We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but bring your $$$$$”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Director Hotel - Vitacura
Ranked #29 of 198 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel but bring your $$$$$”
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel itself was lovely and our room was very nice. They have sensational concierges who are amazingly helpful. It was a pity that every time you wanted or needed something it cost extra $$$$. Felt like we couldn't breath without having a credit card put against us for the privilege. Oh, and the breakfast staff won't look at you if you aren't a local. Quite rude about it at times. Everything else was good

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighY123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    204
    41
    9
    4
See reviews for
193
66
17
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwall
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The rooms are big and airy. The breakfasts are excellent. The staff are brilliant. However, this hotel was under reconstruction when we were there in October-November 2011. The noise started very early in the morning and did not finish until after 9 pm at night. The swimming pool was being up graded and was not in use. However, we loved this hotel and would go back again. Although this work was on going the staff over compensated for the dust and the banging and the pool being out of use to us, also our air conditioning broke down when at the hotest part of the day and no pool to use was a pain. But the handy man was there instantly to try and fix it and he did well done to you. We had a great two weeks here going site seeing everyday and we recommend the Zoo on the Mountain and St Lucias Park was so beautiful. The native Museum at St Lucia is wonderful with an indoor market with all the hand made crafts. Very reasonably priced too. Chile is so pretty and the people are fantastic Spanish speaking although most of the staff here speak excellent English. I do hope this hotel was restored back to it former glory as it had been such a luxurious hotel in its day. Well done to all the staff. We will be back again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the highest point have the best views as it sees over all the surrounding built up area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thinking_of_y0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRASILIA
Level Contributor
303 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I have stayed at the Director Vitacura a number of times over recent years. It was always good, but has recently benefited from an uplift, and is better (and a bit more expensive) than ever. The rooms are beautifully understated modern luxury with heavenly beds, thick towels, super bathrooms etc. Very quiet. No razzmattaz. Some have a view from a private veranda towards the Cordillera. I always ask for number 908. There is underground parking and a free business center for internet etc. No sauna. The breakfast is included in the price and is generally excellent, without being over the top. I reckon that for the price it would be hard to find an equal in Santiago. Clients seem to be visiting businessmen/women, academics etc from other parts of Chile. A few gringoes here and there. Service at reception is impeccable.

Taxis are plentiful on the main drag, or you can use the hotel-designated limos (e.g.20,000 pesos -US$40 - to the airport). City centre is 15 mins by taxi, or you can take the rapid transit bus which stops outside the hotel. Easy access to great shopping at Parque Arauco or Alto las Condes. The splendid Spanish restaurant "La Cocina de Javier" in Calle Alonso de Cordoba (10 minute walk) is well worth a visit for lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: I always try for an upper room with a view of the Andes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed there for a week when visiting Santiago for work. My room was gigantic with 2 double beds, a sofa, coffee table, a big table to work, walk-in wardrobe etc! Free wi-fi which is good if a bit slow, decent breakfast and a nice outside seating area, as well as a small swimming pool to cool off. The staff was very helpful and efficient and even gave me a plug adaptor when mine wasn't working. Overall a pretty good hotel in a nice quiet area!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nk1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Spent 5 days here in Dec 2011. Room was large, well appointed, with good views and pretty quiet. Firm bed. Table at which to work. Free wi-fi.
Staff pleasant and helpful.
Nice neighbourhood: facilities close by, pleasant streets to stroll.
Price modest, under $100 a night.
I'd choose this again when coming to Santiago for work.

Room Tip: Ask for room that faces east, towards the Andes: good view, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The staff were very helpful, the pool area small but we were lucky it was not very crowded when we are there. The rooms are spacious and the location is very convenient close to convenience stores, to restaurants and cafes. The only complaint I have is the cleaning service, I found hair in the bath tub and dirty glasses were not removed after cleaning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I spent 5 days at the Director in December 2011. I was very satisfied with the stay. The rooms were modern, well-maintained and kept spotless. The breakfast was more than satisfactory. One shortcoming was that the wireless internet was not well-configured and continually booted you off.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgertracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Vitacura
Atton Vitacura
Atton Vitacura
#25 of 198 in Santiago
1,364 reviews
Vitacura
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#43 of 198 in Santiago
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Director Hotel - Vitacura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Director Hotel - Vitacura

Property: Director Hotel - Vitacura
Address: Avenida Vitacura 3600 | Vitacura, Santiago 6670172, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santiago
#17 Family Hotel in Santiago
#38 Business Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Director Hotel - Vitacura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Director Hotel - Vitacura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Director Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing