We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaintly charming B & B, but check the bedroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Espanoles Hotel
Ranked #92 of 204 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2011

This is an interestingly rambling hotel close to a motorway interchange on the edge of La Providencia, a fashionable residential-business district. For a short stay it could be OK. But our room - a family suite, with a too-small bed in the main bedroom and a single bed in a room next door - was totally unsuitable for our needs (a four-night business-plus-pleasure stay): it didn't provide a good night's sleep, and there was an acute lack of storage space. The restaurant offers an adequate buffet breakfast but lacks ambience or variety for lunch or dinner, and the bar suffers from the chronic Chilean problem that smoking is still tolerated. Finally, navigation on foot across the river to the La Providencia restaurants is physically somewhat perilous, so a taxi is probably necessary. Overall: quaint charm, but needs refurbishment. A plus point: the service is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Check room on arrival!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London Frequent Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 217 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2011

I would probably give it a 3 1/2, I would not classify it as very good, but average is maybe a bit too low. Stayed here 2 nights. I reserved a single room but the room I got seemed large enough to serve as a double which was nice. It did not have an ac, although I did not really need it (but was close to). Sleeping with open windows was not an option as the road noise would have kept me awake. One side of the hotel borders on a very busy road and my room was on that side of the hotel. The impression that the hotel is located in a quiet residential area is partially true I would say.

Wireless worked, breakfast was decent. They claim to have a gym, but when I asked they said it was closed. Most of the check-in personnel spoke English and were friendly. Had dinner here one night, which was ok, but probably not as good as any other restaurant at a similar price level. Subway station Losleones is walking distance (5 mins or so) which makes it a convenient location.

As I do not know any other hotels I would recommend it, but not with complete conviction.

To get to the hotel from the airport I booked a group shuttle upon arrival (just after you collect your bags) at the transvip counter for USD 12, 1/2 the price or less compared to an individual taxi. I had to wait maybe 10 mins before it left, but it was very comfortable and would recommend using this if you are a single traveller. To go to the international bus station I took the subway to Uni de Santiago and walked to the terminal (takes approx 30 mins in total).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sebbie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Los Espanoles. It has a warm, friendly atmosphere, with a good restaurant, great staff and a 'home away from home' feeling. The area it is located in is very pretty, there is a park across the street, and we always felt safe when we went out, even at night.
It is a small boutique hotel, there are no elevators that I saw, but there is always someone to carry your luggage upstairs if you are on the 2nd floor. Our friends had a room with a balcony which was very enjoyable to sit and relax. The rooms are big, with plenty of room for luggage.
And, as Bewt Western advertises - the wifi was free which was a real plus for us having been at sea for 2 weeks prior with very expensive wifi services.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

You won't go wrong if you stay at this terrific hotel. The reception staff speak excellent English ( a big bonus in a very predominantly Spanish speaking country ) Everything about Los Espanoles is good ! Rooms are large, very clean, Breakfast perfect, Dinners were delicious.Kitchen staff were quite incredible.... Isobel ( I think that was her name ) became a friend and we were only there 4 nights ! Reception staff were so helpful, it was a real pleasure staying there. If we are ever in Santiago again, this is were we would stay without any hesitation. Do yourself a favour and book your stay with total confidence. Santiago is a magnificent city, full of grand buildings and parks. It is a very affluent city - people there are friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casimir_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Stayed two nights in late November, 2010. The hotel is smallish and very nice in many ways. Front desk staff are excellent and very patient with guest requests. Hotel is spotless with plenty of maintenance staff. The location couldn't be any better, just across the river from Providencia with all its shopping and restaurants while the hotel's location is in a quiet, residential neighborhood.
I reserved a single room and that is what I got. Very small with no place to sit except the bed. While the bed was comfortable, the room was opposite the restaurant kitchen with lots of banging, clanging and talking going on. The view was of a wall and while outside it was a beautiful late spring day, inside the room was dark and dreary.
I know the hotel has much nicer rooms than I got so if you get one, this is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

This hotel was at one time a family home, and is located in a quiet residential area. It is great value - nice breakfasts, huge clean rooms and great staff. They provide info on tours right away so you can stay there and do day trips at a very reasonale cost. The city is very big and busy, and it was a pleasure to return back to the hotel each night. The location is good - we were able to walk everywhere and it is located close to a market so you can buy some of the local wines and some deli items at good prices. Would recommend - walked around at night and felt very safe.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuffaloLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed 2 days and loved it. The staff were friendly and helpful, polite and kind. The room was spotless and new, and we had the quietest sleep in our South America visit.
The food was great; my husband ordered the seafood platter twice, and still raves about it. The waitress has worked there for 35 years, and made us very welcome. Fantastic breakfast. A short walk across the river, to wonderful restaurants and shopping.
Ask for Benny, the driver, to take you on a tour of the city. He speaks English, and was
very knowledgeable. Hector the manager went many an extra mile for us, and his English is excellent. We will go back.
Just watch the uneven floors, from when the hotel was different private houses.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank maureenconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Hotel Los Espanoles Plus
#80 of 204 in Santiago
186 reviews
Providencia
Diego de Velazquez
Diego de Velazquez
#63 of 204 in Santiago
746 reviews
Providencia
Heidelberg Haus Apart Hotel
Heidelberg Haus Apart Hotel
#81 of 204 in Santiago
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Eurotel Providencia
Eurotel Providencia
#82 of 204 in Santiago
444 reviews
Providencia
Presidente Edificio Santiago
Presidente Edificio Santiago
#106 of 204 in Santiago
114 reviews
Providencia
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#66 of 204 in Santiago
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Espanoles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Espanoles Hotel

Address: Los Espanoles 2539, Santiago 7520207, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 204 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: $50 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Espanoles Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a very safe & green residential area of Providencia at 5 minutes walking distance from World Trade Center, stores, restaurants and subway. Free Wireless Internet, Free Buffet Breakfast, Free Parking, Free Local Telephone Calls, Free Newspapers in the lobby, Free Business Center, Complimentary coffee, Bar, Restaurant, Meeting Rooms, 24 h/d room service, Laundry, nearby gym; all to assure you a very pleasant stay, for business or leisure, at a reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Los Espanoles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Los Espanoles
Best Western Santiago
Santiago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing