We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location in centre of Santiago.”
Review of Hotel Panamericano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Panamericano
Ranked #57 of 200 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great central location in centre of Santiago.”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Even though any reception staff could not speak English, check in was quite easy and friendly.
Rooms are very spacious and extremely clean and equipped with every possible amenity including hairdryer, iPod dock, mini bar, good shower (tepid in early mornings though), lockable safe, extremely comfortable huge king bed, nice furnishings, double glazed windows to minimize traffic noise, 3 litres of bottled water in your room each day when staff made up room each day. The room service is fantastic with generous meals with quite a good selection and price. Breakfast was a nice continental style with beautiful scrambled egg as a hot choice. Staff in breakfast room were very well presented and friendly.
There is a sitting room with comfortable lounge style chairs to wait for your tours.
May I suggest CTS for tours in and around Santiago........couldn't fault them at all! Lots of restaurants very close by and a shopping mall which must be the longest I've ever seen, only 1 minute walk.
Would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a good clean convenient hotel in central Santiago.
We are from Australia and would possibly rate this as a 4 star property from what I've experienced in Australia. Chimu adventures booked this hotel for us and we were pleased.
You are not staying at a 5 star property so remember you shouldn't expect absolute pristine conditions.......but if you want very clean, comfortable and affordable, this will suit you. :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpanamericano, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hi,

Thanks for your kinds comments and for sharing them with the TripAdvisor community. We're glad you enjoyed our stay with us.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Very best.

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    591
    197
    27
    27
See reviews for
284
446
96
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a medium sized hotel in central Santiago, near the central business district, Government buildings etc. We stayed there as a family of three, and found the room with three single beds fairly cramped. The hotel was busy, and a little bit impersonal compared with smaller hotels we have used in South America. When we were there, everything was closed due to a public holiday, so the city centre was weirdly deserted night and day, with nothing open nearby. The location would be okay perhaps if everything was open, but maybe it would be better to stay somewhere with more atmosphere. Apart from that, the staff were efficient enough but too busy to be very helpful. This might be a better option for a business trip.

Room Tip: Don't stay here with more than two people in a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BazzaAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpanamericano, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi,

Thanks for your comments. We take them very seriously and appreciate you took the time to share your insights with us and the rest of the Tripadvisor community. We will use them as a tool to further improve our service and quality.

In fact the days when you stayed at our hotel were called "Fiestas Patrias" and it's the biggest and most important holiday in Chile. With that in mind we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The city is plenty of much more convenient located choices to stay.
Booked it in a hurry for an emergency trip and do not recommend. Too expensive for the budget traveller and lack the basic if you are looking for an standard business hotel.
Very tiny rooms with virtually no space for both you and your luggage.
Wi-fi Internet signal only worked in a few spots of the room (do not get corner rooms if you need to connect oftenly).
And the most complicate. Location. Downtown Santiago is not exactly convenient: few open choices of restaurants past 18:00 and traffic can prevent you to get in and out easily on rush hours.
Avoid it and seriously consider other options.

Room Tip: If you have to be here. Avoid at all costs the corner rooms if you need wi-fi badly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vmazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpanamericano, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi,

Thanks for your comments. We take them very seriously and appreciate you took the time to share your insights with us and the rest of the Tripadvisor community.

We will look into the wifi signal to make sure problems like the one you reported won't keep happening in the future.

Regards,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is downtown central Santiago, but the rooms have good soundproofing and are very comfortable, big bathrooms. Wifi worked well in the room. Didn't use any other facilities, but as I said if you get a good deal it is well worth staying here, convenient departure point for airport too,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rattlebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpanamericano, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi,

We are very glad you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to share your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Very best,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This hotel had good and bad points. If I wanted a room in central Santiago again I’d consider returning because the location is so convenient.

The good - well located for my tourism stay in Santiago: (a) there is a Turbus terminal nearby in Moneda St and one of the airport link bus routes starts & terminates there; (b) the hotel is close to the Plaza de Armas, the social centre of Santiago and the meeting point for an excellent walking tour; (c) there are 2 Metro stations nearby, on different lines; (d) attractions like the Pre-Columbian Art Museum & National History Museum are close by.

The bad - the staff. I don’t expect a lot from hotel staff and if they’re competent I’m happy but at the Panamericano one of the reception staff made a point of being sarcastic because I spoke English, and a few of the others seemed to be taking big doses of grumpy pills. Also, the room safe developed a fault and I had to report it twice before it was fixed (all up it took an hour to get it open – I’m glad I wasn’t in a hurry to catch a flight).

The location is in the CBD and most of the nearby restaurants are closed on weekends. However there is good eating in the Bellavista district (try Galindo for traditional Chilean dishes) and 1 km to the west is Plaza Brasil with a dozen restaurants & bars to choose from (open nights and weekends).

The room itself was good, there are public internet PCs on each floor and the breakfast buffet had good variety and reasonable quality. Overall the hotel was good value for money. I stayed 6 nights.

If you do decide to stay here I would advise against booking directly through the hotel’s website. It requires a credit card guarantee and has a secure webpage to enter the details in (like most hotels), however it sent an email to confirm my booking that showed my full credit card number, expiry date and billing name without any security.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mark_SydNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpanamericano, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi Mark,

Thanks for your comments. We are very glad to hear that overall you enjoyed staying with us. We take all the comments very seriously and appreciate you took the time sharing them with the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

We will use yours comments regarding the staff service as a tool to further improve it. We have also passed your comments regarding your credit card to the proper department.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Best,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a modest, clean, centrally located high-rise hotel frequented by budget-minded travelers. It seemed pretty full during our stay of about one week in Nov. & Dec., 2011. This hotel is conveniently close to most of Santiago´s major sights—the wonderful Pre-Columbian art museum, lovely municipal theater, Plaza de Armas, La Moneda, Barrio Paris-Londres. The hotel is only 5 blocks from the main subway line, and near two bus terminals. There are not many good restaurants nearby except for the wonderful Donde Augusto seafood restaurant in the nearby Municipal Market and the traditional Bar Nacional about 3 blocks from this hotel. Those who want to be near more restaurants and better shopping should consider staying in La Providencia or the more trendy Las Condes.
Pros—clean, decent size, good beds, hardwood floors, flat screen TV, desk, good service at reception, pretty good buffet breakfast, relatively inexpensive ($95 jr. suite).
Cons—Wi-Fi does not work in the rooms. There are two computers at reception that guests can use free, but they are pretty busy. The hotel blocks phone calls on Skype. My shower did not drain well but it didn’t fill up much.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpanamericano, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi,

We are very glad you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to share your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

Regarding the lack of wifi and skype calls being blocked, we have passed this information to the proper department. Thanks for noticing it.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Very best,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We chose this hotel based on the generally complimentary reviews we had read. Unfortunately, our experience was not that good. The hotel is quite shabby and desperately in need of refurbishment. The bed linen on the twin beds in our room was too small for the beds, so within minutes it was in disarray. The air conditioner was the "in window" kind, so it got covered when you closed the curtains. Consequently, you had to stuff the curtains around the a/c unit just to allow the air to flow.

The bathroom was small, but functional. Unfortunately the toilet cistern frequently kept running. Amenities were not readily supplied. For example, the shampoo wasn't replaced until the current bottle was empty. Similarly, toilet paper wasn't readily provided. I presume we were expected to use the douchette. Contrary to what was said by another reviewer, I didn't find the towels and face washers fluffy. In fact, they were pretty much threadbare. And on the day we were checking out they disappeared from our room while we were having breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, it was OK, but no where near as good as at the hotel we had stayed at in Buenos Aires. The dining area was quite unattractive, and very poorly laid out.

The hotel did provide free wifi, but unfortunately it was pretty flaky most of the time, so was not reliable.

The staff were generally helpful, although my lack of Spanish did make communication difficult. I'm sure I heard one of the porters rubbishing us for not speaking Spanish. Fair enough, although I would say in my defense that as an Australian I don't get much opportunity to speak Spanish, so developing and maintaining proficiency in Spanish would be hard.

But for us the worst thing about this hotel was the location. We arrived in Santiago on a Saturday, and downtown Santiago on the weekend is pretty much dead. In fact, we struggled to find appealing restaurants for dinner most nights. Downtown is great for easy access to Plaza de Armas and surrounding cultural attractions, but it's not really a great place to stay if you're looking for restaurants at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wagsat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpanamericano, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi,

We are very sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel didn't live up to your expectations. We take all the comments very seriously and appreciate you took the time to share them with the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

We will use them as a tool to further improve our service.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Very best,

Hotel Panamericano
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
RQ Santiago
#46 of 200 in Santiago
478 reviews
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#68 of 200 in Santiago
3,979 reviews
RQ Providencia
#62 of 200 in Santiago
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Galerias
#75 of 200 in Santiago
882 reviews
Presidente Suites Santiago
#37 of 200 in Santiago
408 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#17 of 200 in Santiago
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panamericano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panamericano

Property: Hotel Panamericano
Address: Teatinos 320 | Corner Huerfanos, Santiago 8340416, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Santiago
#41 Family Hotel in Santiago
#48 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Panamericano 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Panamericano Santiago de Chile is located in the heart of the Centro or Downtown Santiago. The Hotel is located within walking distance from the Government Palace, one of the safest areas of the capital of Chile, which is the Financial, Cultural, Civic and Trade center of the country.Hotel Panamericano stands out among the many deals in hotels in Santiago since it incorporates a full range of hotel services, features 170 cozy and spacious rooms and modern "Junior Suites", tourism services in Santiago and its surroundings, car park, laundry, gym and boxing school for executives, meeting rooms, conference rooms, meeting rooms and rooms for marriages. We have a luxurious VIP meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Panamericano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamericano Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing