We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“verging on excellent...Penguin Family Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
Ranked #16 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 21, 2009

This hotel is an oasis of calm and exudes quality.

You are put in a relaxed state of mind from the start as your luggage is carried through the door as the entrance is opened for you. The reception area continues the theme. It's almost as though a large English Manor house has been transported to Chile.
Soft, comfortable furniture. Unobtrusive waiters offering you refreshments.

Easy check-in process (shame about the delay as the computers had broken, small points-dockage).

Rooms are all you would expect from a business-heavy hotel - good quality and well appointed.

Knowledgable concierge service for all your day-trip needs.

Excellent restaurant, especially for sunday lunch, which seems to attract large families of wealthy chilenos spending the afternoon there. (If the locals enjoy it, it's usually good!)

Very good bar with an extensive cocktail selection and excellent nibbles.

Surprisingly good value also. i've never found a hotel in Europe that offers this level of service at this level of cost.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penguin_Family_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 1,395 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2009

It was my first time in a Ritz-carlton hotel, the room was very good and the staff pretty helpful and friendly. The spa area is the best!
The location is awesome! next to the subway and many good restaurants, a must try is the seafood, the best I ever tried!! also the chilean drink "Pisco Sour" and wine.
The hotel has Bulgari products for bathroom, but I didn't like it at all, because I was smelling like a man all day! I don't know if they have something different for woman.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carocont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

My wife and I spent four fabulous nights at the Ritz where we enjoyed the "star treatment". We stayed in a regular (deluxe) room that was well appointed with a luxurious king sized bed! The pool, gym and restaurant were wonderful.
We used the "bath butler" service and had the wine and oatmeal bath ($40 US) and loved it! The breakfast (included) had smoked salmon, and various other decadent choices. Spoil yourself and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian_Titan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

This Ritz is as beautiful as the many others at which we have stayed. The room was nicely appointed and the Bulgari products are always appreciated. Where this Ritz does not measure up is in terms of its service. For all the employees milling around, and there are many of them, the dining room hostesses forgot to return my coat/bags to me at two different opportunities. Attending a small private cocktail hour before a group dinner one night I asked for the classic Pisco Sour that most Chileans enjoy before dinner. It arrived 20 minute later, just as we were leaving for another dinner. I called down to the front desk early one morning to ask a few questions since there was absultuely no literature in my room to indicate whether the hotel charges for local calls (yes, they do and it's by the minute!). Since the phone in my room couldn't connect to the front desk or the operator I called the concierge, the next logical choice. A young man seemed overwhelmed by my questions (likelihood of rain that day), basically told me that these questons weren't his job (Despite the fact that I explained how my phone did not function as it should, he never offered to send maintenance to repair it) and put me on hold. I hung up after holding 5 minutes and called again. This time a pleasant young woman answered and said she would help me. After putting me on hold for each question and returning with very imprecise answers (200 pesos per local call. After some prodding she explained that it depended on the length of the call but could give no further details. One 10 minute call cost me 850 pesos), I decided not to waste any more time, 20 minutes having already elapsed. Check out was also difficult as I questioned a charge that was being paid for by the company which had invited me. It was removed but after a rather laborious process.
The young man who is the chief doorman (he wears a top hat) speaks very good English and is the type of Ritz employees you normally encounter on Ritz properties. Sadly, he seems to be the only member of the staff who reaches traditional Ritz standards.
Fortunately this is a great location with many other hotels (and restaurants) within easy walking distance so you have many good choices available all around.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellinGal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Not much to say, besides it is a wonderful hotel with excellent service and very good location. Fancy and beautiful, big rooms and very clean. Friendly staff and very good service!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saopaulo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

The folks at The Ritz in Santiago sure know how to make a guy feel welcome. From the oh-so comfortable bed to the polite and attentive staff - and those delicious Bulgari products - every experience at this hotel reminds you that you are indeed in a special place.

There's lots to see and do in Santiago but definitely set aside a few hours to enjoy the gym, pool and roof deck (weather permitting of course). I even tried out the Carmenere bath - a ridiculously decadent experience where your bathtub is filled with local Chilean wine and oatmeal (for exfoliation) and Bulgari bath bubbles. Worth it. Loved it.

And you needn't look further than the hotel's lobby bar - an English hunting lodge that serves ceviche and delicious pisco sours. Was in town for work but looked forward to ending my evenings at this cool spot.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
4  Thank Beaurex212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Stayed for 4 nights recently for business and leisure. Hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were fabulous. I would recommed this hotel to anyone traveling to Santiago.

just a side note -- If you do not speak conversant Spanish and are not willing to engage in a confrontation, do not use city taxis. Use the hotel car service. It is more expensive, but well worth it. However, if you dont mind a little action, feel free to use a normal taxi (yellow roof)

Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
Thank joshkrentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Las Condes
W Santiago
W Santiago
#36 of 202 in Santiago
1,718 reviews
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
#9 of 202 in Santiago
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#3 of 202 in Santiago
995 reviews
Hotel Santiago
#42 of 202 in Santiago
2,043 reviews
Santiago Marriott Hotel
#26 of 202 in Santiago
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago

Address: Calle El Alcalde No. 15, Santiago 8360482, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Las Condes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santiago
#3 Family Hotel in Santiago
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#4 Spa Hotel in Santiago
#6 Green Hotel in Santiago
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: $297 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a unique location, with equal distance to both local beaches and ski resorts, The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago is the ideal starting point for your Chilean adventures. With 205 luxurious guest rooms and suites, including 49 Club Level rooms, we invite you to be inspired amid spectacular city and sweeping mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Santiago Hotel Santiago
Santiago Ritz Carlton
Ritz Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing