We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Ciudad de Santiago
Ranked #55 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Sydney Australia
1 review
“Upmarket at a reasonable price”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Great location in easy walking distance to many city highlights or the easy to use Metro.
This hotel is of a high standard with good facilities and a restaurant which provides a great breakfast and is a worthy location for other meals.
The staff were generally friendly and helpful and made you feel comfortable without the condescending attitude sometimes found in the elite? hotels of the world.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Helpful?
Thank Mark592012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    621
    242
    46
    21
See reviews for
304
461
61
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband and i stayed in this hotel for four nights in late June 2011. At that time it was winter in Chile, Santiago. What made our stay very uncomfortable was the room heating system. You know that the heating elements was working because it made a lot noise. I knew when the maximum room temperature had been reached because my skin will become very dry and itchy. Then as the heating elements cool down the room became very chilly and uncomfortable. As the room was divided into sections, living room, bed room and bathroom, the heat distribution in the room was uneven. The living and bed rooms will either be too hot or too cold and the bathroom was always very cold. I loathed going into the bathroom during the whole of my stay there. The heating up and cooling down went on and on in cycles.

A word of comfort, the hotel room size was big, the breakfast had good spread and tasty and the staffs were friendly and helpful. The hotel location was ok, quite near to the nearest metro stations, cafe and supermarket.

Also a word of caution when you take metro train in busy area of Chile. My mobile phone was pick pocketed from my bag. I only realized it when i got back to the hotel. Make sure you wear your bag pack in front of your body instead of at the back. Despite the uncomfortable stay in NH Ciudad and loss of mobile phone to a pick pocket, my Chile holiday was luckily saved by the two beautiful sights i saw there, Andes and Valparaiso.

However, if i have to come again to Chile during winter, i will not choose NH Chiudad de Santiago.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titi Rahmawati H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This NH has the modern and clean qualities of most NH hotels. It is located across the street from the Parks on the Costanera Norte, nice area for an urban run. Very easy access on taxi. Only spent 1 night, so I didn't try any of their services or food. Not much of an outside view.

Stayed at an executive room, ample space with a separate bedroom and living room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gfpenap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The hotel is well situated for exploring the centre of Santiago - in fact you can do most everything on foot. The size of the rooms is enormous (in fact, they only have suites) - walk-in wardrobe and two TVs included. The real highlight, however, is the lobby with its quite unique decoration. Until the end, I couldn't find out if the interior design is meant to be looked at ironically or if they actually mean it. Whichever it is: It sure rocks. Oh, and the breakfast buffet is on the rich and tasty side. Yummy. Only drawback: You will hear the traffic, bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huemul_Suizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed whilst on our honeymoon, I got a discounted rate, but would have been quite annoyed if I had paid full price, It is not 4 stars, whilst the rooms are big, big bed and seperate living room, the bathroom was damp, the shower head wouldn't sit straight over the bath and the water completely flooded the bathroom, dangerous as the floor is tiled. The bed cover was stained and dirty, furniture tired. We came back at 12.15 am on Saturday night after having dinner and were disappointed to find that the bar was closed, Quite unbelievable in a capital city and nowhere to get a drink, had to walk to the local botilleria for a bottle of wine!!! When we went for breakfast the next morning, everything had gone, but after asking for eggs, they were cooked freshly and brought to the table by the chef, then everything was replenished within the 30 minutes we took having breakfast. The Plus side were the Lovely staff, especially the receptionists, who spoke excellent english!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Very large rooms lounge/living room, bedroom and bathroom, comfortable to the max. Mainly young front-desk staff but everyone we dealt with was helpful, knowledgeable and spoke pretty good English. Lots of choice for breakfast and even the small bar area on the ground floor opposite check-in was friendly and hey, they made a mean pisco sour. The area seemed to be busy at the right time too. Cleaning staff were always efficient as were reception.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dfag30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Americas
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel touts itself as a four star operation. Perhaps it was 4 stars when it was openned. The furniture and decor are dated and the place is not well staffed. They do have great rates, so you basically get what you pay for: good sized rooms with dated furniture and amenities. Breakfast is utter chaos. Coffee ran out early in the morning and there were few waiters around. The selection and presentation are just average. Room service is overpriced and mediocre. The location is very good. The price is great even for a 3 star hotel so if you are not expecting 4 star accomodations you may enjoy the NH Ciudad de Santiago.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViajeroESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Crowne Plaza Santiago
#44 of 196 in Santiago
1,182 reviews
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#65 of 196 in Santiago
3,956 reviews
Providencia
Park Plaza
Park Plaza
#67 of 196 in Santiago
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
RQ Providencia
#61 of 196 in Santiago
644 reviews
Providencia
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#51 of 196 in Santiago
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Ciudad de Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Ciudad de Santiago

Property: NH Ciudad de Santiago
Address: Avenida Condell 40 | Providencia, Santiago 11100, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Santiago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#27 Family Hotel in Santiago
#33 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Ciudad de Santiago 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Ciudad de Santiago is an elegant four-star hotel that offers an excellent location in the Chilean capital, just steps away from Avenida Providence, one of the city's main arteries, and just one block from the nearest metro line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your NH Ciudad de Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Ciudad De Santiago Hotel Santiago
Nh Hotels Santiago
Nh Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing