We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bellavista Hostel
Ranked #31 of 537 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The best thing is the location. Also have a good breakfast, a nice and helpful staff and a very good atmosphere. However, the lock of my room was very noisy and the terrace for common use was almost inside the room, wich can be good and bad.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anavbrandao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 396 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

The best thing about this hostel is the location. The Bellavista is a great area to stay in with countless bars, pubs and restaurants literally 2 minutes from your doorstep. The hostel isn't too close that the noise will keep you up all night either although the occasional drunk fool will yell out from time to time so ear plugs maybe recommended. The drinks at a lot of these places are really cheap too. There are 3 kitchens (one fully funcitonal) so it's not too crowded if you want to make a meal. The staff were friendly and the hostel had a very relaxed vibe about it.

The only major downside is the breakfast is very mediocre, with the typical plastic white bread and orange or plum jam (the 2 worst jams in the history of the world) but you do get a banana. While the hostel is huge it seems like if you would benefit from one large room for people to congregate. It's a little bit social but not the best hostel to meet other people (if you're that way inclined).

Definitely worth staying for the location.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the main road. It wasn't that noisy but those with sensitive ears woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NoBogansPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Bellavista Hostel was a good experience, overall. I am a professional guy in my early fifties and I have not used hostels since I was a student (30 years ago!). The hostel was basic, well run, clean, there were friendly and helpful staff and I felt safe there. There is a basic breakfast each day. If I felt bored with the breakfast, I could go outside somewhere to pay for something different. There was a good lock on the door to my (private) room and I was confident that I could leave my stuff there, securely, and no-one could get access to the room, expect the cleaning staff. The neighbourhood is a tourist trap with bad, greedy, businesses like restaurants and bars. There is a particularly bad, bad, bad Irish Pub which I would advice people to avoid (I am Irish and I know what I am talking about). Some of the restaurants in the central tourist-trap area are over priced and the food is nothing special. If you walk a few blocks you can find cheap good-quality restaurants & bars where your business will be appreciated. There are some crime problems in the area, but if you stay off the street late at night and you stay awake, you will be OK. Sanitago is a great city and Chile is a super place to travel in. :-) FJC Ireland

Room Tip: My room was over the main street and it was a little noisy, especially at the weekends. However, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I loved the location of Bellavista hostel.. could not be better. Very good atmosphere. Beds were comfortable, but I thought the rooms could have been cleaner. I stayed for 3 nights and had to ask for more toilet paper a couple of times and for them to empty the garbages. It did not seem like the rooms were cleaned every day. That said, it was not the kind of disgusting, dont stay here dirty, but that was the area where I see room for improvement.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The location is superb, the breakfast avarage, nice that they have fresh fruits. Staff is nice and helpful. If you got a room facing the street good luck to sleep! It gets really noisy before and after midnight because of nearby bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AntonellaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

a really cool hostel with nice and friendly people behind the front desk. Very clean and comfortable ! A good place to meet new people and many possibilities to hang out or go out in the neighborhood. A good breakfast without limit.
I like !

Room Tip: a mixed dorm is every time good to meet many people ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julianvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I was in this hostel for 2 nights. Wonderful location! It was clean and spacious, and specially the staff were very friendly and helpful.The best: big and clean bathrooms and showers. There is a theatre at one block from the hostel and lots of pubs and disco in the same area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank damian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
La Chimba Hostel
#34 of 537 in Santiago
455 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 537 in Santiago
844 reviews
La Casa Roja Hostel
#14 of 537 in Santiago
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
#30 of 537 in Santiago
291 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#13 of 537 in Santiago
570 reviews
Happy House Hostel
#6 of 537 in Santiago
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bellavista Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellavista Hostel

Address: Dardignac 0184 | Providencia, Santiago 7530216, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 537 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $17 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellavista offers the right way to visit the city's trendiest district. In the heart of Barrio Bellavista, our hostel is steps away from the most cultural points Santiago has to offer. Our barrio is packed with chic restaurants, stylish bars and trendy boutiques. We have private double rooms and dorms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bellavista Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellavista Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing