We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kelly & her team are extremely helpful”
Review of Abracadabra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abracadabra
Ranked #27 of 168 Santiago B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This b&b is centrally situated and very near the metro. It took us about half an hour to walk to the centre of the city. We stayed in room 5 & this is the quietest room with its own bathroom. Kelly served an excellent breakfast & was helpful with advice at all times. I liked the fact that tea & coffee & a microwave were available 24/7 & we were free to use the computer for our e-mails.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 78 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

The B&B was in a "real" Santiago neighborhood next to a nice bistro.
The hosts were nice and the staff for breakfast and for booking trips were excellent.
Very good and filling breakfast.
The real issue was the lack of air conditioning or even a real functioning fan. It was very hot and there was no ventilation. I would not stay again without assurance of a very good fan(s)

Room Tip: Make sure there are fans for the room. You can not open the windows (if you have one) because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

When my car dropped me off in front of the property, I immediately knew it was a great choice. The B&B is in a lovely original building, restored and spotlessly clean and so beautiful and lovely!! I still remember when I walked in in the late afternoon and sunlight shed into the room. It's magical!! The whole house is tastefully decorated, definitely suitable for the people who like artsy vintage design style. Rooms have natural sunlights, white fluffy bed sheet, nice pillow and blanket. It is very basic room (i.e. no TV, no telephone) but have the right luxurious touch (v comfortable bed!). The breakfast is the best I ever had in any B&B and the owner is friendly, helpful and called for a great car service to send me to the airport. I would highly recommend this place! Btw, bethroom is very clean and great hot water!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chance_is_everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Dec. '12 and at first were a bit distressed by the choice we had made. As we stayed and made the best of it, we were not sorry we had chosen this place! The rooms were very small and the bathroom was down the hallway. Showers and toilets worked well but were also quite tiny. There was no elevator and the rooms were all on the 2nd floor.

The people that stayed here were most friendly and the staff were helpful too! Breakfast was good and consistent each a.m.. The location was not far from the subway system, which was excellent! It was a fairly safe area walking around and there were a few places to grab food, either restaurant or little grocery near by.

It really was a good price for a big city and I can recommend it to anyone trying to keep within a budget!

Room Tip: Ask for room towards the back of the hallway and you will be further from the street noise but close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazbarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in early January. If you like old restored homes with a lot of character, you'll love this place. It has been beautifully restored. The breakfast was among the best on our trip. It is walking distance from the Cumming Metro and several good restaurants and bars. The staff was super friendly and helpful. As a note: as with many places in Santiago, there is no air conditioning so if you come during the summer - be prepared for some warm nights. Also, I would recommend that the owners look into upgrading their WiFi as it is painfully slow. If you rely on an iPhone or iPad, you'll get used to watching it "spin" as it tries to load. Aside from the WiFi issue, I highly recommend Abracadabra.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in Santiago de Chile for unfortunately only one night but we were very happy that we did so at Abracadabra B&B. The staff was very helpful and ensured our breakfast was served early as we had requested. Our double bedroom with en-suite bathroom was very welcoming, comfortable and full of charm...we only missed the fact we did not have a window hence lacked a bit of air. The breakfast was one of the best we had throughout our trip! I would definitely recommend this accommodation to anybody considering a short or a long stay over in Santiago.

Room Tip: Check whether your room has a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AP_London_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at Abracadabra after hiking in Patagonia. We could not have been more pleased. The B&B is very clean and comfortable with beautiful linens and lovely wide windows that look out on a very pleasant neighborhood. We loved being in the older part of the city and Kelly, our hostess, referred us to a number of very nice restaurants. The metro stop is a couple of blocks away and makes it easy to get anywhere you care to go. Also, my husband's bag was stolen downtown -- with his passport -- and they were extremely helpful in printing out an emergency request for the passport. I can't say enough about how accommodating this family is and how comfortable Abracadabra. Also, a beautiful breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marsha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Casadetodos B&B Boutique
Casadetodos B&B Boutique
#6 of 168 in Santiago
152 reviews
Hostal Rio Amazonas
#1 of 168 in Santiago
545 reviews
Providencia
De Blasis Bed & Breakfast
De Blasis Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 168 in Santiago
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Alma Bed&Breakfast
Alma Bed&Breakfast
#19 of 168 in Santiago
41 reviews
Providencia
B&B Conchita Flores
B&B Conchita Flores
#25 of 168 in Santiago
105 reviews
Vilafranca Petit Hotel
#14 of 168 in Santiago
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abracadabra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abracadabra

Address: Maturana 567, Santiago 8340338, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago
Price Range: $82 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abracadabra B&B is a heritage home built in 1906 recently renovated. Its in the "Barrio Brasil" in the center of Santiago de Chile where you will find pubs, restorantes, parks and museums. Close to bus terminals and highways and just a block from the subway "Metro Cumming". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abracadabra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing