We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caution”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
Ranked #18 of 198 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Caution”
Reviewed May 6, 2008

I stayed twice in January of 08 at this hotel and the rooms are very clean, very Ritz-Carlton, ie, floral prints, mahogany, etc...the breakfast and the food all around was excellent....try the wine bar in the lobby where in one sitting you can sample every good wine that Chile has to offer...BUT if you go and want to use the pool that is a problem. The pool area is small and very limited on the roof top...but worst of all, and very surprising, it was VERY DIRTY AND UNKEMPT. They were used dirty towels all over the place, dirty empty glasses, cigarette buds...it looked like no one worked there, and they few that did were impossible to find. NOT AT ALL Ritz-Carlton service when you have to get up and walk to the bar to ask for a drink..and at the prices they charge....

I would say stay at the Hyatt and go have wine and apps at the Ritz...much better choice.

Helpful?
3 Thank travelPAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    296
    87
    37
    21
See reviews for
200
516
48
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southend on Sea, Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Stayed at the Ritz Carlton on our first night in Santiago.
The Italian premier was also at the hotel, so security was rife.
Mind you, the Italian premier staying will give you a really good idea of how nice the hotel is, professional, clean efficient with a lovely restuarant and wine celler.
We loved this hotel indeed the bedrooms were very comfortable great bathroom, all round fabulous.

  • Liked — Great location and very civilised
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank williamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz-Carlton after completing a cruise around South America. As always, we booked two connecting rooms, which we got. The Ritz is a lovely property and we enjoyed our meals in the hotel restaurant, and especially tasting the Chilean wines in their 365 bar.

My first problem occurred when I went to take a shower the first night. I couldn't find the floor mat to step on when exiting the shower, so used a towel. I went to dry my hair and there was no hair dryer. I called and one was brought up. There is a huge construction area directly below all the rooms on our side of the building. From 8:30 in the morning to 5:30 at night, the sounds came into the room. We were not pre-warned about this and were told there were no connecting rooms on the other side of the building?? The windows leaked like a sieve, which didn't help the sound problem. The next day I noticed i didn't have a smoke detector in the room. I turned that in and it was replaced that day. Items I had used in the bathroom were not replaced, such as cotton balls and bottles of water. It was very haphazard house keeping and maintenance. Would I stay here again? For the price we paid and the problems we had, no way. I was shocked that a hotel with a 5 star rating could disappoint me so much.

  • Liked — Beautifully decorated throughout the hotel
  • Disliked — All the problems I had with my room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAGRAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

What a lovely hotel. This hotel has it ALL! The fantastic staff, the lovely rooms, the outstanding food....everything here is fully above expectation. A star in the world of hotels. Bravo!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mascara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2008

Though the decor is not really my style, thats about the only thing that i can fault at this Hotel.
We stayed for four nights in the club level - the food in the club lounge is very good you could eat all your meals there and never leave the floor!
The check in was fast and friendly.
The room was old fashioned but very well done, all fixtures and fittings were fresh and in good order.
The internet was free and fast - not wireless though.
The restauarant was very good with knowledgable staff happy to guide us through choosing good Chilean wines
The gym was a little on the small side, but has all the neccesary equipment and a great view from the glass roof!
The hotel is about 50 metres from a subway station.
The highlight for us which sums up the level of service we received was upon returning to the hotel from an evening jog we were offered towels and chilled bottles of water before we even got into the hotel by the conceirge staff.

  • Liked — the exceptionally high standards
  • Disliked — didnt stay there long enough!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gregandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Santiago for 4 nights. The Ritz is a great place to spend your vacation - the staff members, especially concierge and the bus staff are hugely helpful and very accomodating. They planned a horse backing riding tour for us and set up many restaraunt reservations (including an amazing restaraunt Porto Fuy - not to be missed). The guide books say that Santiago is just a layover spot for other destinations, but we disagree.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Construction on a huge parking lot right new door
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spenjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chile
Level Contributor
155 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

we are locals and stayed here as an anniversary package
unimpressive lobby normally decorated very low ceiling
hate carpets and room design if you like modern decor you will feel unconfortable with all the flowers and color combos
door was knocked 2 times with dont disturb sign
very little spa dont know if 5 stars properties has a standar for thisif they have sure this one is the low minimum
Adra restaurant :first and last visit

location is very good walking distance to many good restaurants and the indoor pool in the upper floor is very nice we enjoy a wonderfull sunset which i can say was the only thing that really meet expectations

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltraveledA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Grand Hyatt Santiago
#41 of 198 in Santiago
1,967 reviews
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
#7 of 198 in Santiago
836 reviews
Las Condes
W Santiago
W Santiago
#37 of 198 in Santiago
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#4 of 198 in Santiago
912 reviews
Santiago Marriott Hotel
#26 of 198 in Santiago
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
Address: Calle Uno 15, Santiago 8360482, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Las Condes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santiago
#3 Family Hotel in Santiago
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#4 Spa Hotel in Santiago
#6 Green Hotel in Santiago
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a unique location, with equal distance to both local beaches and ski resorts, The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago is the ideal starting point for your Chilean adventures. With 205 luxurious guest rooms and suites, including 49 Club Level rooms, we invite you to be inspired amid spectacular city and sweeping mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jetsetter, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Santiago Hotel Santiago
Santiago Ritz Carlton
Ritz Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing