We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Boutique Hotel”
Review of Park Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Plaza
Ranked #68 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We LOVED this hotel! For what we got: the amazing free breakfast, the beautiful rooms, the service, etc., the price was phenomenal! The staff was courteous, and spoke English very well, the food was great, and the amenities were perfect. When we had any problems, we we would simply call down, and within minutes, the problem was solved. Great location as well, as several banks, pharmacies, a market, and more, are located within a block. Plus, it is literally a 3 minute walk to the metro. A++++! A GREAT boutique hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwohlge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
There are newer reviews for Park Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2009

We had been for a couple of days.
The location, the rooms, reception, and the building are beautiful.
But the problems were on the services, at the door, with the parking man, at the desk and particulary at the restaurant. The staff use to be friendly but there is a serious lack of support, management and organization. We enjoyed a good experience at the restaurant on Saturday nigth, tipped them very generously and them a disapointed "dinner" on Sunday when just two different waiters were attending more than 25 people at the restaurant, attending also more people at the bar, and also the room service, via a telephone line ringing continously. And according what both waiters said it was just one person cooking that nigth for all these people at the restaurant and rooms. After more than an hour eating cookies, bread and finally a first dish very bad prepared, we decided to leave the restaurant. paying the acoount and leaving an additional 20%, more as reserve to avoid any complaint than a real tip.
The gym had some machines out of services, as the bycicle. And the very small tank filled with water at the top floor deserve another title or description than the swmming pool.
The initial services every morning cleaning the room is perfect, but the second round in the evening is just a bluf because the girl knock the door about 5 or 6 pm just asking if you like a little chocolate as a gift.
i have serious doubts about recommend this hotel to someone, particulary because it is too much expensive for these services.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jagrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

The Santiago Park Plaza is a small, non-chain hotel with a retro style (more English Club than Chile, but it sets the tone). The rooms in the regular (non-suite) section are not huge, but quite comfortable. The place is kept clean and picked up to high standards. There is a (small) pool on the top floor with a great view of the city and Cerro St Cristobal to the north. While it was tall when built, the neighborhood has densified around it, a sign of the prosperity of Providencia. Breakfast (always included in Chile) is a large buffet with the usual warning to make sure things are hot. They will make espresso for you (a way to escape the coffee of a country where instant is still the standard). There is wi-fi in the building, quick access is free in the lobby, but pay up higher. Some laptops may see too many other options from the neighboring office towers. Across Ricardo Lyons is the entrance to Las Leones subway stop, thus simple access to the whole network.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nix_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Excellent hotel but we cannot give it a five star because of the terrible service in the restaurant. It was quite bizarre: the staff in the hotel itself were wonderful but it was as if the restaurant was a different company!

We had dinner there the first night - it wasn't particularly busy but the staff got our orders wrong, forgot to bring out our side dishes, and basically ignored us for the evening to tend to a table of elderly Americans. We generally tip generously but as we are relatively young and European (Irish), we tend to get ignored in these types of restaurants. I suppose I can't blame the staff all that much - in a cost/benefit analysis I would also probably go with the elderly Americans too rather than the young Irish couple. But at the same time, this does not mean that we should be completely ignored. At the end of the meal, the waiter insisted on a 10% tip. He could not understand when we refused to tip and we had to go out to the hotel reception to explain and write out comments on a card. Incidentally, the Americans did not tip either (despite all the attention) so they should perhaps review their approach.

Next morning, for breakfast, different staff but same story, we were IGNORED and had to go get coffee and everything else ourselves, when everyone else was being served! It was a bizarre experience, they should rename it the Franz Kafka hotel. But as I said, the hotel itself is excellent, brilliant rooms and brilliant service.

As a side, I can wholeheartdely recommend going to Santiago. We had heard mixed reports but we were so glad we went. Fascinating city and very friendly locals! And excellent places to eat, just avoid the hotel restaurant!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priceprom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

This was our first trip to Chile and we picked Santiago Park Plaza because of the great reviews it received through Tripadvisor, looked to be in a residential area and not a huge franchise hotel like the Marriot, etc. We were very disappointed. The hotel staff seemed to have an attitude from day 1 and that never changed during our 3 day stay. We are in the service industry and are always friendly and tip very well! The doorman was sometimes there to open the door and sometimes no where to be found. We stayed in a Junior suite only to find out it was an average hotel room nothing extra. Part of our package was to receive a bottle of red wine upon arrival along with a daily fruit basket and newspaper. We never received our bottle of red wine but upon arrival there were 2 bottles of wine in the room which we thought obviously was part of our package. We opened one of the bottles the first night only to find the bottle was corked (bad) so we put the bottle back with cork and left it for housekeeping to exchange the next day for another bottle. Long story short when we checked out the hotel tried to charge us for the bottle which we brought back to them during our check out process (housekeeping never picked up the bottle) we tried to explain that we were suppose to receive a bottle of red wine upon our arrival and thought the wine in the room was part of our paid package. The bottles of wine had no pricing so we just assumed that one of the bottles was our's to drink. We spent an endless amount of time debating this during check out and after 10 minutes they agreed to take it off our bill. I also advised them that we never received our daily paper and only received our fruit basket the day before departure. Their reasoning was that we had a privacy sign on our door and our response was that our room was cleaned each day and should have been put in the room then. Our second to last night at 3am in the morning we woke up to sexual noises in the room next to us. We also heard them talking the next morning. So the walls are paper thin in the rooms.

Also, I found the wait staff in the restaurant to be unfriendly and the service was poor. The breakfast buffet overall was excellent too bad the staff ruined our experience.

The only thing we liked was the hotel was clean and in a good location. We would not recommend this hotel nor stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

Sometimes there are just not enough words to describe the perfect place to stay! The Santiago Park Plaza Hotel has it all.... Location, Amazing Staff, Clean/Well Kept Rooms, Great Free Breakfast, and too many other amenities to list! One block from the subway (metro) and the main street that runs through the city. The concierge staff, especially Roberto, helped with everything and anything from restaurants, directions, car rentals, etc.! Free internet is available on PC's in the business center. The hotel also arranged for a driver to pick us up and bring us back tot the airport in a private car. They have an indoor pool on the roof with a wonderful view of the city. Best of all.... the price was more than reasonable! Just remember to make your reservations in US Dollars and then there is no tax! Any questions, feel free to contact me! Enjoy Santiago!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We arrived at this hotel at three in the morning (having previously advised the hotel of our arrival ttime) to find the doors locked and after fifteem minutes of knocking no response. On looking through the windows we found that the reception staff (all three of them) were sleeping.
The room was pleasant and the hotel was in a nice location.
surrounded by resturants and shops but little of interest to tourists.
Although the Metro is only 200 yards away.
the food in the hotel was ok
Liked the reception area

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Diego de Velazquez
Diego de Velazquez
#57 of 202 in Santiago
729 reviews
Providencia
Solace Hotel Santiago
Solace Hotel Santiago
#7 of 202 in Santiago
427 reviews
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#3 of 202 in Santiago
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
NH Ciudad de Santiago
NH Ciudad de Santiago
#53 of 202 in Santiago
1,463 reviews
Hotel Orly
#23 of 202 in Santiago
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza

Address: Avenida Ricardo Lyon 207 | Providencia, Santiago 6650385, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Santiago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#32 Family Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: $105 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santiago Park Plaza is a five star boutique hotel, in classic English style, with cutting edge technology, at the service of today’s businessman. We have introduced a concept of closeness and empathy with our guests, which has become the hallmark of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Santiago
Santiago Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing