We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel BUT slow checkout and bad restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Cristobal Tower, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santiago
Ranked #59 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel is nice, but I had two problems. One in the restaurant of the hotel. I had a business lunch and the service was very bad, with huge delay and bad quality of the foods. As explanation, they said the restaurant was full. The other problem was a critical one, and it is related to the check out. There was only one girl for the checkout at 5am. Believe or not I did take 30 minutes to make my checkout. I had an internationlat flight and almost lost it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcosBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowieBrown206, General Manager at San Cristobal Tower, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santiago, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear MarcosBM;

I truly appreciate that your have taken part of your time to write a review about San Cristobal Tower.
I am sorry to hear that your experience was not outstanding as you expected. I already discussed your comments with the operational team in order to check and do full maintenance to those items you mentioned.

I would like to invite you to come back to this property, so you can give us a chance to demonstrate you the service and gastronomy we have been recognized for 40 years. Do not hesitate to contact me directly to my email: howie.brown@sheraton.com to handle your reservation personally.

Sincerely,

Howie Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 464 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel has excellent amenities and is well located, especially if you are doing business near the so called Sanhattan Area, a few walkable blocks away. This is important given the chaotic Santiago traffic. The restaurant is one of the best in Santiago, worth a trip for non guests. Overall service is top notch. My main complaint is the bad heating throughout the hotel. While it is true that during my stay Santiago was undergoing a cold spell, it would seem that a needed overhaul of the heating in rooms, restaurants and in general throughout the hotel is required. Until that occurs, stay here in the lovely spring and summer months, perhaps not during winter.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the mountain. Glorious views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

It is quite something to gaze out of the window, and see the towering snow clad Andean mountains in the distance. It is even more glorious to enjoy a leisurely breakfast in the 21st floor restaurant. The fruit and vegetables in Chile are truly wonderful.

This was my first trip to Chile, and I was bowled over by this wonderful country. The San Cristobal certainly added to the experience. I arrived after an exhausing 3 part journey from Europe, and was delighted to find, as I sat waiting to check in, that fresh coffee, croissants, fruit and orange juice were on hand to revive me. My room was outstanding - up on the fifteenth floor with a great view. The bathroom was sumptuous (and spotless), the bedroom huge, with a spacious sitting area, and speedy internet access.

The staff in the hotel were unfailingly helpful and polite. In contrast to one of the other reviews, I had lovely canapes when I went to the bar, as a prelude to dinner. I availed myself of the concierge who was extremely helpful in organising a sight-seeing tour and visit to a winery, in the small amount of liesure time I had. The ground floor restaurant (in the adjoining Sheraton) had very good food and service. The only thing not quite to my taste is the very late hours that people keep for dinner - I'm normally tucked-up in bed by 11pm, but not in Chile!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nandu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

As most of the reviewers here, I´ve got an upgrade when arriving to Sheraton. After being directed to the Tower lounge I had to wait like 10-15 minutes (Seated) in order to make a check-in, to be honest I was about to get up, head back to Sheraton and just ask for a regular room. Thankfully I didn´t.

The room is spacious, well decorated and cosy (unlike W in Santiago). The lights are just right and the giant LCD TV is a fine touch. This is one of the best hotel rooms I´ve been at (and I visited a few). Everything was spot on clean, the reduced number of rooms per floor adds to the sensation of "home like", this is the extreme opposite of Sheraton (in the same building) that feels like a typical airport hotel.

Unfortunately service is Starwood regular grade meaning: Understaffed (especially at check-in), lack of information on the phone (while people may call you by name they will suffer to comply the most simple requests).

Pros: Fantastic room, eveything feels just right, Good room service (pricey but worth it), Cozy and small

Cons: Starwood service lacks personality and "running the extra mile" - not on par with room

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I was booked on the club floor of the Sheraton, but got "upgraded" to San Cristobal Tower. But the experience was bad from A to Z ... It began badly with the check-in. I was told by the bell boy to line up for this, actually as second in line. However, as only one check-in staff attended to the customers, I was still in line after 10 minutes, when the bell boy offered me to take a seat as "it won't be long ... ". Indeed rather quickly, after about 3 more minutes, I was given a welcome drink, but check-in staff only turned to me about 20 minutes after arrival. Yes, by that time there were quite a few more customers in line - so I guess I should consider myself lucky.
The room I was given showed wear and tear, especially the heating/AC was creating a noise level equivalent to the one at the threshold of a runway. Later, I was presented a bottle of wine, a nice touch. The buttler delivering the bottle didn't ask if he should open it. When I was unsucessfully looking for a corkscrew, I called the service line and was told that they removed them because of theft. But she promised to send the buttler again, in order to open the bottle. He arrived 20 minutes later ... I was told that the lounge would be on 21st floor. There was indeed a bar, which served some complimentary drinks and nibbles - yes two pieces of ham, each the size of a finger nail plus some nuts ... So this was the club lounge experience ...
Really hungry after this dose of ham, I went for dinner in the Sheraton cafeteria. Unfortunately, the steak sandwich was only marginally larger than the two pieces of ham in the lounge ... But at least, the price was five star!

Room Tip: book another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swiss_global_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowieBrown206, General Manager at San Cristobal Tower, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santiago, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Swiss_global_trip:

Thank you for sharing your experirence at our hotel. As a valuable guest to Starwood and to our Hotel, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had at San Cristobal Tower, which unfortunately impacted negataively your stay.
Being part of the hospitality industry, our main objective is to deliver satisfaction to all our guests. We regret very much that in this case we did not meet your expectations.
We appreciate your feedback and it has been shared with our Supervisors and team involved to take corrective actions and strengthen our quality controls as well as our training programs in order to improve our service. In case you consider to visit Santiago again it would be great for us to have the chance to host you and take care of all your requirements.

Sincerely,
Howie Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The San Cristobal Towers is a high end business hotel which sets itself apart in delivering consistently excellent and accomodating service. The rooms are wonderful and the restaurant is far above average for hotel restaurants. The only reservation would be the service in the 21st floor breakfast restaurant which was slow and indifferent - at times it was downright difficult to get a cup of coffee.
Will definitely return on future business trips to Santiago.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We checked in to the towers and the first time we ever got an upgrade! It was delightful. The towers is first class. The towers shares the grounds-pool etc. with the Sheraton. The pool area and outside kitchen, dining area was very nice. Also that where the smokers go! The inside bar was closed for renovations but they put on a lobby happy hour in the afternoon. It was quite limited because of people who spilled red wine on the carpets etc., so we all suffer for that. Overall it was a great expewrience.

Room Tip: upgrade to the towers the cost is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shortpockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Las Condes
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
#16 of 202 in Santiago
1,415 reviews
Hotel Santiago
#39 of 202 in Santiago
2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vitacura
Noi Vitacura
Noi Vitacura
#30 of 202 in Santiago
830 reviews
Las Condes
W Santiago
W Santiago
#36 of 202 in Santiago
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Cristobal Tower, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Cristobal Tower, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santiago

Address: Josefina Edwards de Ferrari 100, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Santiago
#24 Business Hotel in Santiago
#28 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#29 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#39 Family Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: $230 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — San Cristobal Tower, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santiago 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the majestic Andes Mountains as a backdrop, San Cristobal Tower, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santiago provides a sophisticated service in a privileged location. Nestled among parks and gardens in Providencia, just a few minutes away from the airport and conveniently located nearby museums, art galleries, theaters, restaurants and bars, our hotel in Santiago, Chile is ideal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Cristobal Tower, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Cristobal Tower Hotel Santiago
San Cristobal Hotel
San Cristobal Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing