorite, to hostils, only the fifth one had one last room. What an extraordinary display of kindness to an old solo traveler soon to be out in the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowaconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

This is an ok but not special hotel. It is clean, the staff are very helpful and the breakfast is really good. The room we had was ok, but the decor is strange, with some sort of attempt to simulate a tropical setting. A bit weird. It seems as though some renovations have been undertaken because we found the place had been freshened up, noting the views of other reviewers. Location is very good on the southern edge of the old part of the city. It is also close to the excellent metro and the blue bus to the airport. The toilet in our room was temperamental in that the cistern would not refill after flush unless you got the lever into the right position. Weirdly, there is absolutely no signage outside the hotel - not even something to tell you it is in fact a hotel! As well, the street it is in is not well signed at the intersection with Ave Bernard O'Higgins. It is very good for the price, but lacks that something that beckons you back for another stay.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Goldrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Mercure Santiago Centro
#71 of 196 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Hotel Galerias
#69 of 196 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Centro Histórico
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
#21 of 196 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vegas
#91 of 196 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Hotel Panamericano
#60 of 196 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santiago
#44 of 196 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fundador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fundador

Property: Hotel Fundador
Address: Paseo Serrano 34, Santiago 8320000, Chile (Formerly Blue Tree Hotels Fundador)
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fundador 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a new concept hotel with the best location in downtown Santiago, in the financial heart of the city. From the historic center of the city, it opens up a new Boss Hotel where tradition blends with our European ancestors of our native origins. Its design has been recently created by famed architect German del Sol, national architecture award 2006, so who stirs great Andean weaving brushstrokes to paint walls, slate stone floors with warm rustic rugs, lots of light and liveliness of colors in the rooms and dining rooms, classic European furniture rethought in a more minimalist and cool, a true celebration of styles that finally get himself ... Our style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fundador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tree Hotels Fundador Hotel Santiago
Blue Tree Hotel Fundador
Blue Tree Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing