We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Ciudad de Santiago
Ranked #58 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed here the last time in 2009 and still no changes. Everything is at its right place. Never the less, the hotel gets slowly outdated and one can see the wear and tear.
I like it because it is in walking distance to a quarter werer there are lots of restaurants and bars. And it is safe to walk, even after dark.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoachimG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

When you are close to downtown santiago, and you walk in with 3 bags with no assistance, and you yourself plop them on a luggage cart, and when you ask for assistance and to watch the bags while you check in because there was no security, and no one does...you know you are in for a bad stay.

Add to this sitting at the bar and asking if I could eat there and being looked at like you are strange by 4 bar staff doing very little. 10 minutes to prepare a cup of coffee as the only customer, 5 to get a beer served.

Now for the rooms...I have never seen so much dust and dirt on an airvent...I asked the maids about it and they 'could not reach them'. The airconditioning was mediocre.

I order room service and ask specifically for oil and vinegar with my salad...I did not get the vinegar so I politely ask for it...and was told NO...that I the CHEF put on a dressing and I did not need the vinegar.

Now for the night I arrived after 11pm - lights off in all hallways, pitch black - they claim they do this to be eco friendly. No assistance to find my room no flashlight...I mean it was pitch black. My coworkers and I probably woke up guests half laughing, half mortified.

They lack decoration - spacious room, yes with separate living room - but so spacious yet poorly equipped.

Restaurant dinner is pretty bad...breakfast, pretty mediocre...lunch sandwiches were ok.

Room Tip: Ask to be on a floor where they don't turn out the lights at 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmylo1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

good stay, great room but the breakfast service ruined a 5-star rating. Nobody had the lead and even though 8 people werer present every morning something else was missing. Nevertheless, NH does not stand for high end service and the location and anything else was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles
1  Thank andreheins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Very good location, near to Bella Vista street with plenty of good restaurants. 1 block to the subwaystation, near city downtown.

Sr. Andres and Sra. Rosalinna from reception were very friendly and attentive. Can´t say the same for all the receptionists.

Rooms were nice, very comfortable as we can see in the pictures of the webiste.
Hairdryer and good amenities. But the cleaner threw out my personal soap!

Wifi in my room (805) didn´t work and the staff was always telling me that they were fixing it in a few minutes. But never worked properly.

The hotel´s restaurant was poor and expensive, with a terrible service at dinner. They kept me waiting for a long time untill taking the order and I had to ask several times for salt or napkins.

Breakfast was the same everyday, nothing special.

Don´t stay at room 205, it has a terrible view to the huge air conditioning tube of the bulding that blocks the sunlight.

Air conditioning of the room can be very noisy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles
1  Thank Adriana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHSantiago, Director General at NH Ciudad de Santiago, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear Sir,


Through these few lines I wish to express my sincerest apologies in relation to the unfortunate events during your stay.

Know that at the Hotel NH Ciudad de Santiago worked with a commitment to provide excellent care and that all guests who stay here, have a pleasant experience and want to go back on your next stay.

Of course we appreciate your comments help us to improve.
Andres and Rosinna reached him congratulations.



Thanks again for your comments.

Sincerely.

Jose Gabriel Veiga
General Manager
Hotel NH Ciudad de Santiago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

location - 2 blocks (hardly 250 m) from SALVADOR STATION - SUBWAY, very easy access to all other lines and stations at Santiago. easy walking distance to many city points of interest.

room - very large, spacious, with a fridge, safebox, sofabed, kingbed, work station, closet, hair dryer, silent, at higher floors you can have a wonderful view of ANDES, shower is ok, individual climate control is ok , 2 tvs and lots of cable channels.

service/reception - excelent. english speakers and very helpful with our needs.

breakfast is included at daily rate and it is very good.

parking is for free and covered.

restaurante is overpriced, but it is ok. snacks and sandwiches 24 hrs - room service

the pool is very tiny and there's a gym also very simple.

price is more than reasonable - US$ 160,00 (up 4 people) tax included, breakfast included, internet wireless in room included, parking included.

certainly come back again to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbbelleza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Great location in easy walking distance to many city highlights or the easy to use Metro.
This hotel is of a high standard with good facilities and a restaurant which provides a great breakfast and is a worthy location for other meals.
The staff were generally friendly and helpful and made you feel comfortable without the condescending attitude sometimes found in the elite? hotels of the world.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles
Thank Mark592012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband and i stayed in this hotel for four nights in late June 2011. At that time it was winter in Chile, Santiago. What made our stay very uncomfortable was the room heating system. You know that the heating elements was working because it made a lot noise. I knew when the maximum room temperature had been reached because my skin will become very dry and itchy. Then as the heating elements cool down the room became very chilly and uncomfortable. As the room was divided into sections, living room, bed room and bathroom, the heat distribution in the room was uneven. The living and bed rooms will either be too hot or too cold and the bathroom was always very cold. I loathed going into the bathroom during the whole of my stay there. The heating up and cooling down went on and on in cycles.

A word of comfort, the hotel room size was big, the breakfast had good spread and tasty and the staffs were friendly and helpful. The hotel location was ok, quite near to the nearest metro stations, cafe and supermarket.

Also a word of caution when you take metro train in busy area of Chile. My mobile phone was pick pocketed from my bag. I only realized it when i got back to the hotel. Make sure you wear your bag pack in front of your body instead of at the back. Despite the uncomfortable stay in NH Ciudad and loss of mobile phone to a pick pocket, my Chile holiday was luckily saved by the two beautiful sights i saw there, Andes and Valparaiso.

However, if i have to come again to Chile during winter, i will not choose NH Chiudad de Santiago.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Titi Rahmawati H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#71 of 202 in Santiago
4,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Park Plaza
Park Plaza
#70 of 202 in Santiago
1,035 reviews
RQ Santiago
#46 of 202 in Santiago
542 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santiago
#44 of 202 in Santiago
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Ciudad de Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Ciudad de Santiago

Address: Avenida Condell 40 | Providencia, Santiago 11100, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Santiago
#23 Business Hotel in Santiago
#29 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: $93 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Ciudad de Santiago 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Ciudad de Santiago is an elegant four-star hotel that offers an excellent location in the Chilean capital, just steps away from Avenida Providence, one of the city's main arteries, and just one block from the nearest metro line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your NH Ciudad de Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Ciudad De Santiago Hotel Santiago
Nh Hotels Santiago
Nh Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing