We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel stay - a bit dated, and just out of main business loop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Santiago
Ranked #44 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed there for four nights. Had wanted to stay closer to the business center, but events in the town had us staying a bit further away than we planned. The hotel itself was fine, but the immediate neighborhood is not as nice. There were several good places to eat a few blocks away, and we felt quite comfortable walking there. Some parts of the hotel are dated and could use some upgrading, but my room was clean and modern. Frustrating that they had so many cable channels, but only two in English (CNN and BBC), so limited options on that front.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MathGuy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Santiago, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for sparing your very valuable time to submit a
feedback of your experience during your stay with us.

It will be a big pleasure to have you back in the near future.

Sincerely.,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

We checked in to the Crown Plaza Santiago on New Years Day. As a platinum member, I was upgraded to a room on the executive floor.

The room was of a good size, was very clean and although a little 80's dated - was very well maintained.

Being the holiday period, the lounge was being renovated and was closed for the duration of our stay - as compensation, a bottle of wine + canapés were delivered to our room each day of our stay. We were happy enough with this alternative.

The hotel is in a perfect location for discovering Santiago with many sights within walking distance. The bohemian neighbourhood of Bella Vista is a small 10 minute walk away.

The hotel pool area is a perfect sun trap and a great spot to spend a summer afternoon. Breakfast was extensive and of a very high quality.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

And now the apology: Upon check out, a member of my party (we had several rooms) came to me and complained she had been overcharged from the booked rate so I went to reception to sort it. Unbeknown to me, the bill was in fact correct - the error was with my friend mistaking US dollars for Australian Dollars BUT I mistakenly took things at her word and went "all guns blazing" at the reception. As the situation got even more muddled with refunds of local taxes (where there was an actual small mistake on the bill) - I assumed these takes were the overcharge my friend spoke of and got even angrier and out of line.. It was not until 10 minutes into my ranting at the reception staff that I realised the currency error of my friend. By then I was too embarrassed about my tantrum to apologise to the staff member (and also to get outside to not slap my friend for assuming a charge in Chile would be made in Australian Dollars) . So I would like to apologise here. I was wrong - I was out of line - and apologise profusely. The professionalism and aplomb shown by the reception staff in this circumstance was indeed world class. I only hope to visit Santiago again so I can apologise in person.

Room Tip: Spend the extra for an Exec floor room.... They are on the high floors and have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonBusinessAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Santiago, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your valuable comment. We feel very satisfied when we are capable to exceed our guest’s expectations and provide a personalized and quality service.

It will be a big pleasure for our team to have you back with us in the near future.

We look forward to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza as part of a tour group to Chile and Argentina.
This was one of the better places we stayed.
The staff was wonderful from the front desk to the terrific people working in the bar area.
One young man in particular made my husband and I feel very special the first night in the hotel.
Our plane had been delayed and we arrived at the hotel later than expected. We had great Pisco Sours and appetizers in the bar as well as a fun evening.
The hotel breakfast was the best we had on our 2 week trip.
The rooms were well appointed and my only disappointment was the charges for wifi. I ended up using the computers in the lobby, which were free.
Great location to dining options etc.
I would recommend the Crowne Plaza to anyone staying in Santiago.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRQgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Santiago, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Guest;

We want to thank you for taking your time to write your feedback concerning our hotel.

We are thrilled to know that you really had a good time with us at Crowne Plaza Santiago.

Thank you for recommending our Hotel and in your next trip to Santiago, I hope you visit us again.

Sincerely.,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had three nights at this hotel, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were offered an upgrade as an IHG preferred guest, but could not move as the suite was not suitable for me as a wheelchair user. The hotel still gave us, free wi-fi and club access, which was fantastic! I could not access the club as it was upstairs but they allowed us to be served downstairs - which was fine. The hotel is in a good location, and is walking distance to some great restaurants.
Breakfast was lovely, however it did take a substantial amount of time to get an omelette, in the end our waiter cooked ours! It was delicious though!

Room Tip: Room 404 is the disabled access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntrepidTravellersOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Santiago, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Guest:

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience about Crowne Plaza Santiago.

We are delighted to know that you had a good time at our hotel, and you really liked our facilities, the location and our service.

It will be a pleasure to receive you again.

Sincerely;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel is in a great location. Close to Centro and a host of fantastic eating options. However, whilst the staff were very nice, friendly and professional the hotel itself is on the tired side and in need of a makeover. Breakfast was hearty and plentiful. Massage great and good value. Rooms were clean, a good size but again in need of a makeover. With some considered refurbishment this hotel could be exceptional.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dustoff70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Santiago, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to give us your impressions about our hotel, we much appreciate it, the Guests’ comments are very valuable for us in order to keep and improve our service and facilities.

We are happy that you enjoyed our services and location.

It will be a pleasure to receive you again at our hotel.

Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We spent 3 very lovely nights in the Crowne Plaza, it is very close to the metro on the red line. The staff were always very helpful when asked for directions, sites to view, and made telephone calls for us when our tour operator was less then helpful.
The breakfast has everything one could ask for. From sweets to eggs done in any style requested. Prices for in house massages was very reasonable, good sauna, ice machines on most floors, and location is very good also.
Rooms are spacious, all bathroom amenities, very clean and beds lovely and comfortable.
The only downside is no free wifi which I found strange since we stayed in cheaper hotels in Santiago which had free wifi. The Crowne Plaza does have a free to use Business Centre.
Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikecudgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Santiago, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at Crowne Plaza Santiago.

We are pleased that you really enjoy our hotel and facilities and you felt comfortable.

Thanks again for staying with us and for recommending this hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Cordially.,

Eduardo Fahrenkrug
Regional Director of Operations &
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Big value for money! Good location (between and just a short walk from downtown as well as Bella Vista). Fantastic staff, friendly and helpful - it never failed during my 5 day's stay. I had a King Leisure Room on one of the top floors. Marvellous view and well furnished, nice bathroom. I was here in Februarey and enjoyed the pool terrace on 3rd floor as well. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for top floors, i.e. not the cheapest category.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Santiago, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest:

We really appreciate your review about our Hotel Crowne Plaza Santiago, we are proud of our staff and service, and we will share your excellent comments with them.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future!

Sincerely.,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
NH Ciudad de Santiago
NH Ciudad de Santiago
#58 of 202 in Santiago
1,519 reviews
Centro Histórico
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
#19 of 202 in Santiago
1,675 reviews
Mercure Santiago Centro
#68 of 202 in Santiago
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vitacura
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
Santa Lucia
Su Merced
Su Merced
#11 of 202 in Santiago
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Santiago

Address: Avenida Libertador Bernardo o'Higgins 136, Santiago 8331030, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Santiago
#17 Family Hotel in Santiago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#30 Business Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: $119 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Santiago 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Santiago Hotel is ideally located in midtown Santiago at the entrance to Providencia and the principal stree area, the business and cultural center of the city. Our rooms offer spectacular views of the city and the Andean Mountain Range. Rooms are equipped with high speed internet dataports upon request, WI-FI, two-line telephone, coffee-maker, iron and ironing board. Only minutes away from the Downtown area we are ideally located close to shopping and business, government offices, very close to the Presidential Palace 'La Moneda'. Two blocks away from the Metro Station and Santiago's best tourist areas. Come visit us, at the Crowne Plaza Santiago Hotel and enjoy our five star service, whether on business or leisure, we will make your stay an unforgettable one. Bienvenidos a su casa en el Crowne Plaza Santiago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santiago Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing