We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth your while”
Review of Hotel Panamericano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Panamericano
Ranked #55 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We allowed ourselves three nights in Santiago before our cruise, and found the hotel to be ideal for our purposes. Pleasant staff, who usually responded well to requests the third time that the requests were made. Comfortable and spacious room, with a safe that refused to work despite the best efforts of the staff. Fairly good buffet breakfast in a somewhat chaotic restaurant. The location, on the edge of Santiago's extensive and excellent pedestrian downtown road system, made for easy touring of the city's main sights: the presidential palace, the legislature, the cathedral, etc. And the closest subway station was only 5 minutes away. Finally, we had a simple, excellent and inexpensive dinner right next door at Avvocato (Huéfanos 1343), which is open from Monday to Friday from 0700 to 2100.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro F, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hi Richard,

Thanks for visiting us all the way from Canada. We value all your comments since they help us to improve our quality and service. We hope you enjoyed your stay and shall your trave plans bring you back to Chile we'll be looking forward receiving you again.

Very best,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

Staff is helpful & nice(Not all spoke english)Free breakfast was good & frequently restocked.Hairdryer sucked.25-45min(rushhour) drive to airport($14).The bathrooms need to be refurbished(shower door off hinges&needs new caulking).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Sonja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro F, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate your comments. Regarding our hairdryer we have forwarded your comments to our maintenance department for further follow up.

As for our bathrooms, we have renovated most of them but we still have a few left to go.

Shall your travel plans bring you back to Santiago we hope to see you again.

Very best,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here from Thursday - Sunday, The price was great and the hotel was very clean. Thursday and Friday was great but the weekend was a "ghost" town. My Wife felt very safe walking around the hotel when I took a nap. The staff can be a little frustrating at times; according to the brochure they sell the "City Tour" bus tickets and it took them 1/2 hour to figure out they didn't have any more tickets.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DroAmezcua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro F, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for your comments and for sharing them with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate the time you took into putting together your impressions about our hotel and are very glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay.

Regarding the process to sell the city tour tickets, we have passed your comments to the appropriate department.

Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Very best,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just stayed at the Hotel Panamericano for 3 days and found it to be a great option.
Close (walking distance) to lots of things, supermarket around the corner,a number of dining options nearby.
Room clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro F, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for your kind comments. We are very glad to hear you liked our hotel. Yes, indeed our location is quite amazing, close to everything, especially the main subway line.

Shall your travel plans bring you back to Santiago we hope to see you again.

Very best,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hi we stayed here, close to Plaza de Armas and really enjoyed the hotel. Nice modern bathroom, large LCD tv and king size bed. I think about $80 ish per night. No complaints what so ever. The lobby was more functional than luxuriant but hotel was great. Staff carried our bags about a mile to catch a cab as the streets were blocked off because of some big conference in town. They refused to take a tip. Very nice people.I was determined to get the 'street price' for the airport taxi not the hotel rate which was about 33% higher. Sometimes I get that way :) It would have been perfect if it had a rooftop pool though! Can't go wrong if this location is suitable for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank shoguneye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro F, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for visiting us from the beautiful city of Toronto. We are very glad to hear you liked our hotel and we sincerely appreciate the kind comments regarding our service. We always try to go the extra mile.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Very best,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel Panamericano in Santiago, Chile for a couple of days after disembarking a cruise. It was in a great location because you could walk to so many sights. The rooms were clean, service was very good, and the price was affordable. I recommend this hotel for someone on a budget who isn't expecting a 5 star Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1horselover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro F, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for your kind words about our hotel. We truly appreciate you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back in the near future.

Best,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The bedroom was relatively clean and a decent size. The clothes closet was a good size.
However, there was no safe in the room.
While the bathroom was mostly clean, there was some glue residue on the toilet seat that should have been cleaned. Also, the hot water pressure was terrible. It took a long time to get hot water.
The wifi worked.
The breakfast was excellent. There was hot and cold food.
They also had a lot of fruit including chirimoya, which absolutely delicious and is very expensive in Canada.

The garbage bins were on our side of the building so it was a bit noisy weekday mornings.

I would not call it a 5 star hotel, maybe 3.5.

Would I stay there again?
It was clean, decent, and the staff friendly.
For the price though, it is hard to say.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nvman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro F, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for sharing your experience at our hotel with the TripAdvisor community. We're glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your with with us.

We have passed some of your comments to our maintenance department so they can look into it and take the necessary measures.

Once again thanks for your comments.

Very best,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
RQ Santiago
#44 of 202 in Santiago
524 reviews
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#70 of 202 in Santiago
4,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Galerias
#71 of 202 in Santiago
911 reviews
RQ Providencia
#58 of 202 in Santiago
715 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#17 of 202 in Santiago
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panamericano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panamericano

Address: Teatinos 320 | Corner Huerfanos, Santiago 8340416, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Santiago
#48 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: $70 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Panamericano 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Panamericano Santiago de Chile is located in the heart of the Centro or Downtown Santiago. The Hotel is located within walking distance from the Government Palace, one of the safest areas of the capital of Chile, which is the Financial, Cultural, Civic and Trade center of the country.Hotel Panamericano stands out among the many deals in hotels in Santiago since it incorporates a full range of hotel services, features 170 cozy and spacious rooms and modern "Junior Suites", tourism services in Santiago and its surroundings, car park, laundry, gym and boxing school for executives, meeting rooms, conference rooms, meeting rooms and rooms for marriages. We have a luxurious VIP meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Panamericano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamericano Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing