We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, A Kettle In The Room, Convenient But Not Quite What It Seems....”
Review of Hotel Neruda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Neruda
Ranked #83 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Maybe one day Trip Advisor will get around to combining this thread with Apart Hotel Neruda which is the same place but with the wrong location on the map......One day....

I spent four nights here last month.....It is a strange sort of place, in fact I think it is two hotels in one, which explains some of the wild differences in the reviews.....The lift in the lobby only serves the first few floors and then as someone points out below, you have to trek to the back of the building, through a locked door, (which can only be opened with a key card if you want to get back to reception), if you are on the 5th floor or above. It doesnt really matter though because you can use the side entrance to get in and out.

Like most hotels I stayed in during five weeks travelling around South America, it has seen better days and the hallways are a bit battered, but then that often happens in the best run of places everywhere in the world.

I was on the 14th floor looking south across Santiago....The room was not exactly spacious but had a wood floor which was swept and washed daily, towels and sheets were also changed daily even though the sign in the bathroom said they only changed towels if you left them on the floor.

But wow a kettle in the room, a first out of all the hotels I had stayed in South America so far, being always prepared I always carry my Hot Rod with me so I can make tea in the room, but this still means I need to borrow a cup from the restaurant., and here there were cups, glasses, plates cutlery, even a little cooker and a microwave so you can do a little cooking if you want. Very useful.

The staff were friendly and helpful, like most places in South America there are few that speak fluent English and you just have to get used to this and get the South American Spanish phrase book out!

Pricewise it is not bad value and similarly priced as other hotels in Peru and Chile, but for what you get is much more expensive than in Greece, for instance.

Location is excellent, in the leafy suburb of Providencia, with some good places to eat nearby, there is a good place in the street behind the hotel called 'Canela and Comino', there are some sushi places close by.

There is also a small shopping centre nearby which has an excellent jewellery shop selling some nice stuff which is not at all 'touristy.

You can walk into the city centre if you want, which is a bit of a trek, but there are two Metro stations you can use if you are feeling lazy, although I would recommend the walk through Bellavista, where there are some fine old buildings, up to The Metropolitan Park, and you will find some interesting eateries on the way too.

If you happen to know anyone that lives locally they will be round with the swimgear as soon as they hear you are staying here as the indoor pool is quite good. The gym looked pretty well equipped too.

Two things to watch out for....
Don't let them do your laundry, I did and ended up with a laundry bill of US$76, the same lot of washing cost US$15 a week earlier in Peru! There is a laundry in Av. Providencia just near Pedro de Valdivia Metro.

Secondly, if you are out late at night be aware that on the corner of Av, 11 de Septiembre seems to be the haunt of some 'ladies of the night', they are quite low key and harmless though.

Breakfast was OK although the toaster takes forever, there was one morning when the scrambled eggs had grey bits in it where they were a bit undercooked. Nice crispy bacon though, the coffee was not too good, but that is normal for South America.

Room Tip: Get a room on the south side because it will be cooler as the sun passes to the north, on 12th and 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitselakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 614 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

This building was in need of remodeling. Plaster was cracking and everything looked worn. The beds were comfortable enough. It was difficult to figure out the elevator. It is in the direction of a U-shaped path from the check-in desk behind a door that resembled a closet. Then when I went back down the elevator, I had to use my key card to get through the locked closet-like door and follow the U-path back to the front desk. Odd setup. The breakfasts were good with yogurt, meat, cheese, pastries, and cereal. Some of the front desk staff spoke a little English, but most did not. It is about a 20 min. taxi ride from the airport. You can take a taxi for around $30, or I was told there is a shuttle for $14 per person. It was in a safe, quiet neighborhood. There were restaurants, some shopping, and a pharmacy nearby. Our room had a kitchenette.

Room Tip: My room had a floor AC. You might want to make sure that the room you reserve has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yobei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The hotel may be rated highly in one section, but we were put in the apartment side with a filthy hallway, exposed outlets, non operational phone, kettle with old water in it, and nothing available to eat or drink. When arriving internationally from a late flight, after spending two hours in immigration and customs, we did expect more. Everything is old, including a television from the 90s. The roomservice was not available and menu soiled with beer or something else sticky. The floor was clean but the room smelled stale. The towels are bleached into sandpaper. I'm trying to move out asap.

Room Tip: stay in the refurbished wing or leave immediately
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomas t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This is a $30 a night hotel (at best). My company hosted a workshop at the hotel and pretty much everyone of our 40+ team had issues with their rooms (toilets not flushing, no hot water, no AC, etc.). But to make matters worse, the front desk services was disorganized, incompetent and often rude. Undoubtedly one of the worst service experiences of my life.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Although better than its current tripadvisor rating this hotel is far from great.

The lobby is nice and spotless. However, once you go into the corridors you start seeing the dust, badly fitted fittings and wallpaper peeling.

The room was big(ish) with a comfotable bed. However, as spotted by others the water whilst having a shower varies wildly without moving the taps. One minute you are showering in luke warm water the other you are scalding. It was also my impression that the floor in room was not hoovered very often.

The friendliness in the hotel varies. The cleaning ladies were far and away the most friendly. Reception was curteous. However staff at the breakfast were downright rude. For the five breakfasts i was there my smile and "hola buenos dias" was never reciprocated.

The breakfast was ok, but one day the bread was mouldy.

All in all although not terrible, i would spend my pesos somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank altruisticguy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

My fiancee and I made a 8 night reservation at the Neruda hotel. We should had checked the Tripadvisor ratings!. I'm Chilean and was happy to find a roon, during winter vacation with a great location, but as soon as we entered the hotel, we became dissapointed. The front desk people, were too busy talking to each other rather than welcoming and helping the guests, we felt completely ignored. It takes hour to get the staff to accomplish anything There's no bilingual staff as advertised either, or they just weren't available that day, so I had to interpret for my fiancee.
The rooms are terrible, no dressers, not enough towels, not even a box of kleenex!!. Our mini fridge had a half empty juice bottle, and after drinking a bottle of water from it, we were charged for two. Also our room, faced the lobby, so it was pretty noisy (there's a half circle of rooms on the second floor facing the lobby, who thought of that?...).
The staff lacks manners and friendliness, there's no "Holas", nor "Buenos dias", just empty stares.
We had enough after one night, and were lucky to find a room at LE REVE, also in Providencia (Excellent!).
It's a shame this hotel is even named after our great poet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thsweetlife123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

The location is very good, at Barrio Providencia, close to good restaurants, such as "Giratorio" and "Aqui Esta Coco" and close to subway stations. The problem for me was my room. Too small, too noisy. unpleasent. The breakfast was very simple and every day the same. At least, the hotel staff was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the new apartments, at the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandreS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Hotel Torremayor Providencia
Hotel Torremayor Providencia
#64 of 202 in Santiago
403 reviews
Providencia
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#65 of 202 in Santiago
476 reviews
Providencia
Park Plaza
Park Plaza
#70 of 202 in Santiago
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Eurotel Providencia
Eurotel Providencia
#81 of 202 in Santiago
440 reviews
Providencia
Diego de Velazquez
Diego de Velazquez
#57 of 202 in Santiago
738 reviews
Providencia
Apart Neruda
Apart Neruda
#174 of 202 in Santiago
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neruda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neruda

Address: Avenida Pedro de Valdivia 164, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: $100 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Neruda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Neruda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neruda Hotel Santiago
Hotel Neruda Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing