We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - not staying again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Santiago
Ranked #42 of 204 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Its a well located hotel, quite close to Bella Vista. Main shopping malls, Parque Arauco & Alto Las Condes, are 15 minute taxi ride away. There is a shopping arcade attached to the hotel which sells all kinds of musical instruments, and also has a convenience store and a currency exchange. The rooms are decent but dated. I arrived around 11 am and an early check-in was offered. But check-out was a horrible experience. I had booked for the first night through agoda.com. The hotel was charging me for that pre-paid booking as well. It was a task getting it sorted. Other issue is the price - it definitely was not a 300$ room. Its not good value for money. Overall just an average experience and i am sure there can be better options in the city for that price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arpan-chat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Santiago, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear guest arpan-chat

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel, but I am disappointed to hear the troubles you had during your check out . I sincerely apologize for the experience you have encountered. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations as well as competitive rates to the area. This comments are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely.,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel has a lovely old world charm. The standard room is large and well equipped. The wifi was free but did not work well in the room. We had to step into the corridor to connect. Wifi in common areas was much better The breakfast is substantial We ate dinner in the dining room on one occasion and the portions were huge. Food was delicious but service was very slow. They chased after us as we hadn't tipped, we did not feel the service was up to scratch but were forced to tip. The pool is outdoors and not used as it was too hot to sit there. There is no cover or shade. The reception staff particularly Anna and the porter Marcello were very professional, helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location and we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. There are 2 money exchanges in the shopping centre next door

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255060Charlie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Santiago, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking time out to write about your experience at our hotel. It is much appreciated.
I would also like to thank you for your honesty and candid observations. We will work hard on it, in order to improve it and we´ll also share your good comments about our staff with Ana and Marcelo.
I sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here on a tour and loved the hotel. Excellent room, very good breakfast, nice lounge, very accomodating staff and a great location. Nice area to walk to local sites. Only problem was that the wifi didn't work. IHG members get it free but it didn't matter since it didn't work in the rooms though you could use the lounge. The roof-top pool was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sascanlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Santiago, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about Crowne Plaza Santiago. We truly appreciate your review. We are happy to read that the hotel has been evaluated as Excellent, and you liked our staff and service. Also we will share your observation of wifi with our technology department in order to improve for your next stay.

I really hope you can come back to our property and enjoy again all our facilities and our staff.

King regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is an old hotel with urgent need of maintenance, quite old rooms, old dirty carpet, old and uncomfortable desk, for 240 dollars you can get a much better value, ah expect to pay US 10+ dollars for wifi and something more for breakfast. In summary last resource to look for in Santiago.

Did not understood why there is a doorman who doesn't care when a guest arrive, or leave he just see you arriving with your luggage and that was it for 3 days

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juansegura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Santiago, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guest Juan Segura:

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your time to give us your impressions.

I feel very disappointed and I am sorry that we were not able to measure up to your expectations during your stay, so, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenient you have had during your stay.

Thank you again for your comments.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Front desk staff Rodrigo and Madeleine were very cheerful and made us feel welcome. Another surprise was the complimentary wine and card that were waiting in the room courtesy of the General Manager. Walking distance from Plaza Armas, Presidential Palace, Pio Nono Street (party street) that led to the Funicular. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dags M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Santiago, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest Dags M:

We really appreciate your review about at our Crowne Plaza Santiago, we are proud of our staff and service, and we will share your excellent comments with them.
We Hope to welcome you again in a near future!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

A superb hotel to stay in Santiago, close to many attractions in the city. The rooms were excellent, very clean and comfortable. The roof-top pool is superb and offers views of the city. The staff were friendly although the service in the bar was very slow (on a quiet day). The restaurant was pleasant but again we found the service aspect a bit of a let down. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Request a hotel room on one of the higher floors to enjoy the views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CW698WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Santiago, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest CW698WorldTraveller:

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Santiago and for the feedback you have posted.

Your comments are very important to us and I appreciate you have enjoyed our location and rooms .
However, I regret that our service was not able to meet your expectations during your stay and
I ask my sincere apologies for this.

But I can assure we have reviewed our quality and service standards and we have taken action on them, to improve this situation.
I really hope you can come back to our Hotel.
Yours sincerely.,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The rooms in Crowne Plaza are good and the beds comfortable, only inconvenient the floor has a carpet not well maintain. The hotel is in need of a refurbish but the staff was very helpful. The reception and front desk staff where polite, courteous and efficient. The location is perfect, just a short walk from our office and downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Santiago, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest Elio

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking time out to write about your experience at our hotel.

We are glad to know you liked the location and our service; we are very proud of our staff and
I really appreciate all your comments

We look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Vitacura
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
Providencia
NH Ciudad de Santiago
NH Ciudad de Santiago
#58 of 204 in Santiago
1,547 reviews
Centro Histórico
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
#18 of 204 in Santiago
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Santiago
#73 of 204 in Santiago
352 reviews
Mercure Santiago Centro
#64 of 204 in Santiago
1,119 reviews
Las Condes
Courtyard Santiago Las Condes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Santiago

Address: Avenida Libertador Bernardo o'Higgins 136, Santiago 8331030, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Santiago
#17 Family Hotel in Santiago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#30 Business Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: $115 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Santiago 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Santiago Hotel is ideally located in midtown Santiago at the entrance to Providencia and the principal stree area, the business and cultural center of the city. Our rooms offer spectacular views of the city and the Andean Mountain Range. Rooms are equipped with high speed internet dataports upon request, WI-FI, two-line telephone, coffee-maker, iron and ironing board. Only minutes away from the Downtown area we are ideally located close to shopping and business, government offices, very close to the Presidential Palace 'La Moneda'. Two blocks away from the Metro Station and Santiago's best tourist areas. Come visit us, at the Crowne Plaza Santiago Hotel and enjoy our five star service, whether on business or leisure, we will make your stay an unforgettable one. Bienvenidos a su casa en el Crowne Plaza Santiago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santiago Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing