We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Bizarre!”
Review of Hotel Fundador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fundador
Ranked #87 of 204 Hotels in Santiago
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This was the most bizarre hotel that we have ever stayed at. Blocks of wood stuck to the tiled bathroom walls and on the bedroom ceiling. We wondered if they were for rock climbing practice! The blocks of wood weren’t even nicely sanded and finished, they looked liked off-cuts from a building site!
There was no hair dryer and the towels were very worn.
The breakfast wasn’t that great.
However the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the location of the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 483 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have stayed at hotels and motels all over the world from 0 start to 4 star and from really really cheap ($25) to expensive. The Fundador is the worst place we've ever stayed. Our travel agent booked us in there twice, at the start of our trip and a month later at the end of our trip. We paid $190NZ per night. There were only 2 towels in the room: these were thread bare, you could see your hand thru them and they had long bits of frayed fabric hanging down from each towel. There were no glasses of any kind in the room - i.e. no glasses for drinking water or brushing teeth. The few coat hangers in the closet fell apart when I tried to use them. The room was dark and dingy and the bathroom was dirty. We used our headlamps to read our itinerary because the lighting was so poor. There was hardly any furniture in the room. There was not one scrap of paper in the room so no hotel information. To find out where and when breakfast was served, you had to go down to the front desk and ask. To find out what time check out was you had to go down to the front desk and ask. Getting information from the front desk was not easy. I don't know whether they have room service, or laundry service, or whether there is a bar etc because they don't want to tell you. There was no mini bar in the room but when we checked out they asked if we'd had anything from the mini bar! The buffet breakfast was very basic and the hot food part of the breakfast selection was actually cold.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed in a room in the back of the hotel. Comfortable, clean room. Reasonably quiet, but like any hotel in a majo city, I would still recommend ear-plugs for the light sleeper. Yes, the decor is odd, with small blocks of wood stuck on the walls and ceilings - still trying to work out what it all means. The paint effects look as though they have been finished half way through.
Breakfast was good for a South Amercian buffet. Cereals, yoghurts, fruit, hot choice etc. Charming breakfast area. Staff were friendly enough.
The Fundador is located in a charming area near a University. Cobbled streets - Paris and London. Nice cafes close by. Easy walking distance to the central shopping malls. We easily walked from San Cristobal Hill, where the Finicular is, back to the hotel - via the Barrio Brasil (but would not recommend if you have mobility problems). Felt safe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section (over the bridge).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LFT001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoBuonoCore, Gerente at Hotel Fundador, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amulmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoBuonoCore, Gerente at Hotel Fundador, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Joselyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoBuonoCore, Gerente at Hotel Fundador, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jussara_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoBuonoCore, Gerente at Hotel Fundador, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Hotel Galerias
#69 of 204 in Santiago
934 reviews
Centro Histórico
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
#20 of 204 in Santiago
1,738 reviews
Hotel Panamericano
#55 of 204 in Santiago
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
RQ Santiago
#52 of 204 in Santiago
564 reviews
Mercure Santiago Centro
#66 of 204 in Santiago
1,107 reviews
Centro Histórico
Novapark
Novapark
#93 of 204 in Santiago
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fundador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fundador

Address: Paseo Serrano 34, Santiago 8320000, Chile (Formerly Blue Tree Hotels Fundador)
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: $81 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fundador 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a new concept hotel with the best location in downtown Santiago, in the financial heart of the city. From the historic center of the city, it opens up a new Boss Hotel where tradition blends with our European ancestors of our native origins. Its design has been recently created by famed architect German del Sol, national architecture award 2006, so who stirs great Andean weaving brushstrokes to paint walls, slate stone floors with warm rustic rugs, lots of light and liveliness of colors in the rooms and dining rooms, classic European furniture rethought in a more minimalist and cool, a true celebration of styles that finally get himself ... Our style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fundador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tree Hotels Fundador Hotel Santiago
Blue Tree Hotel Fundador
Blue Tree Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing