We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Confortable, Clean, Good Loction”
Review of Director El Golf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Director El Golf
Ranked #61 of 204 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2009

The rooms are confortable, the breakfast is very good, the neigborhood is excellent and the hotel is close to the metro station. I would return!!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcioxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 288 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2009

We stayed at the Director Suites Hotel in March, 2009. Our stay was pleasant, as the staff is friendly and helpful. For the most part, English was well spoken here.The location is fine, as it is near shopping and restaurants, and is very close to the subway. The subway is clean and modern, and will whiz you anywhere in a few minutes. Breakfasts are tasty and enjoyable, although there are only a few tables in the main dining area.
If you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of the downtown area, this is a fine area for you. The neighborhood is perfect for strolling, as the hotel is on a shady street. It is very quiet at night, but lively enough during the day. Good restaurants nearby. If you want to take a short subway ride, you can get to Liguria, at 1373 Providencia, certainly worth the trip. What a nice little bistro, with great food and service. Ask for Miguel's station.
In the lobby you will find a small business center, with free high speed internet for guests. All in all, we were satisfied with our choice.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wexable4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

Having to disagree with many of the reviews about this hotel, the Director Suite El Golf is simply a 3-star hotel with very good service. I have not stayed in other hotels in Chile to have a reference point, but it's not the gem others make it.
The room is definitely big, with a king-size bed, a sofa area and a kitchennette, but eveything's outdated. The bed wasn't comfortable, the 20-inch TV was probably 5 years old, and all the appliances were due for a replacement. The bathroom was also due for a renovation, and there was an awful smell coming from one of the pipes.
The internet connectivity was very slow and had a separate charge ($10 for 24 hours).
The breakfast buffet was very limited, with no hot items, only 1 juice, some pastries and muffins.
Service was definitely very good.
Overall, an average value at $160 a night. But could probably find other options.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E_Panama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

We stayed for one night and got a good advance deal on the internet for $75 B&B for the two of us. The staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke good English. The room was large, smart and clean with a huge double bed and a good sitting area and the bathroom was also large with a powerful shower. As others have mentioned, the only odd thing is that the room was equipped with a kitchen area but with no pots, pans or even a kettle. The location is very good, being pleasant, safe and five minutes from Tobalaba metro station. It's also covenient for Bar Liguria, Akarana (both recommended) and many other restaurants. Breakfast was good with choice of meats, cheeses, salads, juices, breads, cakes, etc. and the serving staff were very attentive in dispensing hot drinks. Definitely a good base for seeing Santiago.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamblingSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

Best location in town only 1 block away from Apoquindo Avenue, where there are a lots of Banks, shops and restaurants etc... The Hotel is very clean with large comfortable rooms. Complimentary Buffet excellent. The staff is very efficient and professional. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Santiago Chile and will definetely stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Every once in a while you stumble on a rare gem. The Director Suites is one of them. (I found this one on Trip Advisor.) It's located in a very upscale part of Santiago, only steps from a number of embassies, really good restaurants, and nighttime swinging bars and discos. You can walk the neighborhood at any hour.

The hotel rarely looks crowded but at the complimentary morning breakfast the guests appear almost by magic. I cannot say enough about the desk staff. They took care of a number of our requests almost immediately. Electrical adaptors were handed out from a drawer in the desk. A problem with getting on the wireless internet was solved by a "teckie" they sent to the room in 5 minutes. When we missed a tour bus, they arranged for a car, driver, and interpreter in 15 minutes. (We later found that their prices were in line with similar services.)

As we arrived a bit early, the accommodations we reserved were not yet ready. They upgraded us to a full suite with Living Room, Pullman Kitchen, Bedroom, and full Bath. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

Breakfast is served in their small Dining Room/Restaurant. It's not the most sumptious buffet you will find, but its good, with nice selections, and all types of eggs that you can order from the waiter.

If you need a hotel in Santiago, I cannot imagine a better one for the buck than this one. I've had my fill of the glass and aluminum palaces with their cold and disinterested staffs. Give me a smaller place where they know my name and go out of their way to see that I'll come back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wis633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

This is a real 4* hotel for 2* prices. We had a huge room with living room, kitchen and bathroom. The room is tastefully furnished and has a very comfortable bed. We were given a welcome drink. The staff were very friendly and helpful providing lots of local advice and booking local tours for us. Breakfats was good with plenty of variety. The hotel is close to the subway and there are lots of good local restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Hotel Ismael
Hotel Ismael
#12 of 204 in Santiago
805 reviews
Director Hotel - Vitacura
#25 of 204 in Santiago
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Sebastiana Suites
#53 of 204 in Santiago
423 reviews
Centro Histórico
Novapark
Novapark
#87 of 204 in Santiago
79 reviews
Hotel Torremayor Lyon
#74 of 204 in Santiago
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Director El Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Director El Golf

Address: Avenida Carmencita 45 | Las Condes, Santiago, Chile (Formerly Director Suites Hotel - El Golf)
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Santiago
#38 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#43 Business Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: $105 - $1,462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Director El Golf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Director El Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Director Hotel El

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing