We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Loreto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Loreto
Ranked #20 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This property is in a great location, really walking distance of many of the sights you will wanna see in Santiago. It is also pretty close to Pio Nono, which seem to be very popular among students and young people for all the bars it has to offer.

The hotel itself is very modern, with a lovely inner yard as well as rood terrace, plus all rooms seem to have balcony as well.

The only negative comment I could make is the size of the rooms, which are pretty small as the bed takes most of the space, but I didn't mind this so much as we were staying there for a couple of nights only.

I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Good afternoon!

Thank you for your comment! It makes us really happy to know that our guests had a good time with us.
It is true that we're located in a really nice region, with many restaurants, bars and parks.
The hotel opened its doors two years ago after a large renovation in the historical building. We also tried to keep it as loyal as possible to the original architecture, and that`s the reason why our rooms could be considered small.

We hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Hotel Loreto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    278
    56
    12
    6
See reviews for
186
330
53
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We recently spent three nights at the Hotel Loreto and enjoyed our stay, however cannot award it more than average points. The hotel has a light, airy feel to it, combining old and new in a stylish fashion. The staff on reception speak good English and are friendly on the whole, but not particularly efficient and are liable to give conflicting information.
The location, while on an unprepossessing street whose only benefit is being the location of El Toro Restaurant and Bar, is convenient for, although not within, the vibrant area of Bella Vista and a short walk across the bridge into the centre of Santiago. It is quiet at night, which is important.
The rooms are attractive and nicely furnished with balconies over the internal courtyard of the hotel with views of a mixture of residential and manufacturing buildings. The beds are comfortable, there is a small mini-bar/fridge and the decoration is pleasant. They are, however, badly let down by the tiny bathrooms. It is a shame that when the conversion was being done, more space was not devoted to the bathrooms. There is nowhere to put anything, the shower is pokey and, again, any soap, etc. has to be kept on the floor. The bathmat provided for two of our three nights was the size of a small napkin or flannel.
Breakfast is good, with a selection of fruit and one of the best choices of fruit juices. Nothing spectacular, but better than many.
One final note was that we booked a taxi to the airport through reception. The driver, while perfectly pleasant, did not drop us at departures, but rather on the arrivals level, so that we had to walk across the car park to reach the lift to take us up to departures. It was perfectly obvious that this was for his convenience as he was probably meeting people on an incoming flight.
Overall, we liked the Hotel Loreto, but cannot not recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellers-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you very much for your comment!
It is good when our guests leave us such complete and detailed comments, because they help us improve our service and overall quality.

We`re sorry the hotel wasn`t up to your standards, but we hope you`ll give us another chance next time you come to Santiago, so we can maybe change your opinions on us.

Best regards,

Hotel Loreto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
479 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This review is based on value/cost and level of expectations.

If you want a newer clean boutique hotel, with a good breakfast, helpful English-speaking staff at the front desk, a sensational rooftop patio and nice common areas ( all in a central location near Bellavista and Lastarria barrios), then stay here. All this for about $100 USD per night. Plus they gave us a decent bottle of wine at check in because we booked with them directly.

The hotel is deserving of its high ranking on TripAdvisor ( which is not always the case ).

Room Tip: Basic but good services as above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fantom_Gormay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Good afternoon!

Thank you for your comment! It makes us really happy to know that our guests had a good stay with us.

We hope to see you again next time you come to Santiago, Chile, so you can enjoy another bottle of wine at our Hotel.

sincerely,

Hotel Loreto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I agree with the other reviewers on the cleanliness and great location of this hotel. The hotel staff spoke english and were nice. However, most of the front desk staff seemed inexperienced and were not able to assist with basic requests such as making reservations, calling for tour inquiries. The staff members couldn't figure out how to make outbound calls on the phone and gave us incorrect information on making travel arrangements.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadic_Piggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. Comments like yours help us improve our services and overall quality.
We`re sorry you had a bad experience while asking for information at reception. It is correct that in December we were doing new training to give better service. We hope we get the opportunity of you returning to our Hotel, reserving directly with us includes a complimentary bottle of wine, to allow us to give you a new experience and a new opinion of our hotel and staff.

Regards,

Hotel Loreto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This boutique hotel was just perfect for a weekend getaway. Located in a great neighborhood (BellaVista), close to great bars and restaurants. However, it was very quiet and peaceful. The aesthetic in the hotel was very nice and comfortable. It included very nice and comfortable common areas including a rooftop deck. The service at this hotel was outstanding. Everyone from the front desk to doormen to the housekeeping crew seemed genuinely pleasant and eager to serve. I am glad I found this hotel because it will my go-to spot if I ever make it back to Santiago.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Christina,

Thank you very much for your message! It makes us really happy to know that our guests had a good time at our hotel.

Next time you come to Santiago, Chile, be sure that we will be happy to have you again and ready to give you the best service during your stay.

Sincerely,

Hotel Loreto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at Loreto Hotel for one night while on vacation in Chile. Hotel is located in Bellavista neighbourhood in Santiago, 5-7 minute walk to the metro station and generally very close to the main tourist attractions. The staff at the reception was very welcoming and helpful, they even packed us some breakfast to go since we had an early morning flight on the day of check-out. Overall the service was very good. THe room was tiny, very clean, with a comfortable large bed and TV, no noise. The only unpleasant surprise was finding an army of ants in the shower close to the hight. The reception though reacted very quickly as soon as we alarmed them: they provided anti-ants spray, and little army was gone in no time.
The neighbourhood is probably not the best in Santiago, yet for one night it was a really good deal, value/service wise.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromBLCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good morning!

Thank you very much for your message. It makes us happy to know that our guests had a good time with us good.

We`re also glad you were able to enjoy the region and the hotel. It is true that we`re nicely located, so walking around shouldn`t be a problem.

About the " Army of Ants", since that day, we`ve been taking care of the problem. So far nobody has complained about them anymore!

We hope to see you again next time you come to Santiago!

Best regards,

Hotel Loreto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was pretty good.

My only complaint was at check in. We arrived at approximately 11am. Check in time was 3pm which I was aware of however elsewhere in South America when we have arrived early we were given our room early if it was ready. When we went to check in at Loreto the receptionist said "check in is at 3 you can leave your bags". She did not even bother to see if our room was ready and I suspect it was ready as when we went to the area to leave our bags we could not see any cleaner's carts and after staying there we noted that the cleaners came in pretty early.

Aside from that, the rooms are good, it has a nice roof top area where you get a good view of Santiago and they have a nice breakfast room with quite a variety of food available.

Santiago is pretty spread out and I think the location of this hotel is as good as any. Security at the hotel was good too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LysaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
good afternoon!

Thank you for your comment! It makes us happy to know that our guests had a good stay with us.

We`re sorry about what happened with the check-in. Like you said, our check-in time is at 3pm, but if the room is ready a little before 3pm we will give you the room, no problem about it. What could have happened is that, as our check-out time is at 12pm, there could still be guests still in your room. Obviously, it is possible to request an early check-in, which will allow you to enter your room earlier than usual.

We hope next time you come to Santiago you will choose us as your hotel once more.

Best regards,

Hotel Loreto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#13 of 196 in Santiago
317 reviews
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#5 of 196 in Santiago
276 reviews
Santa Lucia
Su Merced
Su Merced
#32 of 196 in Santiago
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Hotel Ismael 312
Hotel Ismael 312
#12 of 196 in Santiago
691 reviews
Hotel Boutique Castillo Rojo
#11 of 196 in Santiago
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loreto

Property: Hotel Loreto
Address: Loreto 170 | Barrio Bellavista, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Loreto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Loreto aims to be warm and welcoming, a place that is shared and accessible to all, yet intimate. Like a big family house, Loreto offers a living room, a dining room, terraces, a reading area and a garden where each guest will find a place to relax in a warm and homey atmosphere.The terraces are one of the main features of the Hotel. They integrate the outside with the inside and are like footbridges. There are balconies on each floor, and the roof has a large terrace overlooking the Cerro San Cristóbal and the center of Santiago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing